Ready to really Keep It Real?

in #life6 years ago

If the only self-improvement technique we had to work with was "keeping it real," right there we would have enough to live our best life.

The thing is, we have so much training in deception, particularly in deceiving ourselves, that it's hard to actually do.

Sure one can talk a good game about keeping it real. It's not hard to say we don't stand for BS and have no one to impress. Yet the truth is usually that we spend most of each day doing things we simply think we need to do... even thinking the things we've been taught we should think.

Actually keeping it real would mean loving every single person on this planet, even the ones you don't actually like.

Actually keeping it real means seeing the world, and yourself as part of the world, the way Spirit sees ... and it always sees with the eyes of love.

So when there is that person you feel has locked themselves out of your good graces because they are unworthy of your love, just realize that in them you have created proof that you are only conditionally lovable yourself. If they are to be made unlovable by their behavior, that means that you are only lovable because of your (different) behavior.

That sort of conditional love will always leave you insecure. You live your life one mistake away from being cast out and justifiably denied happiness in life.

If we are to be set free from conditional love, we must learn to set everyone else free too. That's what's real. We are Spirit. Spirit is us. And Spirit loves all the parts of itself unconditionally.

When we keep it real, we don't invite everyone into our house. We don't consider everyone a friend. We may even take steps to make sure we don't encounter someone, or that we get them impeached. Being real means we face what is beneficial about them and what is not beneficial, and seek to only expose ourselves to what is beneficial.

One of the most important things I had to learn from my family was how to love someone you don't like. It is sometimes necessary to do so.

I will speak more on this general idea some other time.

Keeping it real for me means letting myself live as the flow of love that I truly am. What does keeping it real mean to you?

heart-700141_1280.jpg
(Photo source: pixabay)

Resteems always appreciated

Sort:  

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 53.84% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

I am following my dreams until they become real.

I love what you're saying about keeping it real Indigo. This is actually something I have spent a lot of time contemplating.

For me it's being honest about what my intuitive 'sense' of things is, especially around people.

I often think about the polarity between being this 'unconditional love being', but also being pragmatic and not wasting time with what is clearly going to diminish my energy. I guess only the heart knows.

For example someone may seem nice and friendly, but if the vibe is off then I will try to honour that by walking away and not engaging out of some social obligation, or some redundant thought which tells me to do what people expect. It was more difficult at the beginning, but seeminly it gets easier as we follow through more and more.

Thanks for the article! :)

I like the way you're engaging with the question. Thanks so much for this thoughtful response.

I guess keeping it real would entail loving yourself as well. It’s something I’d love to teach but I’m still working on it myself. Until recently I had a hard time telling people how I felt out of fear of conflict or awkwardness and found myself in many more uncomfortable situations as a result. Sometimes I didn’t want to be somewhere but I’d put up with it for a friend or to keep the atmosphere peaceful. Now I’ve discovered I can only lead others to self empowerment when I empower myself and don’t sit through unpleasant conversations just to be polite all the time.

Those are important learnings many of us have to get at some point, or just go on suffering under the weight of putting everyone before ourselves. Finding how to live in integrity and care about others, without actually putting ourselves second is challenging, but if we don't do it, we just bleed ourselves dry. It is still challenging, but at least we're clear about what we're trying to do now.

What absolutely awesome words of wisdom, @indigoocean. I'm totally with you. I love your words:

Actually keeping it real would mean loving every single person on this planet, even the ones you don't actually like.

Actually keeping it real means seeing the world, and yourself as part of the world, the way Spirit sees ... and it always sees with the eyes of love.

This is so much my true Heart and Soul, even if my head sometimes gets in the way... :) It is the core of the poetry I've written since I was young, which in many ways has been as guidance to myself as well. Thank you so much for this really awesome post and keeping it real. Many Blessings ❤

Well I'll have to follow you so that I can read some of your writing too then. Yes, this really does go to the core of things, doesn't it? Nice to meet you.

Yes, it does. Nice to meet you too, @indigoocean. The post I did the day before yesterday had some of my poetry.

Keeping it real.....for me? Simple......just do right by people and yourself. If you come up short, as we all do, own the ish and make it right.

I love the honesty and gentleness of that.

You play with such a nice phrase, @indigoocean. I love the way you elaborate it on your essay. For me "Keeping it real" is the situation that I always attempt to do. I do believe everything that happens on this earth is should be happens. Eventhough there are many things come to us unexpectedly and sometimes those condition irritate us a lot, "keeping them all real" is deserve to be try to do all the time in all living aspects. I also believe there is no other thing more wonderful than looking someone's smiling in every condition. Let's just "keeping it real".

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Hello @indigoocean. Your post is quite intriguing and inspiring. It's been a while I have seen your post. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65