My random thoughts about choices and chances

in #life7 years ago (edited)

                   

Image source

We are confronted with so many different choices in our every day lives. We are often not even aware that we are actually choosing something. You choose what to wear every morning, what to eat, what type of transport you use etc. Everything around us changes rapidly and most of us are trying to keep up with the Jones's.  

Technology is changing so fast that we actually have to do research about certain products before we buy.  Take a cellphone for example. When it is time for me to upgrade my phone, I literally do research for weeks on end to find which one would suit me best. 

I work online, so if I choose a phone, it must have all the features of my computer so that I can work anywhere and at any time. If I make the wrong choice, then I have to live with this mistake I made for the next two years, until it is time for me to upgrade my phone again. Needless to say I am a bit of a technology addict. I love phones, tablets and computers and I make sure that I keep updated with the latest technology. I also need to understand how something works before I purchase it but to be honest, after a whole year, I am still learning how my phone works and I am still discovering new features on a daily basis.   

Since a very young age I have always had a problem with making choices. I don't like change, so when I was a little girl, I had a green t-shirt with a pair of orange pants, that I loved dearly. So much that I wore it every single day of my life. If I had to get lost, my parents would know exactly what to tell the police because I wore the same set of clothes every single day for months on end.  I pretty much outgrew that phase of my life (and the shirt and the pants) but orange and green are still my favorite colors.  

I am just not good at making choices. I panic easily so I am always scared to make a choice, because what if I choose wrong?

As the world changes, our choices change.  


In earlier days we did not have so many choices and we were happy. We were satisfied with the things we had, and I think truly believe that we appreciated our belongings more. We had less "stuff." 

I used to receive books as presents for my birthday. I love books and I have my own little personal library.  I  absolutely adore the smell of a book! 

If I had to buy my own child a book,  he would most probably not even read it. Although I tried to teach him all about the value of books, he does not appreciate books the way I do. I still prefer reading a hard copy book over over reading on a kindle or a tablet.  

Although I own both devices, and it is easier to load all my books on the tablet, I just can't appreciate fiction so much, if I don't  feel the actual pages between my fingers. That and the fact that if a book fell on the floor I can pick it up the next morning, but if my tablet fell....it would cost me a lot of money to fix it... 

What if we all had a choice in life to do whatever we wanted?  


What would you choose to do? Do you love your job so much that you would give anything to keep it? I  do love my job, and I would not choose any other profession. Being a  teacher is a very fulfilling job, but writing is more fun.  I do however have enough time to write and and pursue this other passion of mine.   

What if we all had enough money to survive without working?


Would you stay where you are? Would you move to some idyllic island and just live a happy life there?  

About four years ago, my husband and I decided to move away from the town where we lived for many years. We both had a dream of living down at the coast, and we decided to take the chance. 

It was one of the best choices that we have ever made.  We are both happy and we are both content with what we have now.  

We realized that we needed to make a  change early enough so that we still have time with each other to enjoy  the good in life. Many people dream of that ONE day in the future when everything will change...what keeps you from doing that now? If you don't take chances in life, you will never know the result. 

So what if you made a choice and you are not happy with it...you live with it, and you take another chance.  If we all had to just wait for that ONE day when you finally have enough to follow your dream we would always be wondering.  

Do you have a dream that you want to pursue but you are to scared to take that chance?  I dare you to take that chance.  You will never look back.  

  

Sort:  

I really enjoyed your post, and you do take a long time to make choices but they are always good ones.

You are absolutely spot on with this @giantbear. It is better to live with a choice, then forever wonder what might have been. Live life with no regrets, or 'what ifs' as much as possible.

True, and still people are scared to take chances. How are you doing Helen. Your kids? Drop me a message in discord I will find it there lol!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Beautiful colors

Great post! It inspired me a lot :) Everyone has dreams and you made the right choice to follow them!

So glad moving to the coast was a good choice! I enjoyed these thoughts, you write very well!

I have begun taking greater risks in my life. Last February, we sold our home and bought a new one. While we are still in the same town, we went from suburbs to country and it has been so good for all of us, kids included, that they are actually reading books despite the fiber internet. ;)

very nice
i am following & Please follow me.
@osman28

I am so glad you made the choice to move to the ocean and enjoy your life with your family in your dream place. Inspiring post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80