The Lasagna Trenches

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I had been in the trenches most of the afternoon. The lasagna trenches.

IMG_20181026_213933.jpg

Three lasagnas sat on the counter. Their parts were mismatched and discombobulated, patiently waiting for completion. The curly edge of the long lasagna noodles reminded me a bit of a medical school story one of my guests had been telling me involving doctors examining intestines during surgery. I grimaced and continued my work. Noise swirled around me, blown in from the other room.

Thirteen kids were blowing in and out of the rooms in a swirl, like hurricane wind. They didn’t stand still. I was vastly outnumbered, so I stayed safe there in the kitchen, with my lasagnas.

“Mama! Mama!” The tot came charging in, clearly having a disagreement with a tot-cousin-counterpart. “She can wear them, but she can’t take them home!” My tot said in her firmest voice in reference to the fake pearls that were strung around her cousin’s neck. I assured her that the tot-cousin-counterpart was not a jewelry thief. The tot continued to watch her with sharp eyes.

IMG_20180903_212301.jpg

I went back to my lasagna. The tomato sauce was a creamy looking red, filling up a stock pot halfway. The perfect amount of sauce, I mused as I stirred the pot.

The stench of creek mud drifted to me from the open back door. Three children came tromping in, black mud drying on their skin up to the knees, and squishing between their toes. “Look what we found!” A ten-year-old nephew flung his hand upward and in it was a perfectly ordinary looking stick, covered in mud that well matched his legs. I blinked at him. “It was at the end of the creek! We followed the creek all the way to the end and we found this stick!”

I wondered if all of the explorers of the world had brought home sticks and shouted at their family members about them. It would go something like this: “I discovered the North Pole! And look at this stick that was there!”

I congratulated him, and watched his enthusiastic feet leave black footprints all the way to the bathroom. I went back to my lasagnas. I smeared one layer of ricotta filling across those intestine noodles. The filling looked a bit like the bones of it. Or maybe the bone marrow.

I thought on that as I caught a glimpse of a few more of those thirteen children, of the teenaged variety, trotting through the back door. They wore bathing suits and towels like it was a hot day in July. I squinted at them headed toward the pool and contemplated the odds of hypothermia, then decided they’d survive. I mumbled “crazy kids” like a crotchety grandma.

IMG_20181103_214004.jpg

Beautiful day for a touch of hypothermia.

Back to my lasagna. A bit of sauce, a sprinkle of cheese, and on to the next layer of intestines.

There was an explosion of voices from the dining room. A poor eleven-year-old was being ousted by his cousin peers for spilling a cup of water on top of their board game. There was the middle school variety of name calling, then the accusations, followed by a weak, painful sounding defense on his part. “I put the cup there,” I said from my place in the doorway. A hush fell over the room, and then suddenly the game restarted. No one questions lasagna woman.

Nerf bullets whizzed across the room. Stray bullets from the war raging on in the living room were flying in every direction. The creek explorers had emerged from the bathroom, semi clean, as reinforcements. I spotted a sheet of notebook paper with a surprisingly accurate drawing of my creek sitting on the counter. I squinted at it but decided I wasn’t that curious, and returned to the lasagnas. Another bit of bone marrow, then the next layer, and they were nearly done.

IMG_20190106_234526.jpg

An hour and a half later three lasagnas were devastated by thirteen children and a handful of adults.

In other news, it turns out the tot was right—the tot-cousin-counterpart was a jewelry thief. I also discovered my phone had been commandeered by a couple of teenage girls that took selfies with tongues hanging out and faces pressed together. Their crazy expressions lit up my screen.

“Those crazy kids,” I said in my most crotchety grandma voice, smiling.

Sort:  

You just remind me I have lasagna in my refri!! :D

If only I had leftovers...

Hi ginnyannette,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Kids can create real pandemoniums. Even one really naughty one can drive adults crazy.
What was it with the aligator image? was it on purpose?
At some point I thought you'd end up finding an alligator-infested lagoon and throwing the kids in there. :)

Haha, no, there were no alligator pits present. That picture was just a play on how I felt surrounded by chaos, hunkering down there in my kitchen.

Hahaha. I figured that might be the case, but still it was so shocking. It gives a completely new meaning to feeling suphocated by crowd and/or noisy little people. :)

Well, a very tedious way of preparing lasagna! Yet, being close to all this pure energy of children is a great reward. The interruptions and the return to the preparation of the recipe very well suggest the reality presented.

Yep, those interruptions were definitely a reality. Interruptions are actually how I do everything all the time, since I regularly have two little kids. It was just amplified quite a bit with all those extra kids this past weekend :)

The energy of the children is wonderful.

Well, wish you and your family a very good year 2019!

Thank you, I wish the same for yours.

Thank you very much!

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 200 posts. Your next target is to reach 250 posts.
You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I do like a good lasagne. Is it spelt differently in the states? Interesssting

Americans generally say lasagna, although according to google lasagne is the plural form. I think Americans pretty much just say lasagna though, as far as I know.

Spell, I mean, lol

Lagsana always is one of my favorite although it a bit sinful every time I took it. But still cannot resists it :p. Kids always very active and it good that you still passionate enough to continue your lagsana without interrupted by them. How was the lagsana looks like at the end? you have the picture @ginnyannette?

I did not get a picture, it was too chaotic. With 13 kids I'd never seen so much dirt appear in the house and food disappear :)

Thanks for stopping by.

I could imagine the situation :) end up who did the cleaning? i bet the floor also cover with mud :p

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, there was lots of smelly creek mud footprints all over the place. I had the pleasure of the cleaning - the peril of being a housewife :)

😅😂I could imagine the situation. But everything was worth when you saw how happy they were and enjoyed your lagsana.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lasagna trenches? Now that cracked me up! Good for you managing to cook while a baker's dozen kids ran amok in the next room.

U+R :)

What can I say, making those lasagnas was a bit of a battle :)

Thanks for stopping by.

haha! howdy ginnyannette! You're a saint!

I can see you housing all those family members and cooking away at your house. Although I see you as more of the grilling type - we all have our hideouts to avoid guests. Me, kitchen; you, back porch with the grill.

haha! well my guests hopefully wouldn't come with so dang many kids! lol. otherwise I might be alot farther away than the grill!

I'm sure they would all track you down. "Uncle Janton! Where are you?!"

hahaha! more like Gramps or Great Gramps or Great Great Gramps!

Great great Gramps? I am now imagining you typing with one hand while you hang on to your walker.

You can't be that old :)

well I never had kids but my step-daughter started real young so we have 2 grandsons, one is 21 and one is 18 so we were thinking the other day.. here comes the Great grandkids! yikes. so far I show no signs of needing a walker. lol.

Ah, that makes sense then. Yep, age 21, those grandkids are on the way. I managed to wait until 27, but that's not too far off :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87