How romance novels brought me sexual healing and happiness

in #life8 years ago

Marrying my husband was the greatest stupid decision I ever made. Let me explain.

I was raised in an abusive, conservative religious home. My parents taught me that I was dirty and bad because I was female. Essentially, women are the scourge of the earth because of their sexual ability to bring men to their knees. We are Kryptonite to the man's otherwise supernatural sexual control. I was taught that men are born strong and dominant because they are equipped with all powerful magic wands . . . ahem . . . penises. Women are born flawed. They have holes. I wish this was fiction.


Actually, I was not allowed to show my knees.

In my last post, I wrote about the way I used romance novels to learn about my body. I was never given a proper sexual education. I was taught to receive, that I was a catcher's mitt for male desire. It was made clear to me through threats and physical violence that should I ever engage a man other than the one I married sexually, I would be kicked out of my home after being beaten where I would be left for hypersexual men to prey on me. I was told men have a sixth sense about deflowered girls, so they would know immediately that I was easy and they would come for me and it would be my fault.

I was also told my only hope would be to get pregnant by one of the men who raped me and be able to prove it so they would be forced to financially care for me.

Forget being an intelligent young woman with talents outside being born with a vagina. I was a stupid siren who deserved bad experiences.

Marriage was the way out.

I was extremely lucky to have stumbled across my husband in high school. While his background was significantly different than mine, he loved me and we worked together to find a way our marriage could be allowed. He ended up converting to my sect and demonstrating to my parents that he was a capable and devoted caretaker. Together, we petitioned them to allow us to marry. I'm still not sure how it happened, but it did. We got married in our teens. It was stupid and reckless and the only way we could see to get me out of a house where I was being abused.

I am not the only woman I know who did this. Allowing me to marry was my parents' way of giving the responsibility of me to someone else. Now, if I failed, my failures were my husband's to tend and would weigh him down in the afterlife. At this point, you may be starting to understand why I no longer believe in God and have a strong dislike for religion. Every hateful belief of my parents, while not a result of their religion, was reinforced by it.

I brought their indoctrination to my marriage. I can attest that nothing makes for a less exciting sex life than the belief that a woman is meant to spread her legs and wait while her husband gets the job done. As a couple, we were both saddened. I was afraid of sex. I had no desire because my intuitive understanding of the act had been squashed. There was no such thing as connection or intimacy. I was a tool for a man's pleasure. Fortunately for me, my husband's love was genuine, as was his desire for intimate connection.

I was afraid when he asked for more. That fear led me to a therapist and then romance novels. Why the books? My therapist said that sex was natural and meant to be enjoyable. When I mentioned some of the fantasies I had that I believed to be dark and horrific (multiple partners, being overpowered or tied up, whipping my partner, etc), she told me there were entire books written about these fantasies and encouraged me to explore them. Maybe if I read about others enjoying sex, I could chip away are the wall of damage my parents had built around the topic.

Reading the books was a very guilty pleasure. It was terrifying to be aroused by the actions in the stories. It took an enormous amount of work and about three years of reading before I stopped feeling ashamed and began responding to my own desires. Romance novels truly offered me a sexual education. One I doubt I would have received if I hadn't recklessly married as a teen to escape my family.

Sort:  

I must say, I was raised with a similar view of sex and sexuality. But I rebelled. Hard. I didn't marry, but I moved out at 19. I am openly pansexual, polyamorous and kinky.

I think that erotic literature, as well as online support groups, were a great help in helping me understand and accept my sexuality and let go of the guilt that was ingrained in me by my mother.

My main problem with the majority of mainstream erotica is that it's, well, unrealistic and boring to me. It's not easy finding the good stuff. I think you should make a list in your next post on the subject.

Thank you for sharing this! I can definitely make a list. I think the key is that parts are realistic. My favorite erotica features magic in some form, which is unrealistic. I am most drawn to human connections and the emotional story around sex. What I like about your novel is that the approach is shame-free. What a beautiful way to explore sex!

amazing story thanks for sharing, I like what you've written congratulations

I am truly saddened to hear another abuse story at the hands of religious fundamentalists. I'm glad you found a way to work through it and move past it though. No one deserves to be brow-beaten simply for how they are.

I agree. Thank you. I appreciate your voice on this issue.

This was a very moving story! I'm glad that you got past your fear. By writing about your experience , and sharing it, you motivate others to tackle their fears.

I hope so, @dcat! Thank you.

After the darkest night always comes a brighter day, thank you for sharing your inspiring journey.

Brave and enlightening words..Thank you

Reading the books was a very guilty pleasure.

I don't get it how reading erotic books can be any kind of sin.
I've studied the Holy Bible as a book and I don't have any clue, how sex can be considered a sin from any including religious perspective. That's some kind of global misunderstanding.

I don't either.

Reminds of how my friend justified cheating on his wife: "Guys fuck girls. Girls are fucked by guys."

Wut.

O_o That is . . .

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

excellent post, thank you for sharing your story!! I too wish the realities women have dealt with were fiction; I'm also so glad you can see and think so clearly about yourself, our society and the happenings in your life! This is a heartening post for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61292.26
ETH 3430.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51