I Grew Up with a Fixed Mindset (Posidose 4)

in #life8 years ago

What point is there in trying to improve yourself if your fate is predetermined?

b0f7a87e2338cc34166df48f172b54b5.jpg

I grew up with a fixed mindset forced on me at every turn.

If you remember from Posidose #3, those with a fixed mindset believe innate talent determines success, and effort plays a minor role, if any.

I went to Prussian-style schools, both public and Catholic. I was told to sit quietly in orderly rows and not speak unless spoken to.

Others decided for me

What I studied was entirely out of my control. Others decided for me. The coursework was simplistic, trivial and utterly banal until about the eleventh grade.

I was told to please my teachers (by getting good grades). I was expected to please my guardians by being unquestionably obedient. Everything revolved around the Darwinistic race to get some future job and avoid a black mark on your “permanent record.”

Toxic Beliefs

I was consistently placed in groups with the smartest children, told I was bright and assured that I didn’t have to do much in order to succeed.

Toxic. To be convinced that your natural talent guarantees you success (or lack thereof denies it) is the epitome of a fixed mindset.

Because it means you can stop trying.

What point is there in trying to improve yourself if your fate is predetermined?

Years Wasted

So I did the minimum necessary and, thereby, wasted years of prime personal development capacity.

Today that fixed mindset still bumps around in the back of of my head but in a coming episode I’ll tell you how I’ve beaten it back.

Would He Make it?

Here’s the moral of this story.

If there’s something you want to do, but you think you aren’t good enough, make a conscious decision to throw out the limiting idea - the one that’s holding your back.

Anything is possible.

A young boy was born into poverty in the early 19th century in New York state to a con artist father who was largely absent. His mother, who had six children in her care, struggled to make ends meet.

What would you expect this boy to amount to? If he’d had a fixed mindset, we wouldn’t even know he’d existed.

But he had a growth mindset. He became the richest person in the US at his peak and the first US billionaire, with a net worth equal to 2 percent of the national economy.

Who is he? John D. Rockefeller, perhaps the richest person in modern history.

Anything is possible.

The Next Step

Take out a piece of paper, digital or organic, and start writing. Take a look at the life vision you wrote about yesterday. What is holding you back? Let me know in the comments or confidentially by email to [email protected].

Previous Issues

  1. Introducing Posidose: Your Daily Dose of Positivity #1
  2. Posidose 2: You’re Building Something
  3. Is your Mindset Holding you Back? (Posidose 3)

About Posidose

Posidose is your daily dose of early-morning positivity. Start your day off right. Get a boost of confidence and give direction to your creative weekday. Posidose is written and published by George Donnelly.

Don’t miss an episode of Posidose. Enter your primary email address here to get an email notification for each new episode. Zero spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Sort:  

I'm really enjoying your series, @georgedonnelly, so thank you. What is holding me back? Too many unfinished projects. I get started on one thing, then the excitement of something new pulls me off course before I finish. I suppose that one of the reasons that happens is because of not believing in myself. But I think it goes deeper. I really am an ideas person, not a finisher. So, trying to complete anything or sustain it once finished entirely on my own is a challenge. I've always been independent. Now, I fully realize that working with a partner who compliments my talents would be highly beneficial.

I am the same way. I wonder if you've discovered your personality type? I'm INTJ so I'm great at big-picture vision and coming up with innovative ideas that might seem at first crazy or impossible to others.

But I'm definitely not good with the details. I'm bad with follow-through. However, I've discovered that if I align my principles with my projects, if I make sure my motivation for the projects I undertake comes from inside or is tied to my life mission, then I can stick with them longer than if I depend on short-term expressions of approval from others.

I have tons of old projects. At some point, I just declare defeat, consider it a learning opportunity and give myself permission to move on with a clean slate. The path to success is, after all, paved with failure. :)

I am an expert at making plans for my innovative ideas, too. I get hyped for these plans early on and want to implement immediately. But I've trained myself now to allow for a cooling-off period.

Last month, I developed a plan that I am certain would be of great utility to a certain community of people and net me anywhere from $10-$70K USD or more. But I shelved it because taking it up was going to threaten my ability to complete other projects I already had ongoing.

And failing to complete projects just kills me inside. It really hurts. I feel like I let everyone down and myself and failed to realize my potential.

Thanks for your comment!

Take the test: https://www.16personalities.com/free-personality-test

Great article, to bad you picked Rockefeller .. one of the evilest person/family in the world as an example

Who would have been a better choice, do you think?

Thats a hard question! He sure had a different mindset.. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44