Hello World! Looking forward to joining this fascinating community.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello, fellow Steemit enthusiasts! My name is Rick Nuthman. I am a computer programmer; specifically a game developer living in San Pedro, Los Angeles California.

This is my goofy dog, Harvey:

IMG_3871.JPG

Harvey likes to help with whatever we are doing at the time. Most of the time he does this by just looking cute. I have lived all over the world, but for some reason I keep coming back to southern California. I think I just really like the predictable weather. It practically never rains!

IMG_0339.JPG

We get a nice Peek-a-Boo view of Catalina island. Too bad it's tarnished by all the ugly power lines! Harvey certainly likes it. He gets to bark at the blimp when it goes by.

IMG_0364.JPG

Some days we get a nice clear view, while other days the island is completely obscured by clouds and haze.

IMG_0360.JPG

We used to enjoy taking the dogs down to the beach at Trump Golf course, but the owner (now President) essentially got a local law passed to disallow dogs on the beach. It's too bad because now we have to take the pup all the way to Long Beach!

harvey.jpg

Ok, enough pictures of my dog. He is actually in Newmarket England right now with his grandfather - my girlfriend's father! Sadly, his wife recently passed away and Harvey is keeping him company. We go to the UK quite often. Sometimes we stay up to 6 months, keeping my father in law company. We love going down to the allotment to attend to the garden. It's quite easy to grow things in England with all the constant rain!

IMG_4657.JPG

The allotment is also a great place to stop and have a bit to eat!

Each time we go to the UK, we try to visit as many places as well can. Here I am being 'pensive' at Stonehenge.

IMG_5376.JPG

We always meet a lot of interesting characters, like this.... witch woman? I have no idea.

IMG_5426.JPG

Whatever she was doing, she was serious about it. A few years back we went down to St. Ives in Cornwall. From there we visited a lot of interesting locations. Here I am at Land's End:

IMG_6181.JPG

The next place was quite interesting. I don't normally visit gardens on purpose, but my father in law is really in to gardening so we went to the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Talk about a huge garden! This place has it all. It is very well looked after. I'd highly recommend giving it a visit.

146.JPG

Some of the trees are incredible. They also grow a large variety of edible veggies.

052.JPG

There are also ducks everywhere!

113.JPG

Another amazing place is The Eden Project. This place is huge! They have built giant bio-domes each containing an entire eco-system from various parts of the world. One minute you are in Africa in a climate controlled environment, the next you are in Malaysia!

IMG_5796.JPG

That was a view of the domes from the outside. The picture doesn't do justice to the scale of this place.

IMG_5661.JPG

The array of exotic flowers is beautiful!

IMG_5660.JPG

I was having a great time with my camera.

IMG_5720.JPG

I really loved this wacky scarecrow. It's all kinds of weird.

IMG_5787.JPG

And not much could top this crazy sculpture. It's as if someone wanted to build a robot, but had no electronics skills.

IMG_5634.JPG

Another cool place we visited was the Minack Theatre. This hidden gem was closed for the season, but when it is open for business, they do Shakespeare plays right there on the stone stage. I would love to go back someday and watch a show!

IMG_6007.JPG

Here I am with zero acting ability.

IMG_6032.JPG

Here's a view of the stage from the stone bleachers.

IMG_6012.JPG

Another interesting place to visit is St. Michael's Mount. Each day the water recedes and you can walk to the island completely dry.

IMG_5816.JPG

There is a lot of interesting stuff to look at in the castle. The family actually still lives in the castle and they have parts blocked off that are private and off limits.

IMG_5848.JPG

IMG_5861.JPG

As the tide comes in, the water completely covers the once dry beach and you have to take a boat to get back to shore.

IMG_5975.JPG

IMG_5969.JPG

I have to say though, my favorite place in England is where my girlfriend's family live, in Newmarket, Suffolk. Like most of England it is very green and beautiful. It's a horse racing town, so everything is horse themed around town. We love going for walks on the horse racecourse tracks.

track1.jpg

The horses are very well looked after. Their coats look amazing!

horse1.jpg

horse2.jpg

Of course Harvey loves it too!

harvey2.jpg

But then, of course, he needs his bath :(

IMG_0528.JPG

We also enjoy taking a Carnival cruise whenever we get a chance. Although I love to 'rough it' travel, sometimes it's really nice to just get on a ship and visit exotic places while having everything taken care of for you. I have to say, I really enjoy cruising.

cruise1.jpg

20161011_092331.jpg

Ok, now this has become less of an introduction, and more of a photo gallery of my trips. Oh well. Here's more.

20161009_160738.jpg

This is from a hiking trip in Mexico. The village is called Tomatlan. It is quite a walk, but great exercise!

14705706_10154650576443336_2619111478024701013_n.jpg

And my favorite part, of course is the food. I seriously love me some enchiladas.

20161011_105549.jpg

Oh, I forgot to mention. I am also a huge sci fi fan. While we were in the UK last year, we drove all the way to Cardiff to see the Doctor Who experience. We also visited several sites where the show Torchwood was filmed.

20160107_114443.jpg

I finished off the day with this beauty:

20160106_203331.jpg

Ok, I think this story is quite long enough. I hope you enjoyed it! I'm looking forward to reading and sharing lots of content. Have fun, and don't take life so seriously. I don't... Just look at my hobby. Can anyone guess my age?

IMG_2456.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @nuthman I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks! I am still learning my way around, but the community seems awesome!

Nice to meet you, @nuthman! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Hey, thanks! Glad to be here.

Hey, thanks! It's a great site with some great people. Having fun so far.

How are you? Nuthman, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Hey! Thanks for the welcome. I'm looking forward to seeing what everyone has to offer.

Welcome to Steemit. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading!

@nuthman Welcome to steemit! Remember this portal is for the patient ones. You won't get noticed right away unless you're lucky but just believe in yourself and know that hard work is bound to get noticed sooner or later! Do follow me @samhenry.

Thanks for the welcome! I haven't had much time to look around, but it is a lot of fun so far.

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Yeah, I am mostly here to read and contribute however I can. If i make a few bucks that's cool but not necessary. Thanks for the tips. I will try to think of some intersting tpoics to write about.

Hello and Welcome! Nice to meet you! Thanks for join

Thanks! I'm glad to be here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68586.22
ETH 3911.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63