Podunk Perspective

in #life7 years ago

A Dog Hair Covered, Sushi And Edamame Digesting, Fully Immersed In An Alternative Culture, Girl's Musings.

IMG_5804.JPG

We all follow patterns. As a librarian I understand this fact well, as my daily routines and policies are alphabetized and classified most efficiently. That said, I grew up rather nomadically, and I believe it is due to the polar opposite nature of the two halves of my life thus far; that I have a healthy understanding of the importance of the need for nice bit of perspective challenge.

It is so easy to get sucked into the comfortable routines of life. Yes, most of us have stress and issues, but we still have our patterns of behavior. Even the most impulsive, spontaneous and whimsical of us do. There's nothing like immersing yourself into the world of another to provide you with a bit of point of view reflection.

IMG_5794.JPG

In our day and age of instantaneous information it is really easy to make up your mind how a group of people are. It's so disheartening to realize you have a bias that was formed not by personal experience, but someone else's opinion. When added up, all those biases can make for a rigid perspective and perhaps even a bit of a closed mind.

IMG_5800.JPG

While I love comfort, I feel it's good for our well being to hurl ourselves outside our routines from time to time, and boy did I ever go big on this trip. For the last 5 days I've been in San Diego. It's such a lovely city. It's also full of some of the most friendly people I've ever met.

This weekend I rubbed elbows with some incredibly wealthy people. Over the years I have heard and listened to a lot of negativity toward rich people. I personally don't have an issue with wealthy people because I tend to observe beyond the window dressing. That and I have absolutely no desire to impress anyone. That personality trait earned me some life long friends this weekend. Nice people are nice people no matter their socioeconomic status.

IMG_5720.JPG

Why all this pensive musing? Well, I'm sitting in the Phoenix, Arizona airport on my way back to Idaho, surrounded by a sea of humanity. In the past few days I've helped save a fancy wedding, ate sushi for the first time, been hugged and cooed over by an assortment of drag queens (apparently I have the skin of a model), observed a plague of homelessness, and overall just lived a lifestyle that I wasn't accustomed to. I loved every minute of it.

IMG_5722.JPG

My post point is that it is so good to stretch your norms and experience people, places, and things outside your comfort zone. It took the heartfelt concern from an overworked biotech CFO's wife for me to wake up and realize I'm pushing myself way too hard. I realized that I still enjoyed creative pursuits as I sketched with my nephew on the beach, and oh my, as I ate my favorite steamed pork dim sum buns did I remember my love for simple culinary pleasures. Mix it up occasionally my fellow Steemians, at the very least you'll glean some goal clarity and have some good stories!!

And as always, all of the images in the post were taken by the author on he slightly panting from exertion iPhone.

Sort:  

Hi, @generikat!

I'm bummed that I did not know you were in my neck of the woods, I would have loved to meet you in person! Nevertheless, I'm sure you were very busy during your stay in San Diego...

Thanks for this thoughtful post. You've touched on several themes that I consider important. Getting out of comfort zones and mental ruts... It is so good to see the world from a different perspective from time to time! Shakes up the thinking, fosters new ideas and creative juices!

I also consider it of great importance to try and listen to other viewpoints. I'm always poking at my readers, trying to get them to think outside of their own mental boxes...

In any case, you are no doubt by now safely ensconced back in Idaho... Sorry I missed your visit! Take care!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Hello there @creatr!

It would have been so cool to meet in person, but alas, you were right, my nephew kept me moving all rapid-like! I must say though, you live in one of the most beautiful, interesting places that I have ever had the pleasure to visit! I love San Diego and it's surrounding areas!

Being constantly challenged is so good for people, and thank you so much for your kind words! The next time I am down your way we'll have to hang out!😊

Sounds good, my dear friend! Keep on writing.

I'm sure there are places around here that I have yet to really find out about. I get too buried in my work... :O This is a fine area to live in (apart from human government meddling, that is...). ;)

Ooh! I look forward to eventually reading about your discoveries, work permitting of course!

I did notice that things were just a touch more micromanaged in the gov department than where I live, but that could totally be fixed, lol!

(( Grumble! ))

The way to fix "guvmn't", in my not so humble opinion, is to banish it from the face of the earth... :O

A most excellent post. Love the ideas and perspective you put forth, about getting out of routine. And the idea of opinions placed within us by other's is so very true. Something I fight all the time. I don't know why human nature often seems to go to the negative first, but it seems pervasive. One has to fight it constantly. As you say, people are just people, whatever and wherever they are.

So glad you got to go down south and have such a marvelous time. And re-charge your batteries, whilst running about like a chicken. So very important. Well, time to go on a bikeride. Have a most wonderful night, and thanks for a well-created, very thoughtful post. (Not that the other's aren't also, just really struck a chord.) Well, I babble on in excess.Have a nice night.

Good evening dd!

You never babble, and I truly enjoy your perspective on things. I tend to have a lot of opinionated thoughts, yet mostly refrain from sharing them as I want to keep my blog a very welcoming, enjoyable destination. That said, sometimes I feel so strongly about an issue that I can't help myself, and opinion and bias osmosis is one of those themes that get me going!

I do so hope that your bike ride was lovely. I think I am going to go pass out, for I still haven't recovered from my sojourn to the southlands. I suspect that my fatigue has something to to with the complete lack of sleep and craziness that I encountered as soon as I departed the plane Tuesday night. Today, I reworked the grammar and composition of my boss' entire yearly board report, after I taught school all morning, and I have just sat down from coaching a double header volleyball game. Wow, look at me babble, lol! Good night!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41