(IJCH) Skinned My Knuckles - No Band-Aids, No Problem (I Super Glued Them!)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

pixlr_20180119101943199.jpg
Source (Base Source#1) (Base Source #2)

(IJCH) Skinned My Knuckles - No Band-Aids, No Problem (I Super Glued Them!)

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (meaning: My warped, personal opinions and musings)

From the Author

Salutations. I am JaiChai. And if I haven't had the pleasure to make your acquaintance, it's always nice to meet a fellow Steemian.

Hazardous Duty - Laundry

pixlr.jpg
Source (Base Source #1) (Base Source #2)

Who'd have thought carrying a laundry basket was hazardous to your health?

IMG_20180119_094004-480x548.jpg
Source

As I was carrying a basket of wet clothes outside, I kicked my retractable screen door open and rushed throuh the exit.

IMG_20180119_093829.jpg
Source

But the screen door was faster than me and grazed my right hand's knuckles. I suffered minor avulsions on my first two knuckles.

Like a good medic, I applied direct pressure.

It stopped the bleeding, but only if I didn't open and close my hand. That's the problem with injuries over moving joints.

I still had more clothes hanging to do, so immobilizing my hand was not an option for me.

A quick search of my first aid supplies revealed that, well, I don't have a first aid kit!

I pondered whether to make a dressing out of my girlfriend's feminine napkins (unused, of course) and some tape to secure it in place (a makeshift bandage).

But then I remembered that my hand would be getting wet while I hung the rest of my freshly "foot-washed laundry" (the fastest way to manually wash clothes, instead of "by-hand").

Remember Your Training

Thinking about my skinned knuckles, no Band-Aids and still work to do dilemma, I suddenly remembered my military medic training.

"Well, duh! Don't you remember those times when you ran out of suture material?!" I said to myself (but out loud - loudly; luckily, my girlfriend was gone and I was alone in the house).

I ended up doing what I had done many times in the past.

I super glued the wounds.

Problem solved.

IMG_20180118_144434.jpg

Source

Using Super Glue For Skin Closure

unnamed (2)-480x524.jpg
Source Source

About Super Glue As Medical Treatment For Wounds:

These glues are made from the chemical cyanoacrylate. In addition to its usefulness in stopping bleeding in a pinch, it has been assocmilitaryith less scarring than other methods of closing wounds.

But it has some downsides: it can irritate skin, kill cells, and aggravate infections.

(https://www.drweil.com/health-wellness/balanced-living/healthy-living/super-glue-for-first-aid/)

More references:

(https://lifehacker.com/5913749/use-super-glue-to-quickly-seal-cuts-and-blisters)

(http://www.realfirstaid.co.uk/superglue/)

By JaiChai

Thanks for stopping by.

600800.jpg
Source

About the Author

He is a retired U.S. Military veteran. Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he freefall parachuted out of airplanes and performed diving ops in very deep, open ocean water.

He spends his days on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

400.jpg

Source

If you enjoyed my post, kindly: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

DQmQ1R7K.jpeg
(Base Source) Source

"I appreciate all your support."

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Have you ever thought about dropping the laundry and hitting a nearby shop? If you consider the black market price, the flesh&blood is more valuable than laundry.

Think capitalist my friend :-)
Compare the prices.

@vimukthi,

I'm wary. I even managed to escape DNA collection in the military.

Thanks for visiting.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

We used to to that on jobsites, when you cut yourself, stick your hand into a cooler full of ice with water and the blood flow will stop, then dry it off and quickly seal it with super glue, then blow on it to dry. If you get it freezing cold, the blood wont come to the surface.

@marcoagracia3rd,

Thank you so much for visiting and commenting.

(BTW, that's a hard username to type correctly, dude!)

Food for thought:

Modern Hypothermic Medicine came from the Falkland Islands conflict.

Scientists were puzzled why more soldiers with the same injuries as in the Vietnam "Police Action" survived after the Falklands.

Answer: Hypothermia (and resultant lower metabolic processes, including clotting).

Upvoted your comment and following you now.

Namaste,

JaiChai

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 9400 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works. News you will find under the hashtag #resteembotnews.

Please help us grow and use our link to trade #IOTA #BTC #ETH and a lot of more at one of the biggest exchanges. https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705

@resteem.bot

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JaiChai from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85