Choose Your Meaning Carefully

in #life6 years ago

Often we forget that we are the ones who created our system of meaning in life. We are the ones who decided what measure will be used to judge us.

Are we more worthy of happiness if we work hard?

Do we deserve more self-worth if we are creative? Intelligent? Funny or entertaining?

How in your mind do you judge yourself as having sufficiently earned your keep?

Or do you not ever truly earn your keep? Are you always just a little short of the mark and needing to try harder? Or do you simply accept a fundamental sense of insecurity always being there with you?

Meaning that Fulfills

There is only one system of meaning I have come across that seems to lead to actual fulfillment. All the rest put us on a roller coaster ride. Sometimes we’re coming up, but inevitably we’re always falling at points too.

We can’t always be the smart one in the conversation. We can’t entertain everyone. We can’t always be productive. Sometimes creativity dries up. In those moments, do we truly have less value? If you’re measuring your value by those things, then yes.

But if you measure your value by a different yardstick, in those moments of not being able to perform up to snuff you still have the perfect value you were born with. And that system of meaning (and measure) is enjoyment.

What if you were born so that you could enjoy this life?

What if that was the sole purpose of your entire life, simply that you enjoy it however you find to?

A lot of people fear such ideas. They suspect the worst in themselves and others, as if that is only being held back by the need to constantly be serving in some way to mitigate one’s fundamental evil.

I don’t think like that. I know that people can be very selfish, but I think a healthy selfishness leads people to engage in activities that help them and others. With a health system of meaning, we don’t do what we do because we think we should; we do it because we want to.

I’m not going to shy away from saying that I’ve done a lot of good in this world. I’ve helped a lot of people in a lot of ways. I’ve even built an entire community up from the ground, providing low cost housing to 26 poor families. Those people still live in that community and their families are changed for generations by what I did. But I didn’t do it for them. I did it for me.

I do all that I do because I enjoy it. And what I don’t enjoy, I don’t do. I love that so many people are helped by my actions, but that never confuses me. Never for a moment do I think I am actually serving anyone but myself.

I see the fundamental nature of myself and all others as Love extending itself to all the parts of itself as love. We are that, and we love ourself unconditionally. This truth is hidden from most people most of the time, but it sometimes emerges in most people (if not everyone at some time). And I’m not willing to play along to get along. I’m not willing to pretend I know less than I know just because so many others are walking around as if they don’t know.

You can’t get to a true solution with a dishonest question.

The question is not, “How do I prove my worth?” For your worth was determined with your first breath. The question is only, “How do I enjoy this moment whatever it contains?” For that is the secret question that reveals the path to a truly happy life.

Learn how to know what you want most in any moment. It isn’t as easy as it might sound. Master this though. Then also master knowing how to truly turn any contents of your experience into a part of your path of joyful living. Master your emotions and the way you shape meaning out of raw experience.

If you do this, I have faith in you that you will leave a trail of joy behind you in the world. It will be the joy you live and the joy and well-being that you foster in others. It won’t be because you were trying to. It will simply be because you allowed the truth to express itself through you without your trying to manipulate it any.

Trust in your fundamental goodness, and that of others too. Don’t make rules to chain the beast you imagine that actually condemn the angel that is your true birthright.

5E9FE72E-3B89-464F-AFD1-81CBF640EB72.jpeg
One of the last shots I took of the lovely cottonwood trees at my house I sold, right before I left CA. I spent so many hours lying in that hammock, staring up at those trees, watching them shimmer in the breeze. In those moments, I was living my highest purpose, just as I am right now.

Resteems always appreciated!

Sort:  

My answer to the question, How do I enjoy this moment whatever it contains is to let go and just ease into life with a made up mind with the resolve that whether I am working or not I am working and experiencing a creative drought I am where I am supposed to be.

Oh! long gone are those days where I wrestled with and strive to make it all happen. That's why I don't do good with schedules and deadlines. I will honor them but I don't go out of my way to set routine parameters for myself. And I am richer for it all in Spirit and I will soon get to that level of richness in all the other areas in my life. But to be in balance and feel good about all that you do and where you are every hour of the day will help keep you centered and in a state of happiness, peace and/or joy and maybe even bliss.

I'm very moved to hear of your housing project. Thank you. There is a quote from I think the Fountainhead by Ayn Rand (which i can't find so my paraphrasing must be incomprehensible even to google lol) that basically says "if you want to help people you can't love the people you have to love the doing". Although I feel like you really have to love both (loving someone is the only way to understand what kind of help is desired), I know a lot of us empathetic people have a hard time with putting enough value on physical things to create help in the physical world- even though we live here too haha . It is also hard to whittle down where to start. I have tried to do that as I got older- just choose one aspect and give it enough attention to give it some real purchase, and seeing other people's successful projects is always a welcome boost :) I have a friend in detroit who is focused on ending homelessness there in his lifetime, he is a very dedicated guy, and I'd love to get any information on your project to share with him for ideas. I've also been working on getting him on here, but you know how it goes - busy busy busy :)

I’m surprised at the source of that quote, but yes.

For your friend, I’d say that if this is his first time building out a project, then don’t start from scratch. Partner with a team that has experience. I partnered with a group called Self-help Housing. They took care of all the permits and government relations for me. I just had to be on the ground, getting the mortgages, finding the families, applying for the grant, managing the ordering of what supplies when, managing the subcontractors, managing the families, and keeping separate books on each home for accounting purposes. It was a lot, but would have been impossible alone.

Yeah, Ms. Rand doesn't get enough credit in certain circles. I read her cold, so I didn't have any notions of what she 'stood' for and just took the information apart like I would anything. I really quite liked a lot of her thinking, and it may be that's she's taken out of context or sort of became a caricature of her work (like everyone does eventually I guess haha). My friend is older, in his late 40's or early 50's so I'm not sure where he has tried yet, but I'll pass along the info for sure, thank you :)

Hmnn.... every action we take is perceived as in some way benefiting us individually. But to function with the goal of doing it for joy, or converting the experience to one of joy in our minds...that sounds like advanced stages of consciousness to me. I have come to a point where I am thankful for most everything... but admittedly not all. However, my gratitude consciousness is gradually becoming a normal daily function. I once had a friend who expressed his joy for me when things went "my way". I found that to be such an odd behavior at the time (I was 21), but now practice that too.

Thanks for the reminder to keep working at it. Blessings.

We definitely never get this perfected, nor should we. That’s much of the fun of the game. But having clarity about what game we’re playing and how it is played well, that’s the difference between a happy life and a life of self doubt and dissatisfaction.

....."Learn how to know what you want most in any moment".......
Very wise words.
Thanks!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IndigoOcean from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

hey @indigoocean, I can see you are still going and growing strong here on steem, that does me good. It is always nice to see someone that persists and keeps blogging...

I have a favour to ask of you. Together with some others I have started a witness called @swisswitness and we are going around to see if people would give us one of their votes... I saw your post coming through my feed and thought I would ask...
the easy way to do this is through the new steemconnect link
https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=swisswitness&approve=1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29