My TOP-5 favorite books from childhood review

in #life7 years ago

This is my top-5 favorite childhood books review. I'm not original at all, and most of them are loved by children worldwide. But it's mine top-5 anyway, ha-ha:)

I loved to read as a child, as much as I love it now. My granny tought me how to do it. We lived in a far north, and she worked in a library. I remember us going to her work together, and then we brought back home books on the sleigh.

Image credit

It was really cold in the small city where we lived so my main memories are not connected with playing outside. May be that's one of the reasons later I began suffering from social anxiety, by the way. Growing up at far North I had books as best friends.

  • 1. Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings

I read "the Lord of the Rings" already being less or more grown up kid - somewhere at the age of 12. But Hobbit is a memory from childhood. I remember fantasize about me myself being a hobbit, and taking part in all the adventures. In fact I can talk about Tolkien for hours, and I'm doing it here in my blog, and I think I'll never stop:)

  • 2. Alice in Wonderland

My second book in the "top-favorite" list. I had a really special edition, with comments of different scientists. Too bad that now I don't have any idea where it is - my family moved all the time and may be it's lost somewhere. It had a soft cover and I read it over and over again, and finally the book started to fall apart. I fixed the pages with scotch tape and read it again. 

My favorite Character was a Cheshire Cat. I feeled so much like him - "A bit out of my mind". The second was the Mad Hatter. I never been to England, but the idea of 5 o'clock tea is reallyclose to me. It's like "and the whole world will wait":)

  • 3. Harry Potter

The first book appeared when I already was nine years old. Now it's strange for me to think about how long time ago it was - twenty years passed. My classmate borrowed it to me, and I read it at night, with a flashlight under the blanket. It was so much like Harry studied magic under the blanket in the beginning of the second book:) Now I still reread all the seven books time to time, mostly when I feel that there's not enough miracles in my life. And it really helps:) 

  • 4. Witch tales

This book by belarusian writer Olga Gromyko appeared when I was a little older. And again - my classmate gave it to me. It's aviable only in russian, and it's a book about adventures of a red haired witch, a young, who recently  graduated wizards school. Yes, all my favorite books are fantasy. Of course the list of books I read during my life is mush wider then 5 (I will not count, Sometimes I can read up to 15 of the a month), but these from the list I re'read all the time.

  • 5. Wolfhound

Also a series of books by russian writer Maria Semenova. The first one came out in year 1995. Later more books came out, continuing the story. In fact I know that it was filmed (badly, really badly), and may be the movie was translated, I'm not sure. But it's too far away from this awesome fantasy book anyway.

So, that's my top-5 list of favorite books. Most of the rest I read only once, but these I keep rereading, for different reasons. But mostly when I feel sad and just want to feel myself a child again.

I think I'll add one of my illustrations to this post:) I already published it here on steemit, but it's really suitable here. I always have been like this girl. In an old house, with a candle... OK, in a new house, but still with a candle:) Reading:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

I too read The Hobbit when I was very young.

And lots of books by Enid Blyton (The Famous Five), A.A. Milne (Winnie the Pooh) and Beatrix Potter.

There was also a kids detective series written by Alfred Hitchcock which was very cool.

And of course anything written by Dr. Seuss ;-)

Winnie the Pooh!:) Yes, this one I also really loved! And Bambi... Learned how to read on Bambi:)

I was all about The Borrowers by Mary Norton and The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe. The first book I ever fully read was a Nancy Drew... Yeah it was definitely Nancy Drew that got me reading. Nice article - will stop in again.

Thank you:) For me at the Far North books were an opportunity to "see" other world and "make friends". I had not much real ones:)

Very nice, Mine was James and the giant peach

I was most into Harry Potter growing up. I read them so much I wore the covers out. Next to that I loved the Julie of the Wolves series.

Never heared about the second one, should find and read:)

Great books!
I like them too:)
Btw, do you speak Russian?

How Cool you listed Alice in Wonderland as one of your childhoods most favourite books. I never read it when I was a child, I was more into Jules Verne and those kind of books. Not too long ago I saw the movie "Alice Through the Looking Glass" and liked it. In my collection of hats I have one that resembles the Mad Hatters one (here). Loved that character, maybe also since I like most of the movie where Johnny Depp is playing this type of odd characters (like Edward Scissorhands).

Your post is too old for an upvote, but if you place a comment, I'll upvote. Great share!

Thank you for watching, I'm really surprised to receive a comment to such an old post:)
Btw I also love Tim Burton movies:)

Tim Burton is Super!

On specific topics I write about I try to search for older posts. I actually think this must be done much more, since it would be so nice that older posts are not lost forever. Ok, at Steemit the posts are still there on the blockchain, but when nobody finds them anymore, the are essentially lost for the world. I really think this should be turned around somehow. That is the main reason I search for older posts. I'm still trying to figure out how we can keep older posts visible. Maybe just simply creating a new posts with a homage to older posts on specific topics. Good and Interesting post shall not be lost! :)

I thought about it too and I really think steemit has to create some kind of folders one day, perhaps then posts of particular author on particular topics will be easier to find:)

I agree. But it could also be us creating posts referencing some good posts from the past. This could be in a new account to have a 'channel' of these kind of posts. In a similar way I'm in the process of launching a Music Channel, got myself a seperate account for that and I plan to ReSteem posts with links to good music. That account will then only hold such posts, therefore making it a clean way to group posts on a particular topic, while they are curated on quality (tags are not) and an easy discovery method for anybody who is really interested in to...just surf the the account. Similarly this could be done with Older posts and making them visible again, a new account and let that account ReSteem posts. Anyway, just thinking out loud :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30