A Twist in My Story

in #life5 years ago

I have just got done working a 12 hour shift and am pretty tired, but have some exciting news to share.

houses-1719055_1280.png
Source

My wife and I are working our way to become real estate investors!

She has been taking some classes and I have been picking up some extra time at work.

It Is A Big Leap

We will be taking a few more classes over the next few months getting into the meat and potatoes, the does and donts of how to succesfully flip, rent, whole sale, etc. Investment properties.

She has rennovated 2 homes and a kitchen so far and they have turned out amazing. She staged my home in Texas and it sold less than a week. She has an amazing talent and drive.

flag-1544223_1280.jpg
Source

I have always wanted to own and run my own business. That way every hour of extra work that I put in I know is going straight back into out pockets, not true right now as a salary employee.

More Freedom for Steem and Crypto

I know for the first couple of years it will be wishful thinking, but hoping as the rental properties and passive income starts to grow I'll have more time growing my crypto and enjoying trips like Steemfest.

It would be cool to own properties and flip homes all over the world working because we want to and not because we have to.

Anyways just wanted to share this quick update and was wondering whats going on in your life currently.

Sort:  

That is really amazing! Always great to hear how people are moving forward to better their own lives in the long run.

I’ve just been busy maintaining all the things I’m involved in these days while trying get some posts out here or there. Been playing a fair amount of Steem Monsters as of late. Having some fun times with it while staying a budget player.

Im loving steem monsters. Need to get more active in th÷ giveaway discord that you shared, but currently trying to get at least the free booster pack every day.

Very happy with the way the game turned out so far.

Keep your Reality investments 'close' to home, otherwise it can be a huge management headache; and of course...buy 'low' & sell 'high'.

Best wishes to you both.

Agreed. Thats what were wanting to do to start out. Hoping to branch out once we get grounded and get some companies managing our "far away" properties so we can travel more.

Right now its just a dream that may never happen, but long term financial freedom for more family time and travel is our goal.

I wish you and your family well in whatever course you choose.

Hoping to branch out once we get grounded and get some companies managing our "far away" properties

The 'above' is one of the greatest problems; I know because most of my adult (working) life has been spent within 'that' and related business. Most of the 'Property Management' companies that I was intimately involved with 'or' had knowledge of...were run by 'shady' characters. The 'better' ones were just plain inefficient, costing the client more 'pocket-ache' than necessary.

That is the main reason I make the suggestion to keep your realty investments close...(within easy eyesight)

Regards.

Good to know thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! I can say that it is one of the best and worst things I have done. I have 5 houses other than my own and they are spread all over the country. @Angryman has a point in saying buy close to home. When something major happens, it just makes it easier to handle if you know people in the business. Having to depend on a realtor is not something I want to do and when you have a problem, you are at the mercy of who you can get to fix something.

As a note, I have had the same renters in my Florida house for over 15 years. They are the best! Never had any really bad renters, but, always buy in a military community and rent to incoming people. Rent is always assured with them.

I wish you much luck and it is fun! Then when the market goes through the roof, I dumped a few and waited for it to tank and bought a few. It's a crapshoot, but, I think you will have fun with it.

Haha you sound like my wife. Shes the real go getter in all of this. Ive heard even the government subsidized renters are getting better the way everything is handled.

Were just trying to dip our toes in, but my wife is ready to jump all in. The market just makes me nervous right now, but cautiously excited!

I sold my house in the outskirts of San Antonio as the market is hot right now. This is a recent sell and I did it because I am not so sure that the Spring prices will hold. The market feels unsure (to me) and so I will probably sell the Florida or Virginia house next as they have gone up from the '09 crash.

I am waiting for the market to crash again to buy. Now that may sound horrible to you, but the reality is that is the time to buy. So I hang on to my cash from these sales and buy them outright when the price drops. You get a better cash price if you don't have to finance. Also, in a real crash market, some only take cash.

As an aside, flipping is no longer the moneymaker that it was, but, I still find it fun. You gotta know when to hold it and know when to dump it. That is all I have to tell you. You cannot get too emotional about it, otherwise, you lose your sense of business about it. :)

Haha yeah now is great time to sell in san antonio. I spent 5 years 2 hours south of that area.

Bought a house for 105.5 and sold it for 125 over a year later making relativly no changes.

The market is crazy hot and that cant last.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly!!! Sell high! Buy low! (I'm hoping for a spring fire sale!)

Take your time G. This Knight is expecting a pretty big drop generally in property prices.

SirKnight.

Posted using Partiko Android

Our mentor is flipping houses as quickly as possible for the incoming crash. Were just hoping to get in and out of a few houses before the volatility starts.

You got a 13.47% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Congratulations @gniksivart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85