Getting Back to Steemit! Here's What I Was Doing During The Absence!

in #life6 years ago

Hi People,

It's been a serious amount of time since I have actively used Steemit. Reasons are quite a few. I had some urgent but important matters to solve. On top of urgency, one of the issues required critical financial management. Unfortunately for me, the crypto market went down like crazy and the recent revival took a long time to come. Unfortunate because my money is either invested in crypto or was loaned out.

U5duAdBjkkYgVvPAs4ukU5tPfwAXtbR_1680x8400.png
Image by @krypto

I was in dire need of money and had to get a chunk out of my longterm savings to solve the crucial financial problem at hand. Actually, I had planned to buy my first ever car in March, 2018 as a part of my 2018 goals. I really wanted to go ahead with my plans but finances were bleak. I requested people to return my loan but to no avail. Along with that, I kept waiting for the crypto market to yield some profit; also to no avail.

The obvious mismatch between my goal to buy a car and the financial circumstances took quite a toll on me. I must say that navigating through such a situation was very difficult for me as I had to make some urgent, bold, and risky decisions. Some of the decisions have paid off. Some could have paid off a little more.

One such decision was to sell all of my 900+ SBD not for cashing out but to invest in a more promising cryptocurrency. Even though I was in need of cash, selling my hard earned crypto asset at that petty price was simply not an option for me. The little financial intelligence that I have did not allow for such a stupid action. I, alongwith my friend @jbn, sold most of the SBD and bought SmartCash. We bought it when it was just $0.07 and in a few days we are sitting at a nice 70+ % profit. I think it is one of the best short-term as well as long-term investment that I may have made.

We got itchy about SBD's situation due to its confusing position is the Steem blockchain and the apparent pegging to USD. We took a decision to sell our SBD to buy some coin at its lowest and expected to rise. SMART was a good decision. However, the day we sold, SBD pumped nearly 100 % in two days. We could have waited for just one more day and made a lot of profit. But as @jbn and I agreed, we cannot time this market. We made a good decision though. SBD won't probably make us rich, SMART pretty much may.

So, whatever SBD I had, I have put it in other cryptos; mainly SMART. I had some Steem too which I sold twice at the pump to buy some other coins and wait for Steem to dip. It had dipped and I am looking forward to adding back at least the amount that I have sold. The only chunk of Steem that I have sold for cash it the lastest 221 Steem transfer to Binance. I needed to clear the final leg of pending payments for now and get things in order.

These final payments are for my first ever car. It has arrived at the showroom but is being registered with excise and insurance agencies. I hope to get my hands on it for the first time before this weekend. Whatever I have earned from Steemit has contributed a lot to my first car. Not so much directly but I could rely on availability and the expected appreciation of my crypto assets to get loans. I got some money out of my savings to clear these short-term loans (from friends only and interest free). When crypto rises back, I hope to be able to fill up my savings, as well as pursue my pending goals.

IMG_20180410_120050.jpg
Waiting for the white one to be mine. ;)

The process has been going on for a few weeks now, almost corresponding to the duration of my absence. I knew in my heart that I was wasting every passing day because I haven't been this inconsistent ever on Steemit. The market situation disheartened me a bit as well. There were other reasons for my absence too but this post is focused on letting you know what I was up to.

One very positive and satisfying thing that I have been doing on a daily basis is reading books. I am close to finsihing Saladin by John Man, which is an epic story of crusades and how Saladin became the focal point of Muslim revival. He's praised by Muslims because he conquered Jerusalem and by Christians because he was a generous and kind conquerer; unlike the crusaders who filled the Holy City with blood and dead bodies when they first arrived in 1098.

152390992731689742218.jpg

I hope to be active again, reply to your comments, upvote them, visit your blogs, share my thoughts with you, bring back the community element and, of course, Steem on!

Sort:  

Welcome back! I've not been posting much myself the last couple weeks, while I also attend to life stuff. For me it's the selling side of things, as I prepare to sell my first house and work out where I'm relocating to. Lots to do! But I love steemit and work in as much time as I can even if mostly commenting these days.

Good plays on the investments. You never need perfect timing. Just a positive return.

Good luck for your relocation and stuff. Life gets us at times. I have enjoyed making tough decisions and making the purchase. Returns have so far been massively positive. I just need to stay calm and sell only when the anticipated target is achieved.

Welcome back sir. Please can you tell me about SMART? I'm really really interested. And since you are already testifying about it, then it is worth my investing.
@ilyastarar please acknowledge and reply. Thanks

I have written 3 guides on smart recently. you can visit my blog to check out how smart works, how to invest in it, how to sign up and how to navigate through smartcash web wallet.

I'm heading there now. Thank you for the contribution, i really appreciate

Hi @slimsieris. I have written about why I invested in SMART. The post is linked in this one if you wish to checkout. I have availed the opportunity to buy it at its lowest. It's 130 % above the price I bought so I am not sure if I can recommend anything. Please do your own research. Find more at https://smartcash.cc website.

Thank you so much. This is really going to help. No matter how costly, now is still better to buy, because the future is very bright.
Thank you sir

Nice to have you back on steemit my friend.
On hard times follow good times.
The crypto market will have a bullrun again and then the world will look different again.
Interesting to hear about your background situation.
Wish you all the best and most of success my friend.

Hello bro, congratulations for great achievement :)
We need you here for more thoughtful and informative posts, further you are representing our country very proudly :) keep up the good work and stay active and stay helping ;)

Welcome back sir. I have not been consistent too the past weeks, but that not withstanding, i missed you and your educating posts. Congratulations in advance on your new acquisition

That's very generous of you to say. Thank you!

Welcome back! I hope all your financial problems will be resolved swiftly.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

WELCOME BACK!

Same here, I am making preparation of CCE now a days... doing study all the time...

Note:- Reposted after Haejin flagged the previous one.

My recent comments have the answer ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83