You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (IJCH) Walter Cronkite, "On This Day" and A Historical Event

in #life7 years ago

Funny! It reminds me on my own Christian upbringing. My parents always dragged me to gatherings and church and I had the same issues with falling asleep. Actually, if they wouldn't have done that, I might have been more interested in the fascinating stories & wisdom of the Old and New Testament.

Now, as you say, Buddhism has brought me knowledge and curiosity for also other forms of philosophies and notions and I calmed down and think it doesn't matter how you call IT. They all meant the same and those who didn't preach but gave information and narratives I gained the most from. So I finally got back to also my christian background and am kind of in peace with it. You cannot beat inheritance, therefore accept it.

Here is a book I can highly recommend for you to read. It is hilarious!

Sort:  

@erh.grmany

I really enjoy your thoughtful comments.

Buddhism resonates with how I'd been feeling all my life.

And although I am not devout in the least, I try my best to be as kind as I can be (especially considering some of the things my military career required of me).

Thank you for the link.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Thank you,

May I ask what you have learned the most out of your military career?

I only gave you the picture of the cover I liked the most. But here is an amazon link:

https://www.amazon.de/Private-Life-Adam-Eve-English-ebook/dp/B075BG45H6/ref=sr_1_1?s=books-intl-de&ie=UTF8&qid=1514382447&sr=1-1&keywords=the+private+life+of+adam+and+eve+mark+twain

@erh.germany,

Wow. That question could be as complicated - or as simple - as I wish to make it, no?

Hoping that in this context, "most" is synonymous with "personally invaluable", I opt for the simplest route.

My answer is: "I learned how to forgive."

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

BTW, I am listening to the full diaries a little at a time. It had me laughing in the first five minutes!

One could learn a lot less:))))

Yes, isn't it just wonderful? I was laughing my butt off, when I read it the first time!! I am happy you like it! How Twain changed the perspectives, and the best is the names they give!

@erh.germany,

I totally agree.

Twain is a genius at expressing his characters' introspection.

I love the way Twain describes Adam's passive-aggressive mindset and how it's juxtaposed beautifully with Eve's naive, benevolent "motivation to please" that chronically manifests as (in Adam's eyes) antagonistic, stupid behavior.

And just like Disney and Pixar appeal to both children and adults, Twain's writing immediately has both men and women readers easily identifying and empathizing with both Adam and Eve - universal appeal, non-gender specific.

Purely brilliant.

And like you said earlier, it's hilarious!

Again, Twain is a writer's writer.

Many thanks for introducing me to Twain's Adam & Eve stuff.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

It's a pleasure that you liked it so much. I am always happy when I can make a recommendation which falls on fruity ground.

How Twain created the characters: you said it just in the best possible way.

I'm sorry to say, that I have nominated you for the B&W challenge:)) - here you go:

https://steemit.com/sevendaybnwchallenge/@erh.germany/seven-day-b-and-w-challenge-day-4

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58