Houses Into Homes

in #life6 years ago

Arguably it is relationships that make a house into a home. But what about our relationship to our own identity within a place?

This is something a lot of Americans have to really think about to get, because while we certainly think about our relationship to ourselves, we aren’t really taught to include the land we live on within that self-concept. In other places, “me” often includes an identification with the place of one’s ancestral line.

In any case, lately I’ve been getting a lot of lessons from life that have been guiding me to new ideas about how I will relate to “home” in the world.

I’ll wait to really dig into it until I’m back on my laptop in a week (1 more week without internet access!) but for now I just wanna to make this one point.

If you are led to a place as a part of a spiritual intuition, you aren’t meant to go there but still keep relating to life as the old you. You’re meant to let the place change you into who you’re meant to become next.

If you miss that, if you revive your old ways of relating to life after the initial disorientation of nothing being where it is supposed to be.... Well then you either struggle to stay or find yourself moving on yet again.

With some places on the planet at least, like Hawaii, Bali, and it seems Taos, if you don’t make your new “me” someone who includes aspects of the place itself, the spirit of the land.... you will be ejected.

So I’ve been working on making this internal evolution. Will keep you updated.

907CD3AA-E102-4414-ADE0-F811E4CC85D5.jpeg
(And yes, that photo is sideways. It took too long to upload it on this mobile phone to try uploading again. )

Sort:  

Excellent point of view I also think that the most important thing in life is to find oneself, to know where we want to go in life. All the experiences that we are living help us to mold that inner self that will accompany us until the last of our days. It is not easy, I think, to find our inner self, because outside of ourselves there is a lot of noise that for years can distract us from the true meaning of life. Good post. Greetings.

Sometimes I wonder whether we are discovering ourselves or creating ourselves. Thanks for dropping by.

I like that train of thought. I struggle with being led by my spiritual intuition because I am very much a logic driven person.

Humans will always be resistant to change, but it is those who allow it to happen that will reap the benefits.

Yes, it isn’t a necessity to welcome in the way that life can shape us, but it definitely makes for an easier ride if we learn to love the road.

Well...I think the most important relationship one can ever have is with your own inner-self..but the problem with most of us is our attachments and identities we've created for ages..hence the distortion ! If we ponder for a moment and introspect...nothing of the outside will remain....you might move houses a couple months down the line..get into a new one..and the circle goes on..so is with relationships...The key is spending time with oneself...answers shall follow :)

I think you’re reflecting the frame of mind so many of us have been taught in spirituality as brought to the West from the East. What I’m saying is, no, who we are is not in isolation from where we are. Place is a part of that “inner self.” Self is found not just in this localized body-mind-soul continuum we normally think of. When we include the land, the trees, the wind within “Self,” we begin to embody more of our true spiritual birthright.

Bang on ! Here in the east - particularly in India the school of thought is "Inclusive" - Today even science has proved that everything is manufactured out of 5 elements & that's why they say every damn thing is interconnected too ! :)
I'm sure you probably must be aware about "Upanishads" - in Sanskrit, a terminology called sarvam-khalvidam-brahm just explains this in 3-4 chapters

I reckon its the choice of words and the expression in a lil different way ! But I must admit your post aint gross - it has a deep insight :) -

A discovery of one's self will help to bring out the best in a person. The places we relocate to should never determine what becomes of one's life but one's life should rather decide where a person goes.

My identity is not really what others see me but what I see of myself. Others can give a way of explaining my identity but what I see of myself is the most important thing.

You can move through the world like that, and if you are experiencing the outside environment as limiting or hostile I can see why one would want to. But I am pointing out another option in which we allow the beauty, power, and blessing of a place grow to us into something more than we were before we encountered it.

Yea, if the beauty of a place will make us more better people then going for it is a good idea since it is not going to make one's life to be worst than it was before.

Releasing the spirit and soul... feeling happy with who you are. Have an encounter with oneself.
Good thing there are places like this for it. Thanks for sharing... Regards 🙋

I hope that every place can be like you described. Some places go beyond that and stir up accelerated growth and development. Not everyone is drawn to that, as some prefer routine and sureness, but those who want to see what life can hold for us, such places are literally a godsend.

All experience comes from a change, this change can take a long time or face pleasant situations and others not very pleasant, but this is what makes our life interesting and prepares us for our future. I love this photo.
In short, we must be ourselves and feel happy with what we do and where we are.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 25.00% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72