Lessons From The Kitchen Sink

in #life7 years ago (edited)

lessons.jpg

Today I finally got around to tackling the kitchen, after leaving it to demise, whilst my Steemit debauchery continued.

I obviously washed up things as and when needed for cooking and eating, but that was the extent of my appearances in the kitchen, but now the twelve days of Christmas are over, it's back to face real life and getting things done and keeping on top of it.

Here is the shaming evidence of an unkempt kitchen:

kitchen before.jpg

Evidence of using every dish in the house...

IMG_20180106_213811.jpg

Obvious lessons are when you are not the greatest fan of housework (which I'm working on, you'll see in a moment) is do not leave it until it takes about three hours of hard intensive labor to clear it all up.

Little and often is the key and daily housework is the discipline mission I have set myself to master and make a habit this January, to add to my daily Steemit posting that I have completed for over a month now and will continue to do so. One successful habit formed, now onto the next one.

And somehow we are already on day 6 of January! How did that happen? I need to get my skates on.

Over Christmas, I bought myself a self-hypnosis mp3 called the "Joy of Housework" and I listened to it today, whilst I cleaned the kitchen and to my surprise, it actually helped and even now a few hours later, I'm actually feeling quite positive about housework, so will definitely listen to that daily whilst doing my half hour (or more) of housework each day.

I have to admit I was very skeptical when I first listened. And cracked up at laughing at affirmations such as "its okay if your house is not perfect all the time" and "I really enjoy cleaning the toilet", but it was just my untidy soul protesting too much at the improvements I want to make in my life.

Then the subject changed from housework to things like about being special from the moment you were born and being quietly confident and a having a reason for living.

I had to check I was still I was listening to the right MP3 and I wondering why and what this had to do with housework and mentioned it on the Berserkers - (an elite daily self-improvement discord group) and got kindly reminded that it had everything to with housework, as you can't get stuff done when the house is in disarray, it is too distracting.

And why not improve your mind whilst doing the housework by listening to something useful and beneficial that makes you feel good about yourself and what you are doing.

This is what the kitchen looked like after...
kitchen after.jpg

And yes that is my January is about, adding more good habits to build on being the best version of me and there will always be something more than I can add to that.

If you like the sound of these self-hypnosis MP3s, they have something for almost everything you could ever want to achieve, here is an (affiliate) link to their catalog. Everything is $1 each until end of tomorrow (7th January 2018) :

Self Hypnosis to Change Your Life

separator.png

**More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower

Free daily crypto, that if it takes off we'll all be laughing: Swift Coins**

Sort:  

@hopehuggs... I sooooo need to do that to my garage! Congrats on checking your kitchen off your list!

I still have the bedrooms to do, then its mission keep on top of it.

Hi @hopehuggs,

Housework is essential, because it's your
home and where you live.

Thanks :)

Yes, I am beginning to try and take pride in it.

Mmm don't tell my wife about self hypnosis. She might put that in my ear while I'm in a deep sleep ;)

What one do you think she would pick?

Probably the cleaning one.

The fastest way I think you can maintain your kitchen and its utensils is to clean up immediately after use. I'm not a fan of house chores though but maintaining the kitchen is essential.

@princeyk #shalom

Sure is. I am going to like housework, I'm forcing myself.

I could partner you, you know.. Lolz

Wanna come clean mine...lol

No lol!

Yes, if you could upvote me.

Those affirmations really help me too but I find that if I can hear what they're saying I can choose to ignore them lol I've been using subliminals I find on youtube that have the same types of affirmations but you can't really hear them so that the conscious mind doesn't fight them. Good job on the clean kitchen :-)

We talked about different affirmations too, I'm really intrigued by the backwards ones.

You had your work cut out for you but what a great job @hopehuggs, looking spic and span! :)

And it is still looking spic and span three days later - I'm improving.

Impressive results!

I try to use a one-touch method as far as possible.

For example when I have used a cutting knife, rather than putting it by the sink (1), later washing it and putting it on the drying rack (2), and then later drying it and putting it away (3). I try to wash, dry and put it away as soon as I have finished using it.

Nothing builds up that way.

(Well that's the theory anyway...)

My plan is to maintain the tidiness by it being the first task that I do after I've dropped kids off at school. They tried breakfast club this morning as I had to leave early and I'm sorely tempted to add more days, so I have an extra hour.

Sounds like a good plan. The Breakfast Club was a great movie - I am sure the kids can watch it more than once 😊

Do and make everything that makes you happy :) and this was a great example of that :D

Could you explain Steemfollower a bit to me?

You earn points for upvoting others and in turn people vote for you. You have to do a minimum of 5 votes a day (I do mine at 5% VP) and you get a lot of votes back. Here is a good recent video that explains...

Sweet. Thanks for the info!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59511.68
ETH 2613.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39