You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Grew Up with a Fixed Mindset (Posidose 4)

in #life8 years ago

I'm really enjoying your series, @georgedonnelly, so thank you. What is holding me back? Too many unfinished projects. I get started on one thing, then the excitement of something new pulls me off course before I finish. I suppose that one of the reasons that happens is because of not believing in myself. But I think it goes deeper. I really am an ideas person, not a finisher. So, trying to complete anything or sustain it once finished entirely on my own is a challenge. I've always been independent. Now, I fully realize that working with a partner who compliments my talents would be highly beneficial.

Sort:  

I am the same way. I wonder if you've discovered your personality type? I'm INTJ so I'm great at big-picture vision and coming up with innovative ideas that might seem at first crazy or impossible to others.

But I'm definitely not good with the details. I'm bad with follow-through. However, I've discovered that if I align my principles with my projects, if I make sure my motivation for the projects I undertake comes from inside or is tied to my life mission, then I can stick with them longer than if I depend on short-term expressions of approval from others.

I have tons of old projects. At some point, I just declare defeat, consider it a learning opportunity and give myself permission to move on with a clean slate. The path to success is, after all, paved with failure. :)

I am an expert at making plans for my innovative ideas, too. I get hyped for these plans early on and want to implement immediately. But I've trained myself now to allow for a cooling-off period.

Last month, I developed a plan that I am certain would be of great utility to a certain community of people and net me anywhere from $10-$70K USD or more. But I shelved it because taking it up was going to threaten my ability to complete other projects I already had ongoing.

And failing to complete projects just kills me inside. It really hurts. I feel like I let everyone down and myself and failed to realize my potential.

Thanks for your comment!

Take the test: https://www.16personalities.com/free-personality-test

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59097.45
ETH 2611.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42