🤔What Happens When You Take Away Food From a Food Blogger Fanatic? 🤔

in #life6 years ago

Would you give up food for 3 whole days? Willingly?

I've committed to a 72 hour water fast - don't worry, I'm a trained professional and no one is going to get hurt in this process! Except, Steemit is killing me because I follow like alllll foodies so it's kind of making me crazy hungry!


me fasting.jpg


Due to a large drain on my mental capacity as I weather these hours, I'm not going to give you the nutritionist side of things just yet- I'll follow up with that part so if you haven't heard of fasting, you'll be able to see the benefits and why I would choose to give up my beloved foods...

On that note...

Have you seen what I have been creating lately? I just feel INTENSE PASSION to make desserts. Half of the time I don't even finish the first batch before I get a crazy idea for the next. DAMN IT, I'm thinking and talking about food again... this happens a lot when fasting, at least in my little head...

Come into my head with me for a moment for a full crash course like some Magic School Bus episode ;)


IMG_1101 (2).JPG


Here we have a mocha-chocolate cheesecake that is vegan, gluten free and most importantly a tiny energizer bunny due to the coffee included- it's amazing! You can see the recipe if you click here!


See my life's work? See my dilemma?

I mean what is a gal like me whose whole life revolves around the creation (and eating) of such beautiful food? I kind of feel like a lost puppy... what should I do with myself?

I go into the kitchen, rearrange some shelves, wipe down the counter... and then eventually leave, head hung down with so many ideas swirling around in my mind begging to be brought to life!

Like this:


IMG_1297 (4).JPG


This one was super lucky! I came into the kitchen and just started putting things onto the counter. I wanted to use my mint and I love mint chocolate ... all of a sudden the MOST INCREDIBLE nice cream bars were born! Lucky Leprechaun Mint Choco Nice Cream Bites just in time for St. Paddy's Day!
Here is the recipe!


Do you see what I mean?
This is my life and I am just more upset about not being able to create my magic than I am about the weird stuff going on in my body through my fast however....

So why would I do it? I can hear you asking me this!

Did you know that during a fast:

  • your body eliminates toxins resulting in clearer skin, clarity in eyes, increased sensitivity
  • weight loss occurs
  • your body is able to rebuild cells, fending off illnesses and even diseases
  • digestion improves (giving your system a break from processing allows it to clean)

All during a fast? Of course each body is different, the length of the fast plays a role as does the type of fast (I'm doing a water fast for example) but there are juice fasts, intermittent fasts and fruit fasts just to name a few others.

It's a whole world of not eating food for health which...

DUHN-DUHN-DUHN: Drum Roll Please!

Is why I am telling you about it! Right? I'm not just about stuffing your faces with (healthy) food! I also want to inspire the MOST health benefits possible and although I haven't got into the stats yet, I am telling you, a fast once in a while (let's not get crazy now) can provide incredible health benefits if done safely and knowledgeably!

I have done this several times before and I am safe and prepared to embark on such a journey! While I encourage you to give it a go, I also insist you start slow and steady try intermittent fasting first, maybe give up breakfast a couple of times and give your body that small break and work up to it.

It's important to prepare the body properly! Just jumping into a fast can be overwhelming to it and cause some problems so if you're ready and gung-ho to give it a go, first of all, I'd be happy to lend my experience but there is also a ton of research and resources out there to get you going!

Ok, I am going to finish this off with a quick run down of my first day schedule so you can see what it looks like!
I should note that I recommend fasting when you don't have anything important to do because the body can demand a lot of attention when it's processing (especially if you have a lot of buildup or toxins within!)

Day 1: Saturday

  • Wake up, stretch, drink LOTS of water. I took 2 big glasses.
  • 2 hours breathwork (that's another post but it requires breathing to help release buildup/emotions)
  • Drink 1 glass water.
  • Check online activity.
  • Drink more water.
  • Gym: stretching, movement, dancing, pulling the body in every way it will go. SO MUCH WATER!
    (I actually sweat my butt off, I worked so hard pushing through everything and had tons of energy!)
  • More water.
  • Write/read.
  • Water.
  • Break: movie (I was a little burnt out)
  • Water again.
  • Writing/reading.
  • Steemit post.
  • Water, water, water
  • Bed.

See how there can't be too much on there? At times I was full of energy and others I couldn't really think straight. Yesterday was overall one of the best fasting days I have had. I eliminate toxins quickly (sweating, knots etc) and so sometimes it can be really intense but yesterday was overall easy!


Symptoms:

  • Intense energy sparked by working out/moving/getting heart rate up
  • Dry mouth
  • Light fatigue later on in the day
  • Hazy thoughts around dinner
  • Emotional connection to missing the market (my favorite day of the week)
  • Cravings induced my looking at posts on here of delicious food!

So that was yesterday in a nutshell... today on the other hand... I don't know you guys. I'll have to check in with you after it's over. It's only morning now so let's see!
heart thing.png


I created another amazing dessert for my poppa peanut butter mousse when he was leaving and I really want to share it with you guys but I'm going to wait til I can eat so I don't just crack and break my fast! Hope you'll give me a break- the one I posted last night had me dreaming of chocolate and it makes it SO MUCH HARDER! ;)

If you don't know me, my passion is inspiring health through food, this is just another method. No one likes taking away food, it's embedded into our lives, our culture but what we grow and learn to like is how incredible the body feels after completion!

I'll keep you updated on how things go for me!

Until then,

Sending you love through (lack of) food ;)

XO,

hearttoheart signature.png

me sign off.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

I wish you a meaningful fast my friend! I have only ever done a 1-day juice fast, and that was tough as it is really difficult for me to set aside a day or more without work or other activity. :) Though I have tried to be more cognizant of having a longer overnight fast the last 6 months or so and have noticed a positive response in my digestion. It is definitely tough to look around on here without getting hungry!!

Thanks @plantstoplanks! I totally know what you mean- the schedule has GOT to be right in case the detox gets pretty crazy (as it did for me!) Water fasting is really beneficial but the first 2-3 days are brutal so it would be in my opinion down right impossible to do with a normal work schedule. I'm doing the longer over nights too, I think that helps a lot! This fast was pretty wild... I'll write about it but I detoxed like crazy and actually was pretty nervous haha 💖 I had to stay off of here that's for darn sure. I would have cracked in a heart beat!

We did a 3-day coconut water + water fast a few months ago... though we struggled with headaches, overall we felt so good..... last day in the afternoon was hard though to concentrate and get things done. Def will do this again in the near future xxxx

Coconut water fasts are really fun too! I like them because they give the body a bigger boost than just water! At the same time though, the sugars in them drive the system wild. I made it to 84 hours this time. The benefits really come full force they say after the third day so it's great if you can hold out but because it had been a while, I gave it to some papaya. SUPER beneficial though, I am going to keep it in practice 💖

Same here... once my parents are gone we are doing another fast too! So good for you! 84... is just wow!

Yes, definitely wait til your parents are not there haha I had to wait for my dad to leave! I don't imagine I would have lasted very long if he was here ;) So sweet you're getting family time as well <3 Enjoy it, it's so sad when it's over!

I just noticed your banner to upvote follow and comment, that is soo cute! You talked about intermediate fasting before, excited to hear you talk more about it

Awww thanks girl! 💖 Yes I remember sharing a bit about it waaaaay way back! I really think it's such a powerful thing that people just NEED to know about ;) I'm going to tell more about my experience soon but I was busy writing you the crazy drug stories ;)

Wow, I have fasted, but never that long. I think it would be hard to eat slow in that 73rd hour!

I got to 84 hours and then I had a bit of a papaya smoothie but to tell you the truth, I really wasn't famished or anything. You have to get past the hard parts which usually are before the third day and then it all kind of slows down and becomes normal haha but that is when the real work gets done ;) 💖

Congratulations!

Well. Good on you. I can't even imagine 3 days, longest I have gone is less than 2.

I'm glad you are using water and lots of it. I live in the desert and hydration protocol is necessary for life.

Best of luck to you. I don't want to start anything but I'm going to try your cheese recipe today. The almonds are soaked...

Awww you were so close! After the second day it really starts to become you, it slows down and the mind gets clearer as the wiggling in the tummy fades off ;)

I'm so happy to hear you tried the cheese! I just posted another recipe because after I was done fasting I went crazy making the most delicious food I probably have ever made in my life haha (couldn't stop thinking of recipes the whole dang time!) Let me know how it went for you! I'm so excited! 💖

Everyone should at least try water fasting for one time, it's really a strange and profound experience, for your mind and body.

You are so right! I think it can be really hard for some people with the elimination of toxins, it can make you tired and if they don't have much time off work, it can be a challenge to get the time to do it but the benefits are incredible! I wish that everyone could be able to experience it! 💖

every one need food. so do i. nice article...i vote you...^_^

Good luck! The longest I've fasted for is 36 hours and that was tough. Even the most seemingly boring vegetables taste so incredible after abstaining from food, it really makes you appreciate every mouthful 😊

Hey @lolzwithlisa :) I've done longer before but I know what you mean! Unfortunately the hardest parts are the beginning, you gotta get through the initial burn to get to the good stuff ;) In the end I made it 84 hours this time and then decided I wanted some papaya 💖

Fasting is an excelentway of eliminates toxins!
May the force be with you!

Yes I completely agree! We store a lot in our bodies that can be flushed out when we give it a break :)

Wow @heart-to-heart I wish you all the best in this fast. I think we all need to every do often. I want to try maybe for 1 day. or two. Eish , it would be hard. so much good vegan food to still try. good luck.

Haha it is hard! It's very hard but the good part is it gets easier as you go and the more you do it so it's kind of just a practice thing ;) we can do it together next time! 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88