A Morning Stroll On The Farm

in #life7 years ago

Or: How I Worked My Way To Breakfast


IMG_6954.JPG

My form wandered around upright this day, although it is still a tad weeble wobbly. Regardless of the fact that I was as weak as a vehicle with a clogged catastrophic converter, today was to be an on my feet day whether I liked it or not. This vertical state of being had to be achieved due to the fact that my boss had scheduled a couple days off, so there was a library to open, not to mention the fact that my entire family was down due to the remnants of food poisoning and one of them had the flu.

I have all sorts of vacation stories that I want to regale ya'll with, but I am saving the composition of such yarns for when I am not all zombified. This morning I had a reckoning moment of just how much I enjoy my existence as I did all of the farm chores for the day. I suppose one could say that sometimes gratitude rises like bad bacterialized stomach bile.

We had a wicked thunder storm last night, it blew my kids swimming pool over into the lilac bushes, and as I was experiencing post puke-phoria I found that I cared not. It could be flipped over with somewhat cuss-free ease if enough of us grabbed a hold. The yearly three week plague of gnats have hatched and my poor horses reminded me that I needed to reapply my super-secret homemade fly salve to their ears in order to give them some relief from the little blood suckers. There were conciliatory ear scratches given to the bug besieged equines after I tossed their morning alfalfa.

The barn was my next stop. The kids take care of their 4H market hogs without any help from us, with the exception of illness, so I got to give out pig scratches to the four heathens in the barn. Wearing shorts to feed is never a great idea, but at least I didn't wear flip flops into the pig pen. I needed a shower before work anyway, yet I really did hope those slobber smears on my bare legs were mud or pig feed. Sure it was.

IMG_6958.JPG

One of my hens has moved in with the pigs, a smarter bird I have yet to meet. She roosts in the barn rafters and dines on show pig feed, pine beetles, and various greenery that surrounds the barn. She was kind enough to lay all her eggs on top of the feed bin while I was on vacation, and I decided on a scramble for breakfast.

The garden was my next stop. On my way across the horse pasture to my garden I heard the yowl of my Siamese herd cat. It came loping through the grass yelling all sorts of cat complaints. Cinders cannot walk in a straight line and lives to trip me and perhaps fracture one or many of my cervical vertebrae. I told her that I had already served breakfast to her clan, and out of missing the first grub irritation she ran slideways through my corn. Ornery she cat.

IMG_6950.JPG

This could trip up the most skilled supermodel in existence, or a politician. Probably both at the same time.

As I set my bucket of eggs by the frost free faucet it occurred to me that I should have some Red Russian Kale at baby stage and thought that it would taste pretty spectacular with my eggs. Soon thereafter I had plucked a bunch from the earth and was wandering my way towards my kitchen for breakfast.

IMG_6955.JPG

Just a simple morning on my feet, doing chores, and eating food that I produced on the farm gave me great joy. It's good to be alive, and hopefully by tomorrow I can get back to my normal, slightly off kilter scribblings. Hope you all have the most pleasant of evenings!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's show pig feed dusted iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here

Sort:  

"clogged catastrophic converter"?

HA HA! You caught that eh? My father has a bit of a way with words, such as calling iPods, Pie Pods and The book/movie The Bridge to Terabithia, the Bridge to Spina Bifida. Some things I just refer to as I think them, hence the "catastrophic" reference. lol!

lol..that's too funny. Thanks for a laugh right before bedtime :)

You are most welcome! Your reply put a smile on my face before I passed out, lol!

Glad to hear, as I cannot see, that you are on your feet once again. And wandering all over the farmstead. A busy morning, that's for sure, especially for a weeblewobbler. I do have a farm question for you...is 'pig scratches' rubbing the heathens behind the ears, like the horse, or is it a type of food...like chicken scratch, only much larger, for pigs, rather than chickens, which are quite a bit smaller, at least on all of the farms I've been on, which is two, so it is not exactly a statistical sample size that allows for a certainty in the pig attention category, or the pig food category, but we city dwellers do the best we can, in the statistical, feed the pig realm of the world.

You kitty is adorable!:)

Oh! Thank you! She is a very sweet, loyal, and an extremely vocal girl, lol! How she came to live with us is quite a tale, I'll have to write it up and post it sometime😊

Love, love, love all of your amazing art!!

Vocal?:) What song does she often sing?:)

The ever classic, "You must pet me right meow!" Lol!

Awwww:) When my dog wants something she also says "meow". And she sleeps on the window. And rubs against the feet. I'm sure she thinks she's a cat:)

Your dog sounds amazing! I love the window sleeping thing, that's excellent! If Cinders is in a chair where I'm walking by she will stretch out her paw and grab my hand and pull it to her face, it's hilarious, she's quite special, but then again I suppose all pets are😊

Awwww:) Pulling hand is so cute! Yes, they're all really special:) If my sweety doesn't sleep on the window - then she's on my pllow, with ner muzzle on my cheek:)

That smile is beyond adorable!😊 What a sweet girl!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41