You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Berry Bliss. My first Raised Garden!

in #life7 years ago

Great job! I used to work for the City of St. Louis in Sustainability and can say the finished product can look rather nice such as what you did but most don't know what goes into the actual development. I can't tell but what did you use for if you'd chosen to use a liner to keep the outter wood from rot? Also, are you going to be using a sealant on the wood itself?

Sort:  

Hi Jacob I used pond lining that I cut to fit and stapled to the inside.(you actually reminded me I actually typed up a section about that and forgot to put it up :) I have some wood sealer in the garage but still want to investigate the best product to use for organic gardening, not sure yet how to treat it just yet .. Good eye for picking that up thx

Good deal on the liner. That's the hard part so it will stay intact for years to come. As for the sealant the same type you would use toward something such as a patio decking would be good. The only areas I would keep an eye out for are close to the soil line of the outer wood. Sorry but I've been outta the game for a bit and can't help you there.

Thats very helpful thanks Jacob! Im learning as I go and welcome any advise ;) I really apprecaite you taking the time to reply. Have a great week ahead.

congrats!
do you live in the tropics?
would the cartons not cause mildew?

Hi. Thanks. I live on cape town south africa. Its never very humid here its quite a dry heat.

ah - then you won't suffer mildew
good luck!

That's good thinking actually never considered that , thanks for mentioning :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77