Interdependence Day 2018 in Seco

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I took my dog up to Seco today and spent a little time joining in the holiday cheer. In the process, not only did we meet some very nice people, but I also accomplished two things I've been wanting to do since I got here.

One, I found an artist's print to go on my main living room wall to set off the room. Will go pick it up tomorrow and take it to be framed.

Two, I met one of the members of the Pueblo who gave me the information I need to start the free training program I've been wanting to offer the tribe. He said they'd be really receptive and there are actually two places that I could do that are very close to town.

We also had ice cream, though I probably shouldn't have done that, since I'm allergic to milk. It was good though. But dairy substitute ice creams are good too.

I had taken a picture of a little girl throwing pottery wearing a tutu, but the orientation came out wrong for Steemit (and I don't see how to change it) so I uploaded a pic of the general area I was in instead.

Hope you had a great Interdepedence Day!

"Dependent people need others to get what they want. Independent people can get what they want through their own effort. Interdependent people combine their own efforts with the efforts of others to achieve their greatest success.”

“Interdependence is a far more mature, more advanced concept. If I am physically interdependent, I am self-reliant and capable, but I also realize that you and I working together can accomplish far more than, even at my best, I could accomplish alone. If I am emotionally interdependent, I derive a great sense of worth within myself, but I also recognize the need for love, for giving, and for receiving love from others. If I am intellectually interdependent, I realize that I need the best thinking of other people to join with my own..."

IMG_0954.JPG

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I completely agree regarding interdependence. Our entire planet, and everything on it, is interdependent.

Together we are stronger, we can accomplish more faster, and our diversity IS a major part of our strength.

I wish those clowns in Washington got this, but then, their handlers would never allow such a thought to get traction anyway. If actual "thought" is even something they are still capable of; I'm not convinced that it is.

LOL, yeah they aren't really angling for the whole "critical thinking" crowd. But the rest of us can go without needing their lead. The rest of us must progress with our own leadership.

Indeed we must. nice to meet a fellow traveler down that road. ;-)

He had never analyzed this concept of interdependence. In the union is strength, I loved that idea, we really learn a lot from others. Keep up the good times and the ice cream too.

So very true. It's a fairly new idea to me too, but I increasingly see its importance. Thanks for stopping by.

I'm liking the interdependence concept you shared. I'm naturally a confident person in my abilities so I often went through life alone relying solely on myself to figure things out. As I have matured I recognize the value of having others in my life and I now see that humans aren't designed to be lone wolves. It is still a work in progress, but I'm broadening my circle slowly over time while allowing other people to add value to my life. Hopefully I can add value to theirs as well.

I've been on a similar journey. In business especially I always had a hard time getting help because I didn't know how to collaborate in creation instead of just creating my vision. And the reality is, working with others is slower. But the potential for what can be accomplished together is so much greater, if you can learn to actually co-create, not just work in tandem.

Happy independent celebration. I believe you had a good time over there.

Independence is a broad concept and there are areas it is very dangerous for a Nation or a person to be totally independent of others.

Interdependence......I love it!

You got a 27.84% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @indigoocean!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63