'The Mad Hatter'- An Ode to the Hat (photographs insight)

in #madhatter7 years ago

Hats


The other day I opened a post with a re-creation of the Mad Hatter. The Mad Hatter is a fictional character in Lewis Carroll's "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" and its sequel "Through the Looking-Glass".

Years ago I was named by one of my friends as the Mad Hatter. Reason for this was my hat I was wearing at the time, amongst others. It became kind-of my nickname. I say 'kind-of': Generally this name calling is triggered when I wear a hat! Somehow I do like this reference to the odd character though; Being normal is just overrated :)

Does this hat qualify for Mad Hatter?

I'm interested in your opinion, so leave them in a comment. But before you do so, you may like to read the rest of the article. So, just scroll down now.

hat: "Mad Hat"


Note: the goggles are not original, I added it a year or so ago. The feathers needs attention as well; The original ones got lost and I'n now using temporary replacements; They need to become black again.

For those (probably rare) readers who do not know how The Mad Hatter looks like and in more particular the style of the hat, here an image taken from IMDB (Internet Movie Database).

Why Hats?


I like hats since a hat give an extra to the outfit; An extra not many people are wearing. For some reason hats seem to be out of fashion for many decades or more already. Why? I don't know! When going to eg festivals or garden parties at my friends, I regularly wear a hat. I think it makes the outfit and party more interesting; It may even enhance the party atmosphere! I would love to see many people at a festival wearing such less usual accessories.

While we are on topic of hats, I like to present you some more from my collection.

hat: "Goldie"

hat: "Straight Stars"

hat: "60s"

hat: "Squaree"

hat: "Mad Hat Junior"


Note: again, I added the goggles as well as the white and black flowers that I got as a present.

I really hope I inspired you!

Lets make the Hat the New 'Normal'



Special thanks to @andrianna for here inspirational post (here)


NJOY

follow me @edje

Sort:  

Dude these hats are super cool! I love hats too but Florida is too hot most of the time for them. Check out the hat my wife did for this Alice in Wonderland shoot https://steemit.com/photography/@jarib/alice-in-wonderland-photoshoot @edje

That hat is great! Love it!
Luckily the Netherlands is not as hot as Florida.
Last weekend I had a few of these hats on my head. In two weeks I'll be a week at some festival, and will bring a bunch o them as well.

Waaaaw i like red one 😘 @edje

The top one or the bottom one?

The top one

Yeh, that one is really super! I wear it quite often, more than all the other hats. Need some more feathers though.

Thats really amazing and looking cool , i don't like hats but that one awsome ☝👌

There are many more cool hats out there!

I want to see that why i follow u and upvote .. keep posting like ths i like it

Good post about hats. But it would be interesting to see you in the hat "The Mad Hatter"

Hahahaha, hmmm, that means I have to become more or less none-anonymous :) Not sure if I'll go to SteemFest, but when I do, I shall call for SteemFest with Hat event... a good time to wear my Mad Hat, or any of the other ones :)

Super cool hat. I will follow you because I like this kind of article and you are friendly. Good job

Thank you for your appreciation!

Followed you hop u follow back and visit my blog @kishan

That's some huge collection of hats :d

And these are not even all of them :)

And we shouldn't forget the stone ball! He perfectly accompanies all the hats))

It is very simple and abstract mirror of my own head :)

Hahaha. It's beautiful))))

👌🏼That's a nice collection of hats 🎩

Hahaha, like the hat in your comment :)

"As mad as a hatter", A popular explanation of the phrase suggests that it was connected to mercury poisoning or Korsakoff's syndrome experienced by hat-makers as a result of the long-term use of mercury products in the hat-making trade. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mad_as_a_hatter
I took some hats to Cuba & gave them to the local band, here's a couple of pics.(The loved them)
DSC02231.JPG
DSC02206.JPG

Super! Suddenly the band became a Hatter band :)

Even if it's not my usual "style" to wear, I love the first hat red! So cool!

Thank you; That one I really really love. Generally I like to be a bit away from what is considered normal, and that one fits the bill :)

Oh wow ! what a fab collection !

Thank you; And this is not even all :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48