I am relearning how to cry

in #life8 years ago

When I was younger, I was often shamed for tears. They were considered weakness, and I was an embarrassment for exhibiting weakness publicly and privately. I was often sad or overwhelmed and fell to pieces at the drop of a hat. Add to that the pressure not to feel and my tears were very nearly squeezed into diamonds.

As an adult and mother I choose not to shame my children. Tears are jewels, a communication that help is needed. Or in the case of happiness, sometimes that help is found. I don't think it possible to overstate the value of tears.

I often wonder if this is a kneejerk response of mine, push back against the beatings and verbal abuse I received for having a tender heart. If it is and I am wrong, I'm happier for it. Seeing my children cry instead of "manning" or "toughening" up is an amazing experience. They are liberated beyond my historical restrictions; they are allowed to feel the full spectrum of emotion. This makes them better community members, leaders and people in general.


There are enough emotionally damaged bosses in the world.

I no longer cry easily. It's frustrating. Crying is scientifically shown to be a healthy release for the mind and body. Having the tears locked inside with no place to go is painful. It contributes to my anxiety and depression. When I'm at my worst, I sit on my bed and wonder what is wrong with me. Why can't I relax? Why can't I let go?

I've noticed the times that it is easiest to cry are when I am driving and my thoughts wander or I walk past a crying child. A sympathetic response is triggered in the latter case. Perhaps what I need is a crying circle. Does such a thing exist?

This is an area of myself I am working on. Frequent tears, for me, are the sign of an open heart. That is what I am working toward.

Sort:  

I love crying. Is that bad? lol

I think it's wonderful!

Crying Is Healthy
Release Of Emotions,
True.
We Have Tears For A Reason.

beautiful beautiful words to post more than one will think felicidade thank you very much

We could always start our own crying circle:) I will for sure cry with you! Mostly I just cry when I am angry and alone, but it is a better release than medication for anxiety or depression. My mother always stopped us from crying and that is the main reason why I don't cry a lot. Parents do not always give the best advice....I have taught my children to cry about things that matter and they should show their feelings. Needless to say I have very well- balanced children. Not nearly as screwed up as their mother. Happy crying!

Perhaps we should! It is great to read you taught your children a different way.

I cry easily now too, but It wasn't always like that. I used to be just as sensitive, but I hid it and tried to be tough. I held in my tears both of joy and of sadness. But then I had a transformative experience a couple of years ago with my man and everything changed. He appreciates and supports my crying now. Sounds weird, huh? We've just both realized that the tears are a sign that you are really getting close to something inside that's real. That's the genuine stuff that needs to be said, or felt, expressed or resolved. Cheers to tears!

"I'll give you something to cry about." That's what I remember from when I was small and my parents would whip me for crying. Thanks for the reminder that I no longer live there and can cry if I want. Usually I'd rather laugh though.

During a particularly bad period in my life, I would go out on back roads in my car at night and scream. It helped. I also found long runs to be a good way to release tears.

crying comes naturally when one loses a child.... time only lessens the frequency

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33