Tales From The Circ Side

in #life5 years ago

Your Attitude Is Due For A Renewal


IMG_7888 (2).JPG

Acutal representation of my internal being for most of the day today.

Do you ever have a day where you want to throw Carolina Reaper Pepper sauce dipped cotton balls at members of the human race? I know, that was probably oddly specific, but honestly, today I'm not feeling like a very Positive Practicing Purveyor Of Perpetual Patron Problem Perfecting. Or something like that.

This morning, as I was attempting to help a rather brash and irritating creature, one who possessed an incredibly entitled and demanding demeanor, I found myself in dire need of an attitude check, or renewal so to speak. The older I get, the more entrenched I seem to become in my behavioral patterns of daily conduct. Even though I have an overall demeanor of whimsy and a perpetual desire to learn new things, sometimes I get mired in the mundane. This phenomenon occurs when I get too bogged down in the business of being a "responsible adult" and completing all the tasks encompassed within that job description.

It's easy to lose your sense of humor when you are adulting. That little facet of one's personality can easily get lost between changing the fifty-third load of laundry for the day and hauling your daughter's heifer to a neighboring ranch for a Bangs vaccination. As someone who wasn't fully human until I was at least fifteen, I try to remind myself of the glorious time when I dwelt in the halls of my super vibrant imagination. You shouldn't let that part of you be shelved just because you are being a productive grown up.

One of the main reasons for keeping contact with your sense of wonder and humor is for when your attitude is in dire need of a pick me up. I'll admit it, I would love a week in the interior of Mongolia right now. Just give me a sturdy Steppe horse, some dehydrated meals, an additional pack horse with a selection of books, and a yurt out in the vast Mongolia emptiness and I would be happy as a cat in a creamery. Don't get me wrong, I love people, but they always NEED something, and sometimes I just NEED a break.

That said, when Little Miss Demand Hands was being such a Veruca Salt to me this morning, even though I responded with a smile like I always do, I am reasonably sure that the sentiment didn't reach my eyes, for on the inside I was imagining what it would be like if she tripped and demanded an audience with the ground. This vehement irritation that I experienced caused me to have a moment of pause. Usually, when I am not exhausted or in need of some good old fashioned self care, I tend to analyze a rude person as I am interacting with them. I find it helpful to find an attribute of the insolent creature that is positive and then I also deduce things about their situation from that bit of deduction. Once I craft a personification template for them I tend to apply a bit of empathy to areas that I deduced are issues for said creature and like that my entire attitude toward them is (usually) modified.

All of this happens in real time with everyone whom I interact with. Yes, it might seem a bit odd, but over the years I have just come to accept that this is my normal and it doesn't have to be that way for everyone else. However, attitude modification is an important tool that I believe everyone can benefit from, for it is really easy to become mired in a bad frame of mind and to get stuck in a "poor me, everyone sucks" loop. No one benefits from negative waves.

IMG_0210.JPG

I find that staring at this birthday pie I made @jacobtothe improves my mood considerably...

So, I am going to go pursue an avenue of positive trait detection and attitude modification. This bit of a ramble has made me a touch curious about how you all run a derailed attitude back on a more positive track. Heck, I would even like to hear from resident curmudgeons who prefer to stay grumpy and crotchety all the time! Release the comments!!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's perpetually perky and all sorts of quirky iPhone.


Sort:  

Beer used to help. Since that really isn't an option for me anymore nothing beats some good rock n' roll to lift the spirits. I also found leaving a job that requires dealing with people on a daily basis will do wonders for your attitude.

Your restaurant time must have been brutal. I only spent a minute amount of time in the food service realm, I can't imagine what 25 years must have been like. For some reason I can imagine you hurtling down the road rocking out to some Zeppelin, that actually sounds pretty cathartic at the moment.

As soon as my not so little Polynesians are grown I will be able to flee the public employment sphere. They are expensive! Lol!

Some of that pie is still left in the fridge. I should address that.

Edit: addressed.

Glad to here that you are addressing things, bout time...

I assisted in the addressing. It was marvelous!

So glad you got to partake in the addressing!

How do I do it?

Usually a visit to my friend @generikat's blog is sufficient for an attitudinal adjustment...

"...a perpetual desire to learn new things..."

Are you my sister from another mister? That pretty much perfectly describes me...

Table of Contents
Krubera Cave

I get tired of adulting as well... :( May I join you in that Mongolian yurt? Oh, I should warn you, I snore pretty loud. But when awake, I promise to be quiet and allow you to soak in the silent spaciousness when you need it.

My sense of wonder is still very much alive. I hear that some of the hugest, deepest caves in the world are over there in Mongolia? How about some spelunking?

The pie looks great...

😄😇😉

@creatr

Whoa! I too adore the spelunking! Maybe we are siblings, I mean yurts appeal to us and we like to explore holes in the Earth. Of course you could hang in Mongolia with me, I can sleep through pretty near anything, lol!

This past March we went to Carlsbad Caverns. Have you been there? It was seriously the greatest, we walked the whole magical world:)

Well, I have to run. This morning was and still is an adulting fest of the paperwork variety, now I must get ready to go help run the library for a spell. Hope you are having a magnificent day my dear friend!

Hi G-Cat,

I love caves, have been in a few (developed) and have always wished I could discover and explore new ones.

When I was a kid, I was thrilled to watch the movie "Journey to the Center of the Earth." The original book was of course by Jules Verne, but the movie took quite a few liberties. One of the main characters was played by Pat Boone. Much of the movie was filmed in Carlsbad Caverns, but it wasn't until 1980 that I got to actually visit them.

WOW! What a treat!

I had my family in tow... The kids were small. We entered through the giant mouth, walking down a zig-zag ramp that went on forever. We had these cool audio devices that picked up location specific narratives as we went through. The family had to pretty much drag me, because I kept stopping, staring, and dilly-dallying all the way. While most people get through the caverns in one or two hours, it was four hours before we finally got on the elevator and came up to the surface... My bad. Carlsbad. Awesome!

That was the one and only visit I've had, but I would love to go back... maybe by myself, or possibly with another true believer... ;) Someone who wouldn't drag me out, kicking and screaming. :D

A few years ago, we visited Kartchner Caverns in Arizona. That is another delightful and rather large cave. Unfortunately, they had a substantial portion of it closed off so the bats could mate or something like that... LOL!

Don't think I've ever been in a yurt, but I find all kinds of alternative dwellings very appealing. I would like to build and live in a large variety to get a feel for the differences. I think I'm something of a frustrated architect...

Hey friend, don't let the day's adulting get you down! :D

I can usually make excuses for other people quite easily. The driver who zooms past me when I'm already going the speed limit must really need to go to the bathroom. The person who swipes the parking spot I was heading for was concentrating on her upcoming shopping spree. The young cashier who looks bored stiff and talks too fast while taking my order at the fast food place simply wasn't raised properly. Etc, etc, etc. But, the older I get, the likelier I am to just write them off as idiots and let it go at that.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @generikat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79