Tales From The Circ Side

in #life6 years ago

The Noon Year's Eve Party


IMG_4534 (1).JPG

Yesterday I had to work, but you won't hear me complaining. Much. Okay, maybe a little, I mean, I like to keep things on the level with you all, but my time at the library yesterday was more than a little bit fun.

A while ago, our children's librarian, the illustrious Miss M let me know that we were going to have a Noon Year's Eve party for the little kids. I looked at her with the most vacant expression as I could muster, for most of the time there is something about my face that makes people think that I know things. Yuck. Anyway, she went on to explain that a Noon Year's Eve party would encompass the following: a balloon drop at the stroke of noon on New Year's Eve.

See, most little kids don't get to stay up late and ring in the New Year, so our children's librarians came up with the fun idea of having a party in the middle of the day so that the small frys of our community could get in on the celebrating too. I thought it was a pretty cool idea and was totally on board with coming in for a few hours on New Year's Eve to help put on the fete.

Boy, as usual, I didn't know what I was getting into. One, I have been going harder than corgi chasing a laser pointer as of late, so my perk is a little lackluster these days. As I write this, I have just returned home from my fourth party in three days. Let me tell you, I am glad the holidays are over. Phew! Anyway, when I beheld the party set up list that came with a very festive bin via library courier delivery, let's just say my "Oh, um, yep this is going to be something!" meter jettisoned into mild panic territory.

IMG_4546.JPG

The balloon drop came with bags of balloons that needed to be blown up to fit in said balloon drop. @jacobtothe and I blew up one bag of balloons on the Saturday before, but with some subtle suggestion, I managed to wrangle my children into thinking that they wanted to go intern with me at the party. Such good little interns they are, and my lungs really appreciated their presence in the air into plastic product for the balloon drop department.

After some ladder placement engineering and mystery twine utilization, I had the balloon drop suspended from the drop ceiling in our library. I had my reservations about how well the apparatus was going to perform, but as I had the whole project sprang on me with just a bit before the party to set everything up with Miss M, well, I was cool with whatever occurred.

IMG_4535 (1).JPG

Another item on the list o' party that had to be executed was the refreshments. The courier also brought us a bunch of cupcakes. Before you could say sock hop Intern I and I had those cupcakes in plastic cups topped with straws and sour cherry candies. They were supposed to look like little milk shakes. My favorite part was watching the littles try to suck up the cakes through the straws. Heh.

IMG_4543 (2).JPG

My favorite part of the party, and most torturous to yours truly, was the bubble wrap dance floor. I mean, the idea is genius, a dance floor made of bubble wrap! It was physically hard for me to duct tape each layer of the dance floor to the carpet without going full toddler and romping around on the potential pop its. I still cringe thinking about the missed opportunity. Of course, watching a toddler grab a balloon and roll all the way across the dance floor made the whole enterprise and act of adulting totally worth it!

We weren't sure how many kiddos and their handlers would show up, but we would have never guessed over a hundred, which was in reality our total. The interns, Miss M, and I ran around restocking cupcakes, replenishing craft stations, and handing out swag. My son ran the explosion station, a place that contained confetti, baking soda, vinegar, and plastic champagne flutes. He is a gem, let me tell you. My avoidance meter was set to bolt when I read that part of the party set up paper. It all has to do with Oobleck. I still can't talk about that particular program without wanting to cry. The vaccuuming alone...

Anyway, at a few minutes before noon we rounded our party goers into the main part of the library and began the count down. My job was to run the count down and play Auld Lang Syne on the speaker when the clock struck noon. As we neared the top of the hour all that could be heard was a chanting of 10, 9, 8....That and the kids couldn't control themselves and were activating their party favors that we had handed out. Whoever invented lip whistles needs to be slapped with excessive overdue fines and unending letters of annoyance. Forever. Finally the countdown ended and Miss M pulled the tab on the balloon drop.

The anticlimactic moment began as the cardboard tabs that came on the device gave way under the force and the entire bag came down. No matter, the kids were still elated and Miss M, without skipping a beat, ripped away the tab holding the drop together and spilled balloons all over the overjoyed kiddos. For the next few moments all that could be heard was party favors, lip whistles, giggling, screaming, and balloon popping. Selfies were snapped, cupcakes were noshed on, and I had a smile on my face for the rest of the day.

One nice and unexpected thing about the festivities is the amount of gratitude that it elicited from the parents towards library staff. All of us were thanked profusely multiple times by parents in attendance for offering the event for the little kids. It was a good work day indeed:)

And on that note, I do so hope that you all had a lovely New Year's Eve and even more fantastic New Year's Day. I hope the whole calendar year is full of continual awesomeness for you all!


And as almost always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's festive and needs to be more restive iPhone.


Want To Read More @generikat Posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Happy New Year my friend. It sounds like it was a Bonny fun time at the 'brare. That would be a noisy, very joyful series of moments for sure. So glad you were there for the wee peoples on such a grand occasion of the turning of the year.
Mine was rather slow and a bit boring, which frankly, is just fine with me. I've had many an exciting New Years, and a few with too much revelry, and often, since I went home for the holidays, spent sicker'n a dog. (Sorry dogs of the world). So,,,a quiet one is just fine. Watching movies and a homemade pizza. Yaay.
I hope this next year brings you much joy, all that your extra large, giving heart desires, and fun and even a bit of time off to slow down a bit. And a whole lot more fun on Steemit too. I love this place. Well, thinking of you as the year starts out, and onward to more Steemit shenanigans. Cheerio(s)

Ahh! I have missed you dd! Like a toe sock misses phalanges!

Hmm. I don't know where that came from, but honestly when I reply to you I just let the linguistical things ramble forth. You know, I could use a little bit more boring in my life, I bet your New Years was fantastical. The homemade pizza and movies part sounds divine!

Thank you so, so much for the well wishes for the upcoming sun circling, I really appreciate it and wish you a billion times that in return, because someone as awesome as you deserves only the finest thought benevolence. I would type more, but at this point the screen is blurring, and I have to get up, go to the gym, and do all my grocery shopping for the month tomorrow. Eek! Movie and homemade pizza daydreams, er night dreams, here I come!

Hope you are having a magnificent evening mon pan ami!

That sounds like a great deal of fun for the kiddos! I am properly impressed and astonished by the huge turnout you had. I think the noise and excitement level would have put me in bed for a week afterwards.

Ha! It was a bit of a melee, but it is amazing how much easier it is to deal with the smaller kids than those of the upper elementary and middle school aged variety;o)

Happy New Years Kat. That was a good idea by Miss M for the party. I'm glad the parents appreciated it.

My New Years was quiet, just hanging out with the family. No fireworks since everyone is getting along right now. Makes it kind of boring. I sometimes miss the days when I would wake up in the morning on New Year's Day wondering where I was and if my head would explode. For the record it never did.

Happy New Years to you too, Chops!

It's nice to know that you never exploded your cranium with an excess of good times, lol! We spent the evening at my aunt's house with an assortment of family members. Her neighbor set off real fireworks, but my favorite moment was when my brother and I blasted an assortment of classic rock tunes out of his bluetooth speaker and watched my dad, mom, and aunt go nostalgic in the dance department. There might be film of said event....

Hopefully you got to work your way through a pile of tasty snacks that night. I ate so much on both New Years Eve and the day after that I probably don't need a meal for at least a week.

Over a 100!?! Oh wow! Yes you earned your pay!

Happy New Year Kat!

Happy New Year to you OGP!!!

I managed to wrangle my children into thinking that they wanted to go intern with me at the party.

That is some fancy mom conniving there. Or, your kids just adore you. Either one is great, haha.

Many blessings on your New Year as well, Kat!

Ooh, my friend, I do so love your comments! Either option makes me feel fancy, lol!

I also so hope that your year is blessed beyond measure!!

@generikat You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Partying in the LIBRARY???

How utterly unconventional... What could you have been thinking?

Balloon drops and bubble wrap... wow. Too creative. I need to move closer and get in on some of this mad fun... :O

Happy New Year, friend... :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29