My Steemit story - Where am i?

in #life6 years ago

When people say that Steem is a gateway drug to cryptocurrency I believe them, why? because I was one of those that actually joined Steemit a little more than a year ago and being completely oblivious to what cryptocurrency even was.

I still remember, one of my Spaniard friends started blogging on this mysteries site called "Steemit". Usually, he blogged in Spanish but now, suddenly English?! So I went in and read his amazing post. I personally just started on my first bike tour ever and were sitting in a Hostel somewhere in the Czech Republic when I decided to ask him what this Steemit was all about and eventually check it out myself.

A few days later I had myself a brand new Steemit account... Now what?
44667533_164335507845266_218454298806190080_n.jpg


from 0 to hero


When I wrote my first post that by the way, was my first writing experience. I didn't know anything so basically, it was just a collum of bland text and a bunch of grammar errors. No pictures, nothing. I actually felt a bit ashamed nobody recognize my work. I Imagined people coming in reading it and laughing at me their way out and I wanted to hide away.

It was a shame because excited because I really felt I shared something great but **no reaction from anyone, nothing but my own 0.1cent upvote was sitting there.

What the hell did I do wrong?

I came to the conclusion that zero pictures might not be so attractive to people and I should probably put in some more of those tags everyone else was using. Also, I started looking at other peoples posts and I quickly realized I made a boring post with little to offer. I also Improved my gramma a bit, since I am not native in English these things didn't come as natural to me.

So I tried again!

My Second post ever made became a huge success! I could not believe my eyes that I actually made 83 dollars on a single post! WOW. Of course, back then, I didn't know what a whale was and it is obvious now, that I was just a bit lucky(or was I?). Actually looking back, it was @curie that voted my post, can you imagine that?

So I made a couple of other posts over the next week but to my "surprise" nothing happened, again. I was like,

"yo, where did all my fans go?"

1 week later @curie upvoted me again, this time I got an upvote that now reached 260 dollars! I did start to suspect someone wanted me to stay on Steemit... So I kept writing.

44573197_1940649302905189_9203355702549020672_n.jpg


Time flies by: A hundred posts later...


Back then when I joined Steemit was different. Whales were the important curators and bidbots was not existing. I gotta admit although it was not perfect that a handful of people decided who went to the trending pages, it felt better than the current bid-bot system.

I have by now been on Steemit almost 1 and a half year. Documenting all kind of posts here on Steemit. from Denmark to Greece on my bike, falling in love, living in Romania, cycling Denmark to Romania and just simply exploring and enjoying life to the fullest, all with the help from Steemit. So many things happened since I joined here and I have been here to blog it all.

Throughout my posts, I had varied success from posts that almost gave nothing to big explosions of payouts. By now I know what Steemit and Steem is all about and also know a dozen of other cryptocurrencies out there, I guess I am starting to be a veteran?

I also started investing a little myself into Steem because I thought "If I got so addicted to it, probably others will also?".

44575437_539060973210705_6920430574402273280_n.jpg


My own Steemit story brings A short message to everyone: quality matters!


I feel like I lost a little track of myself a few times and started giving in for the "shitposting". Because why should I care whe nobody liked my work? But time and time again it has proven that writing quality posts are the way to go here.

Looking back on my Steemit story this is the case over and over. Every time I decided to dedicate myself to my posts, they eventually ended up being worth it. Every time I started doing short, "shitposts" as we like to call them, nothing happened and never will.

I know It is not what is shown on the trending pages so it is hard to agree upon. But this is from my own evaluation of posting almost every day for more than a year(with a few breaks here and there).

But it is the truth that you will not have progress if you don't apply yourself.

It does not seem so but there's a reason why so many people who chose quantity over quality that are now complaining about why they are not getting anywhere.

Maybe not all your posts will get recognized but certainly, some of them will if you keep persisting, that is something I personally have proven through my own experience blogging on Steemit.

If you liked my little Steemit story you should go and write your own! Thank you @slobberchops for starting this little funny "Our Steemit stories" I hope you liked mine!


Don't expect your posts to get attention but make sure they are worth the attention

-holm


All pictures are taken by me.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Bloody Hell, $260... I haven't been past $50 EVER, and besides this your 2nd breached my target that I still have not reached. One day maybe... the good times will return.

I think it was a time where the big votes were rare but HUGE. So probably would never happen today on this scale since most voting goes through bid-bots now.

But back then when people didn't sell their votes, well let's just say I had a few big ones. :))

Posted using Partiko Android

It's curious to see on Steemit how people come and go, some of my friends who disapeared even had some nice payouts and excellent content. I wonder... why did they go? Is it the low payout? Did the hype pass? Are they travelling?

I liked your story and how Curie was a gigantic support, just like it was for me too!

Yeah I agree, I met a lot of great people here on Steemit and like 90% of them have stopped by now.

It's a shame! Yeah Curie was certainly a good support back then for me, (without I even knew it lol).

i still Remember the day when i left this platform at first because it was so new to me for understanding and having no knowledge about cryptocurrency at all but i am glad at that time i was free so gave it another shot and till now have never taken a leave hahah :D steemit has changed many lifes :)

Haha, I am glad you got such encouragement when starting out. My first post took me like 3 hours to make because I couldn't find any pictures to start with. I got a total of 6 votes and $0.12. I actually reposted that introductory post somewhat recently.

My second post I also put a good amount of effort into and got exactly $0.00 for (I also re-posted this one a while ago).

I got annoyed and kind of gave up after that. I started posting about once a month or so, until about 4 months ago when I decided to just say screw it, and start putting some effort in. Starting about 3 months ago I began to post almost every day and have been ever since.

The point is, everyone's mileage will vary but if you put the effort and hard work in, eventually it will pay off! For a couple of months I started to use bit-bots and it helped me get a lot of traction, but I was really being ignored by the larger players. Since I stopped using them (thanks to your advice), I have recently been getting a lot of high level followers.

So yes, quality, thoughtful and interesting posts with your own twist and personality will get you far - but not always immediately. The key is persistence!

Ahh really? That's super cool result bro! Yeah for some reason when I stopped using bid-bots some specific people started giving me attention, I guess that's just how it is! You won't get many but instead might get a few more "influential" supporters!

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.351 which ranks you at #2394 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 294 places in the last three days (old rank 2688).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 405 contributions, your post is ranked at #107.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47