A Letter to Pakistan

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Salam wale kum mere Bhaiyo, Kaise hain aap sab?

Today I am writing to discuss something from past. I would like to talk about "Letters", yes you read it right "Letters"! It had been a long when we used to write letters to each other. We used to wait for the Postman.

He was an important part of our society. He witnessed our happiness, excitement, sorrows. I remember the kind of excitement I used to see on my mom's face whenever postman rang our doorbell. That was an amazing era but now internet had conquered all. All those personal, sensitive emotions we felt while reading letters from our beloved ones is a talk of the past. Long gone are the days when we used to feel the emotions through hand written words. Today's generation will not undersatnd the excitement we used to get from reading those letters over and over. The emotions we used to go through at the sight of that postman on our door.

Who writes letter now? Along with letter, gone is the era of pen friends. My mother told me that she had a pen friend from Mumbai. My mother used to work at Jullundher Radio station and she used to play Drama's. She had a fan and he used to write letters to my mother, praising her voice and the expressions she used to deliver while playing the drama. It must be very exciting in those times. Our previous generation was lucky , for they lived a way more simple life then us. They had very few sources of entertainment but they were happy. Way more happier than us.

I love letters. I still have letters of my relatives, written to my family. I read them when I am bored or if i wish to relive those times. I have decided that I will start writing letters. If not on paper then on laptop but whom I will write it to? This was a very big question for me. Do i write this letter to my family? They barely read my articles, then where they will find time to read my letters. They are fast people. So, this idea got rejected. To my friends! No, I do not think that they would be able to value my letters. We are a generation of Facebook, Twitter. They will laugh at me.

Then I came with an idea that if I want to write a letter then why not write it to someone, who is very close to me, yet so far. Who is just like another me but. Who is as sensitive as I am. Who is as emotional as I am. In short, who is identically myself. I will write my letters to my Pakistan. I am saying my Pakistan because once we were one family. We are the sons of same land. I am Indian then how can I forget my Indus river. For thouands of year it helped my forefathers to develope a society and gave us a recognition. Some elders divided the house and now they are living seperately and have become my neighbours but still they are my people. I know we have had a lot of bitter experiences but guys quarrels happen in joint families and they get resolved too.

My Pakistani brothers and sisters, I will write to you. I will talk to you about us. I will talk to you about what's happening on this side of the house. I will like to know about you too. If any of you wants to reply to me then you are most welcome. I will not talk about politics. You are our neighbours now and I reject all mediaters in between us. I wil talk to you with my emotions. Only emotions can build a bridge in between these two brothers who have now become neighbours.

Everything is good here in India. We feel that as a country, we are in a transforming age. We have progressed very swiftly in various departments. I think the best decission we all made was to elect our present Prime Minister. You must have seen that internationally we have grown a lot. I hope you also remember the decade of 80's and 90's when we were nothing but another country on the map. Now it has all changed. The world is taking us seriously now. I hope you must have heard or read about it in Newspapers. We have a very positive economic growth, Our infrastructure is developing very rapidly. Did you hear that we are building Bullet Train stations now! It's going to run in between Mumbai and Ahmedabad. Maglev Trains are on proposal and may be within next year or two, we will start working on them as well.

I would love to hear about you guys. I heard that very soon you will complete your Metro train project. Congratulations in advance. We are happy that you are progressing too. You know, I am little shy in expressing myself. This is the very first letter I am writing after school :) But now I will keep writing to you guys and will tell you all about us and what's happening around.

That's all for now. I will keep writing you now. I feel attached to the land of my ancestor when I write to you guys. Remember one thing that no matter what happens but you guys are always going to live in our hearts.

Yaaro, I hope that you still remember us like we do. Kon Hindu Kon Muslim? Ramzaan ka mahina hai, aapki Edi ka intazaar rahega

Aapka Apna

Honey Chum


Join us on Discord: https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Sort:  

I also think it is a pity that people no longer write letters @honeychum. All the modern social history is just being lost.

When I was travelling, in the days before the internet, one of the most exciting things was turning up in a new country and going straight to the Post Office to collect my letters. It was so much more fun that checking emails or texts.

And it was so exciting to get a surprise letter on the door mat. Now it's just birthday or Christmas cards and even some of those arrive electronically.

This is something from the past that I think is very sad to have been lost! 😢

I agree with you, buddy. Those letters, not only had words but they carried emotions. Sometimes, in emotional letters, u could see marks of tears. As many times we read those letters we would dive into the stream of emotions. Those were the times but long gone :( @gillianpearce

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I appreciated your emotions for my country peoples and yesh you're right letters is express the inner feelings but this way have gone in past time.
well I don't like politics so i can't say anything about it, you can ask me about anything else :-)

It's a communal discussion over those pleasant memories. I do not like politics as well but there is nothing political about this letter. In fact, it's social. It's an attempt to bridge the gap in between two societies. @sanach (My friend)

I love this letter, I really learn from it, even though it is not meant for my country but there is a no words that doesn't benefit people. In the life there is always pleasant and unpleasant experience, all of it, is just to prepare us and make us stronger in thinking and realized what to do now that will surely influence our future. I enjoyed reading it.

Thanks a lot my friend. I was confused initially that should i write it or not but honestly i was excited to write. Thanks for reading it buddy. I really appreciate it. @adeyemidrey

Its same, long time ago we always feeling exited when a postman come with letter, and so extraordinary when we have a pen friendship.

But now we only exited if a postman come with the goods that have ordered from online shop.

true! We have lost many things with time. Postman is one of them. :(

Thats right @honeychum nice to follow you
Regard from indonesian steemit community

Regards to you from India :) and SteemBulls community. https://discord.me/SteemBulls

As usual wonderful post. Hopefully, someone from Pakistan will get to see your post and reply with the same warmth. I still remember writing letters to my boyfriend when there were no mobile phones. with the sight of postman only I used to get butterflies in my stomach.Those were beautiful days.

Indeed, they were! @shagungupta

Source
Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

If anyone from Pakistan see ur post They Will Happy From Your post i will thank You from afghanistan That You show Love for Pakistan @honeychum

I love Afghanistan too buddy. We grew up reading stories about Kabul. I can never forget the story of Kabuliwaala. You guys live in our heart. :)

this latter is important for life,, its supper post

Thanks a lot buddy @tipu77 I appreciate your feedback . :)

U are amazing sir. U rememberd everyone about the past history of letter. But in this generation u are the only people who remember this.
Pakistan was not only ur neighbour,They were our neighbors. But unfortunately we are now totally different.Now we are completely different without the religion.

Religion is not the point here buddy. This letter is simply the expression of my feelings toward my brothers on the other side of the line.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50