Prescriptions from the Playground...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I don't know if it is just both my children, but they often come home from school with they call prescription forms (accident description sheets) from school, with various descriptions of what accidents have befallen them.

I think they call them prescriptions, as they have seen me get mine and their fathers (real prescriptions) from the doctors.

They have both managed to clash heads with someone by running into them. In fact, that happened on my 4 year old's first day.

But other woes already have included a grazed knee, a poorly tummy and a metal splinter.

But this one I got the other day did make me laugh...

What????

How do you get a brick dropped on your forehead?

I asked my daughter about this and she said someone had thrown a brick at her. There was no red mark there on her forehead by the time she got home and she wasn't bothered by it, so I didn't pursue it.

It really makes you wonder what they get up to at school.

My four year old always comes home complaining that this little boy keeps chasing her and I asked the teacher about this and she said that my daughter keeps asking him to chase her.

He is always telling his mummy how much he loves my daughter.

And my daughter is always telling me how much she doesn't like him.

Tales with a pinch of salt.

My eldest once banged her head on the table and everything seemed fine, then she was poorly and sick during the night, so I was worried it was concussion, or something more serious.

I called the NHS advice line, here in the UK and they sent a paramedic out to come and check her over just in case.

Turned out she had the flu. Just bad timing.

That incident is now referred to by her as “the time I almost went to hospital”.

The only 'accident' I can recall from school is hanging upside down of the monkey bars, falling off and landing on my head, walking a few steps and fainting and coming around to someone saying “is she dead?”.

I was fine, don't think my mum got an accident form then, though.

But I have also managed to run across a road, trip over the pavement and and bang my head on the wall. That was a black eye and a half. A policeman stopped and asked me if I wanted to go to the hospital and I said 'no', because I didn't want the neighbours gossiping about me coming home in a police car.

I'm praying that the kids aren't as clumsy as me...

Not looking good so far.

Words and photos by @hopehuggs


Love this Discord Group with all my <3 - come, apply, join...

Unmentionables

Sort:  

Hello @hopehuggs
I really laughed when I was reading your post because it took me down memory lane, to the time my children were younger. They were into so much mischief that I asked one day 'oh God, why me?. Children are sweet and the mischief and bruising part might not be so cool but it is part of them.
@edith4angelseu

Oh yes, i know too well what you're telling about the recognition of my children or the stories they wanna tell me about a case sometimes. For example if they are on the war path with each other and both tell the absolute truth.. each of them has it's own reality and story with absolute conviction. They can be the best actors, they collapse and falling to the ground with the slightest touch of the brother or sister and can shout that everyone in the surrounding area may say and think

"What uncaring parents! Outrageous!"

It seems the teacher try to avoid a lawsuit against him 😆

Thank you for the funny family stories. Please beware of walls in the future! 😉

Lol! That is way too funny for your stories and theirs. I remember playing on a bar in elementary school and hitting my tooth on it. My front tooth still has a tiny chip in it. But I think it was after school hours. It was probably good that you found out your child had the flu on the first night instead of passing it around at school and then finding out... ;) Fun times.

Its not nice to laugh at other's misfortune, but I can't help myself

I'm not sure your kids are any clumsier or the accidents are any greater thsn when we were kids. The forms look a case of CYA-JIC compliance (Cover Your Butt - Just In Case).

We must do something to stop the bullying at aschool. Our children need to be save at scool without any accident caused by their friends. We have to be active by visiting their school and discussing with their teacher.

I was.sorry to know what has happened to your kids. I hope they always be happy in their life and growing up to be the best students.

Have a nice day my friend.
Regard from Indonesia.

Oh dear!! At least the brick was only plastic lol. Kids do get into it sometimes :D Glad to hear everyone is okay!

I was missing your posts so much! This past weekend was extremely busy and I couldn't work much. Had to be with the family which was a lott of fun but hectic too. Coming back to this feels great. Haha, children are so mischievous but I often do wonder if they are fine at school. Like when I drop my son to school, I keep wondering if he'll be okay. I ask him several questions when he comes back about what he did and what he enjoyed at school etc. Sometimes he answers back happily but sometimes he doesn't and then I start worrying lol. However, I have realized that worrying incessantly does not do me any good. I stay up to date with his performance and any accidents he had by talking to his teacher every now and then and that comforts me. Hope your daughters stay healthy and happy too. :)

@hopehuggs...I don't think they are clumsy...maybe you should pursue the brick incident..children throwing bricks at others is not okay.

hahaha this one made me laugh a lot as when I was a kid I was coming home with cuts, bruises, broken bones, and many other things. My mom is still surprised I am alive today. lol

Kids will be kids and you can't protect them from everything, but like you, the only thing you can do is be there for them when stuff happens. The rest is just life happening and kids having fun and banging their heads and stuff. Nothing out of the ordinary. At least for my childhood. lol

I remember me and my brother climbing a huge tree and he falls down on what is left of cut tree and brakes 2 ribs. He was more afraid of our parents because they told us specifically not to do this. He would get a little beating with the two broken ribs. lol He ended up telling our parents and they said two broken ribs is punishment enough.

Kids will be kids always my amazing friend. So all you can do is be there to patch them up. :)

Great post. Made my day. Thank you for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55