You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I am very enthusiastic about your trip, @roleerob! I smiled silently at your statement:

while definitely not a young man in more, I am "not dead yet" ... 😉

To me, you surely are not dead, but full of vitality, ideas, engagement to others and yourself. God knows what will come out when you free some space for the novelty :)

I am pretty sure there will be questions and doubts. But that's how it is. Although rising up question could be unsettling and disturbing sometimes (or most of the times), this is the only way one could have answers.

Your trip reminds me of the myth of the Odyssey. The hero sets off on a long journey to rediscover himself and return stronger and more coherent.

Keeping a journal is a great idea! Reflecting on and appraising the current and past events is extremely beneficial when it comes to healing and gaining strengths back. I hope you share some of your thoughts with us and give us insights about our own situations :)

Btw, you somehow know me well. There was no need for mentioning me. When I saw your post I was eager to read and comment on it.

Take care and see you soon!

Sort:  

Always nice to hear from you @insight-out.

”To me, you surely are not dead, but full of vitality, ideas, engagement to others and yourself. God knows what will come out when you free some space for the novelty :)”

Thank you for this! I like your choice of words (emphasis mine), as we just never know, but I’m really looking forward to finding out. 😉

”… sets off on a long journey to rediscover himself and return stronger and more coherent.”

We’ll see about the ”more coherent” part … 😉 … but I absolutely must get to a better place with my health and overall sense of wellbeing. I have not understood well enough the impact on me (in denial a bit perhaps …) and should have gotten away from where I work long before now. As stated in this post, my beloved life mate knows me well and this time away is vital to my “recovery” …

Yes, thanks for the reinforcement on the journaling. My one concern is the amount of time it will take, if done well. I will never win any awards for the quantity of content I put together “in here,” as it takes me awhile to put down what I do “get out.” I enjoy it more than I would’ve expected, when I first started. But the time commitment is a constant challenge.

So … We’ll find out how it goes “out on the road,” when I’m still sitting in some motel somewhere trying to capture the essence of what I have just experienced, before moving on down the road. If I am going to keep to what is outlined above, I need to keep moving …

”There was no need for mentioning me.”

Yes, well, I want to draw the attention of our fellow Steemians to your work “in here,” as I think you are creating great content and steadily adding value to our Steem blockchain. And while perhaps not the “steel trap” it once was, I still have a good memory. I first “found” you in my 3rd PIFC contest contribution and what was the title of your great post? You wrote about Vacations & Your Mental Health. See teacher, I was paying attention!! 😉

Well, on into my day and I still have to get through the next few weeks at a place of employment I have come to despise …

Hope all is well with you and yours @insight-out. Your little one is probably “growing like a weed” and faster than you anticipated …

Until we “meet” again, all the best to you for a better tomorrow!

Yes, thanks for the reinforcement on the journaling. My one concern is the amount of time it will take, if done well. I will never win any awards for the quantity of content I put together “in here,” as it takes me awhile to put down what I do “get out.”

I like the expression they use in the pills descriptions (especially for pregnant women). I will translate it literally, maybe you have another (more native speaker) expression to describe this.

"Consider taking this medicine (pill) only if the benefits outweigh the risk".

What I mean is that keeping a journal will definitely take some (precious) time. But, I guess the benefits outweigh the risk of wasting time as it will definitely help you to sort things out, to see them in a different light or just to let it all out.

I sometimes also wonder if the efforts I put on Steemit are worth it, but I guess again the benefits outweigh the risk :D

It seems like the awards we take from Steemit at this point are not financial. I look at the efforts I put as an investment. Building a network and connections, joining in communities and building a reputation are the things that will pay out eventually in a few years (if Steemit survives). And the other big pro is the social support one encounter here on Steemit. I guess you can never monetize it, but it pays out well back in your subjective well-being. One gets a feedback from others, some appreciation and a sense of belonging. All these are crucial when it comes to personal happiness :)

What I am trying to say with all these countless words is that I always enjoy your well-thought and well-prepared posts :)

You wrote about Vacations & Your Mental Health. See teacher, I was paying attention!!

Haha, you were, indeed :D I continued the Stress and Cope Series and you can try some of the next Stress Hacks here. Maybe they could help handle the last days in the workplace you despise :/

Yes, well, I want to draw the attention of our fellow Steemians to your work “in here,” as I think you are creating great content and steadily adding value to our Steem blockchain.

Thank you, @roleerob! You are very kind!

I am terrible when it comes to managing my wallet and just now I noticed that 11 days ago I was sponsored 2 minnowshares (if I get it right) by you! Thank you very much! Your support means a lot to me. As I said, it is not about the SP or SBD, but for the feeling of appreciation and belonging. Thanks for making me feel this way!

I wish you an easy-going Monday and stressless last days at your workplace!

Loading...

P.S. I did quickly go to your referenced "Stress Hacks" post @insight-out and see one I will come back to, as time permits. I was there long enough to see you are drawing rewards greater than anything I've achieved, with recognition from Curie and others. Very happy for you. Well done!

Thank you, @roleerob! This is mainly because I make scientifically based articles and the SteemSTEM community is extremely supportive! They upvote and share my articles and that's why I get this exposure. I think Steemit communities are extremely important when it comes to rewards and users retention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44