Reverse Seared Steak on the BGE (Big Green Egg)

in #life7 years ago

The finished product


Every day is a good day to BGE

For many, the technique that I am about to describe is exactly the opposite on how you have been taught to prepare a steak. I was also taught to get the BBQ super hot, put a good sear on both sides of the steak, then remove it. Reduce the temperature, then return the steak to indirect heat until it is done. What I am about to describe, it the exact opposite.

I have two reasons when I would definitely recommend using reverse sear on a steak.

  • If the steak has been frozen or is partially frozen
  • If the steak is very thick

Throughout this post, I will refer to my BGE, but the same techniques can be performed on any kamado style grill. For those not familiar, it refers to any grill that is surrounded by ceramic or clay, with a fire box at the bottom and a method to control the airflow. My kamado style grill just happens to be manufactured by Big Green Egg.

Typically, I start all of my BGE cooks by lighting the BGE. For Steak, I prefer to season the steak first. Then light the grill. This gives the salt enough time to work it's magic with the protein structure of the meat. I like to season both sides with salt and pepper about an hour before I cook. Next, I insert the thermometer before I put the meat on the grill so that it forms a seal and the juices don't drip out when cooking. Last, I make sure that the surface of the steak is dry before I put it on the grill. (The salt will draw out moisture, I use a paper towel to wipe the moisture off)


The thermometer is set to warn me when the steak gets to 135° F (10 degrees below medium - Wife's Preference)

IMG_7223.JPG

Notice, the internal temperature is only 59, it was in the freezer and I didn't give it enough time to thaw and get up to room temperature.


Now, it's time to light the BGE

Lighting the Pit


At this point, I want indirect heat, so I have inserted the plate setter

IMG_7231.JPG


I let the egg get up to 300° then I put the steaks on

IMG_7236.JPG


Now, it's time to sit back and relax. By setting the inlet panel at the bottom and the daisy wheel on top, the temperature can be controlled within about 10 degrees.

IMG_7220.JPG


When the steaks are 10 degrees below the doneness you want, take them off the egg, cover them with tinfoil and let them rest.

IMG_7237.JPG


The internal temp will typically rise by 10 degrees while resting.

IMG_7238.JPG


While the steak rests, remove the plate setter, open all the vents and let the egg get up to 600°

IMG_7243.JPG


I use welding gloves when the temperature are this hot. Especially when moving the plate setter

IMG_7241.JPG


One minute per side. The internal temp should be exactly where you want it.

IMG_7245.JPG


Since the steaks rested earlier, you can immediately pull the steaks off the grill, then plate them. The juices will not "bleed" on the plate.

The finished product

Try to remember, half of your plate should be vegetables.

Sort:  

You are really being scientific about it. Nothing like a well made steak. I seldom eat steaks, but when I do I go for high quality and then I eat them very rare (raw in the middle). Not much loss of juices that way :)

You hit the nail on the head - it's all about the moisture.

I'm being scientific now because my wife likes her steak medium. Similar to you, I can eat from tartare/blue rare and up as long as there's good flavour and moisture.

Using the BGE and the reverse sear, I've been able to cook a medium steak with all the moisture and flavour of a rare. I'm using the scientific approach (insert thermometer here) to maintain the flavour while getting to the doneness she likes.

Happy Wife = Happy Life.

P.S. I also have a tendency of cooking two steaks seperately so we each get our own doneness, but for that post, I happened to do both steaks the same.

Moisture is all important!

Do you think it will also work this way on the stove or only at a grill?
It looks delicious. I see that you have also prepared the stalks of the broccoli. They are nice, don't you think so!

This method should work in the oven for the roasting (below 300°) part. Then the stove (or broiler) for the final sear.

I enjoy broccoli stalks (Peeled slightly). My wife only likes the heads.

Thanks, I'm going to try it!

Congratulations @gikitiki! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gikitiki! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

OMG i am soo hungry! I think i'm gonna try it to a stone grill... We don't have BGE in our country

Does the stone grill completely surround the meat?

no, but i could possibly make one by molding a claypot.

As long as you can keep the heat above and below the meat the same, you will have success. Remember, 300 or less until the meat is 10 degrees F below where you want it, then take it off and cover it to rest.

Crank up the heat, then sear each side for 1-2 minutes. Never fails.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your future posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.03 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @gikitiki. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Love the reverse seer method you used. I'll must try it on day. Do you have a picture of the steak when it's cut?

I forgot that one :-(. We were too hungry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42