Henry Gant, Man About Town. This Episode: Eating.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Yep, I'm going to do it.
I'm going to tell you how to eat. I have to . . . You are doing it wrong.

Now, I hate being told what to do. So much so that I became the 'Teller what to do person" in my profession, because I wouldn't listen to anyone. And it may not have been because I knew what I was doing . . . although I did rewrite the book on many of the procedures.

Now I'm doing it again on how to eat.

Know that I have many choice words on the subject, and that curse words/expletives are used by persons who fail to understand an adequate vocabulary. And when I chose to use such a word it's for shock value and to get a person to remember what I am talking about.

So here it goes:

Rats die when they are feed carbohydrates sooner that rats who are not fed carbohydrates. (Mostly protein diet)

Carbohydrates . . . just think Sugar.

I was taught very early in life that sugar is a dark crystal.
I do not allow sugar in my house.

Cola. I see Cola.
Whenever I see cola I wonder how anyone could drink sugar flavored syrup. Cola is a slow death.
death.jfif
death cola image found on the internet by others.

That goes for cake, cupcakes, and pies.

I gained a lot of weight this year because I drank gallons of a sports drink at my job. I ate normal and gained weight every week. WTF? Then I read the ingredients of the sports drink . . . mostly sugar.

If you want to live a healthy and long life . . . cut out the bread . . . carbohydrates and sugar.

Eat beets . . . rutabagas -instead of potatoes- And avoid cola like the poison that it is.

This has been . . . Henry Gant, "Eat Hoter'sville rutabagas."

H. G.

Sort:  

But I agree my dear friend I have stropped drinking cola only when there is a party and nothing else but I limit it. I am also watching my sugar. Especially after what happened to my cousin I am being extra careful, I have to see my grandson and maybe she will get to see her granddaughter if she gets better. I think there is no harem in advising. So Yes I agree to what you said and I do feel better after less to no rice (I get hypo and being diabetic I also need to watch my sugar does not go down). Thank you dear friend just saw your generous help no at least I have reached more than half my goal. My grandson will have his party.

Yes, I think if people would just stop drinking soda . . . many lives would improve.

I love sugar. I love sweets! We have a history of diabetes in the family but I still drank cola, ate pies and cakes in my heart's content. But, recently, I stopped. Health problems. Then, I got thinner. It's a good thing and a bad one. It's a good thing 'cause I'm not heavier for my height now, but I can't eat the food I used to love eating. (A lot changed when I changed my diet.)

Energy. When I retired early . . . this February (wish me luck) I was still eating like a hard working person.
Short story: Breads and other high carbo food will make a person hungry and if you/me are predisposed to diabetes, then it becomes more important to change our diet. Studies show that Carbohydrate diets are an early killer.
Yeah, I think having two pizza's a year is fine! As a reward for being a very good boy. lol.

We recently cut out soda here. First reason was because of the health and second for the price increase. ☺️

yes, I agree..we really have to limit our sugar intake...but why is so hard???? 😂 I really love cakes, soda etc...I guess I should really control myself

The human body is not designed to process raw sugar. It will kill us. I don't want you to die.

H. G.

yeah...I always teach my children about it in school...yet I sometimes cannot control myself..too bad for me...😭😭😭

Good heavens! That explains my ceaseless weight gain too.

I was amazed . . . I could not lose weight. I'm a thin person inside.

It was the bread . . . the pasta . . . the chocolate bars.
I started to eat only . . . I say only (but it opens up so many foods.) greens . . spinach . . . meat . . . and the best . . rutabagas and beets. I'm losing weight . . . I might even work out now.

I am an avid fan of chocolate cakes as I am a sweet tooth. Although for chocolates I prefer dark ones. But still the body needs an ample amount of sugar to be able to produce energy right?

I never ate sweets until recently . . . I figure I was now old enough to have some chocolate when I wanted it.
Was I ever wrong, I may as well have been eating spoons full of surgar. Sugar will keep a person hungry. When I stopped . . . my constant hunger went away. And that has been the best thing.

Our body uses either sugar/glucose or Fat as energy . . . which do you want . . . to burn fat or to store fat. It takes longer to produce energy from protein . . . which is why it is more modulated in our system than the sudden rush of surgar.

Well said Henry, plus there are so many good things to eat and drink in the world that fill you with energy and good health too. Cola actually melts brain tissue and I don’t mind who knows it 😆 And it’s so easy to live without it. On the rare occasions I tasted it as a child it literally made me gag cough and splutter. My body just physically rejected it. How lucky! Bread is another habit people get into but easy to get out of again. I believe in fresh fruit and veg with a smattering of wholesome cereals, nuts and seeds. You can eat as much as you want and never gain weight and always be full of energy and clear thought. Natural sweetness and honey of course over sugar always. The recipe for a good long healthy life. I applaud you for your post. I personally find it hard to talk people out of their addictions but I can’t stop trying 👏👏👏

Thank you @sallybeth23, it is the energy level that is the warning sign of a poor diet.
Greens, and other . . . rabbit food give a person energy and take away the hunger.
Amazingly tasteful. In all my years I have never eaten a beet or a rutabaga, until last month. Wow! Together . . . they are better than cake.

I actually made a chocolate cake with beets and raw chocolate recently — so amazing you would be surprised by it I think 😉 raw dark chocolate actually lowers cholesterol too so we can enjoy the right things ,just not adulterated by the man who piles in sugar to EVERYTHING these days... almost all processed foods contain sugar whether they need it or not ... and so comes weakness and obesity.

Nah! I am gaining weight since I stopped dancing as well. This is a big help sir @henry-gant! Whenever I am excreting energy, I am like a zombie running for a piece of sugar, or a gallon rather. Hehe! Thanks for the sweet reminder. Let's be a water lover!

Water is good food Neihy05. I have been busy, so I no longer have time to cook as much as I used too.
I'm sure this is a good thing because now I have to eat quickly and simply. Eggs. Boiled. They are quick and easy in salads. lots of leafy greens every day.
Cutting out the carbohydrate has lead to nice weight-loss, and cutting out sugar/fructose means I'm not hungry all the time. (sugar/fructose, inhibits the feeling of 'having enough')
Thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89