Why I Deleted Facebook, Chose Solitude & My Lack of Trust in Humanity

in #life6 years ago

The other day, when the sun came out, I decided to go to the "one" beach that is available from where I live in East Big Island. Unlike the other Hawaiian islands that have so many  beaches to choose from, east side of Big Island only has "one" beach you can lay out in Lower Puna.

Well that presents itself a problem when you only have one beach, as you'll see the same people OVER and OVER again. Not that I don't want to say hi or not, but sometimes, you just want to go to the beach and just be "by yourself". And on that day, that was exactly what I wanted to do.

But unfortunately, people that knew me approached me so I had to greet them and say hi.

But one of the encounters ended up being a miscommunication, where later on that day, he messaged me saying he regretted meeting me at the beach thinking I had some gripe against him. 

(photo credits: Marc James from Unsplash.com)

Let me say this, making ASSUMPTIONS IS TERRIBLE!

Don't make assumptions.

I never had a gripe on him or anything.

Later that day, I checked on his Facebook profile and noticed that he had several days of posts, wondering why he didn't get invited to events or such.

And that's the problem with Facebook: People are comparing each other!

Facebook has somehow become some kind of reality for people.

And its sad that somehow friendships are based off of Facebook?

So I deleted my Facebook. Fuck 'em.

It's unhealthy to have that. I should probably do it with several other social media platforms, but Facebook is the worst.

And with that, I choose SOLITUDE.

Never in my wildest imaginations would I have thought solitude to be a blessing, but you know what, the only person I trust is myself.

Can't trust any other entity such as government, friends, or sometimes even family to help you.

You yourself can only help yourself.


What's your views on Facebook and solitude?


Sort:  

Well, I guess that's your personal choice. You found it not productive you haver all the right to delete it. For me maybe it is all on you how you use it so you have to decide who you add, what kind of pages you like and how do you use it. I know someone who is running a wrist watches store on FB, so for him if we ask him to close or del his fb profile we would not do that.

By the way, I thought you are following Elon Musk's tweet.

Well many people use it for business, for staying in touch, and for many many other reasons. But we all pretty much can agree is that FB ads have definitely infiltrated the FB feed quite a lot, which is quite a distraction.

If FB works well with online sales, then great ... I just know for me personally, its too time consuming for me to use it.

I believe social media in general is just terrible. It is much better to leave social media behind because it could corrupt you. I see the same kinds of posts all the time, and it is rather annoying on Facebook. I believe it was a good idea to leave Facebook and live in solitude without worrying about who's doing better than who on FB.

Yes agree ... social media what was once created to help connect people actually is doing the complete opposite. I'm taking that stance and going against it.

Luckily with SteemIt ... we get something back for contributing content, something that most social media platforms don't provide and they only take from us.

Deleting facebook is an effective decision..... As a social media site.. facebook is a spamer... It stolen information .. So its security is very poor...
I support you @hustletoparadise

Thanks! Yes I recently just read about bad news that Facebook had sold millions of people's personal information off to another private company. Bad business practices.

Yes, It stolen a lot of private information and sold them varies company...Its a very bad for a social media site.. Its effect in USA elections also... @hustletoparadise

That's definitely the same for me. Also, if not used carefully, Facebook can be that toxic blackhole that sucks all the life and productivity out of you. I stopped using Facebook a few years back but still kept my account for fun. I spend most of my time on Steemit now.

I used to be "one of those people", obsessed with fb and ig. Posting pictures, videos, songs ect all the time and commenting the same. I always said that i could never quite using fb as I spent most of my day on it; just doing nothing, scrolling through my feed and viewing the same, boring things.
On one occasion, when I was blindly looking at my phone and reading stupid fb statuses, my bf told me something like:"you are lame for being so obsessed with fb"
That really hurt me, but I knew that he was right. So I deleted both fb and ig profiles. I never felt so free. I can't believe how stupid I actually was and how much of my life went to waste just by staring at my phone/computer.
So I'm saying hell no to fb! Honestly I feel sorry for people using it and obsessing like I used to. It's ok if you have to use it because of work/school or whatever helpful, but if you use it just because you're bored..not really ok.

Yes totally agree. Many people don't realize how much time gets consumed when we are using social media ... one photo and one video view turns into the whole day lol.

But yea, quitting Facebook has been freeing for me. I won't go back to it.

Solitary is a good if one chose too...I am more of a loner too so, totally relate to wanting to be alone and trust your self.

I have lived the past 4 years specially without roommate or girl friend living with me and I like living by myself where I stay by myself for 2 weeks like I did recently.

Good for you, I never used that site. Social media has significantly increased the amount of people constantly looking at others marketing campaigns as reality. Those sites are flooded with so much economic & physical propaganda that anyone who spends time there will feel as though they do not have enough of anything.

My favorite beach to go to is my local nude beach. When people are naked they lose a lot of the bullshit they try to make their identity about. & you can see real everyday people & real everyday bodies, some good some bad, but real. No airbrushing or select angles, I find this to be a very healthy activity for my self esteem, even though nowadays many of the people at the nude beach are on their phone/social site at the same time 😂 can’t win them all !

Oh nice ... where are you based from?

The one beach that is closest to me is a nude beach also .. but fortunately, no cell tower service .. so people are not on their phones here. Maybe someone should knock out the cell tower near your nude beach so people would be off their phones!

The beach I like to go to is a small little public beach in the middle of one of Seattle’s richest neighborhoods. So no chance of cutting towers. It’s a funny little place, lots of Seattle hipsters & many different types of people among mansions. Just started going last summer & quickly became one of my favorite places, can smoke a joint naked in the sun & go for a nice swim in lake Washington. It is the best on a hot day

Ah no way ... I'll have to find that beach ... I'm going to be in Seattle for the short 3 days during the last week of July .. so it should be amazing summer heat for going to the beach!

Nice, that is the best time of the year to see sunny Seattle. My favorite is Denny Blaine, there is also Howell Beach very close by which I have yet to check out.

Would make for a funny steemit meetup, let me know when you’re heading there. I can always use an excuse to go the beach 🏊‍♀️

Awesome, I'm Harrison. Nice to SteemIt meet you.

I'll keep tabs when month gets closer as to my plans in Seattle.

Sounds good, happy steeming 😆

wow I see how facebook can waste your time and how it's always people showing off to saying their political views and if your wrong they blast you for thinking different. I currently only use Facebook for my business and that's about it, I stay away from the drama. I would say many ppl would do better without it and probably save them a lot of time, good post

That's smart that you only stick to using Facebook for business purposes. But yea, the biggest problem Facebook creates is lots of unnecessary drama ... and political posts are the worst since now people can troll anonymously behind a computer.

Back then, when people had discussions, they would talk face to face. There at least was some courage there. But now people are cowards and hide behind computers to talk crap against each other.

Yes and it does get very tiring. For example 2 days ago one of my friends goes on this complaining rant about how Black ppl are treated so differently and how they can't start business and are stopped with a brick wall at every way and have difficulty all the time. So I sent him a messages saying I own multiple busissness and had no issue due to race or anything weird or stupid stopping me, I told him the only thing stopping him was himself and making to many excuses. BAD Mistake. I got blasted by all his ppl following him telling me I am not black enough or haven't been through struggle. It went 0 to 1000% real quick lol. But it was a very civil conversation then turn to a bash me movement. so The negatives of Facebook makes people do and say things they wouldn't in person and can create so much negativity, so i'll refrain from doing that for a while lol

Sorry that you ended up getting the "blast".

Yea, whenever I see something online that I don't agree with ... I tend to quickly gloss right over it ... the only time I'll get into a friendly banter is if the person is right in front of me ... then I can see their face and body gestures and less likely to make assumptions.

I checked out your profile and noticed you are based out of Vegas ... what do you do out there?

I am a investor and entrepreneur, love Vegas life, but still meet a bunch of anti President Trump supporters lol.

Facebook is doing far more damage to our society than good. Only time will truly delineate that concept to the masses. Then it will be too late to repair. Thanks for the share.

The far long term effects of social media on society as a whole is what's going to be scary and unimaginable.

Hi hustletoparadise,
I've never liked facebook myself, too much drama, too spammy and too much junk to point out just a few problems with it. I'm loving steemit though because there is so much good information here, very topical and you can choose to respond or not, and like you mentioned we get paid too, that's pretty cool.
However, don't give up on people, there are plenty of good ones out there, although there are times it does make you wonder, and usually the people you can really count on and trust with your innermost thoughts can be counted on one hand, but they are out there, really.
Alone time can be a much needed break at times, but we still need to interact with someone too, it's a balance thing. I would love to go for a walk on the beach alone sometimes, alas we don't have a beach so I'll stick to my bedroom for alone time, lol. Take care hustletoparadise and good luck

Thanks for your response.

Yes, I really shouldn't lump all humanity into the bad category ... but lately, its been tough for me to trust people on first sight. I've unfortunately been having to live my life where if I meet someone for the first time, I have this "guilty until proven innocent" attitude LOL.

It'll take some time for me to regain "trust" in society as a whole.

I hear you, regaining trust takes time, in some cases can take many years, I hope you find many more friends in the future that you can trust. Steemit may just be one of those places where you can start to regain some of that trust in humanity, you never know. Good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62