You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To EAT CARBS or NOT TO EAT CARBS, that is the question…

in #life8 years ago

I literally cannot eat potatoes. And that's weird because I'm Irish and Scottish, mostly. But the longer sugar chains create havoc in my gut, I don't digest them well, and when I don't eat potatoes I feel much better when I wake up in the morning. I have some candida issues, and it's been suggested that maybe the potatoes might actually be fermented by the yeast, giving me a slight hangover in the mornings. Regardless, I stay away from them. :)

Sort:  

I can't eat potatoes either and I'm not sure if it's the starch or the nightshade issue. We don't have them at home as my partner can't eat any nightshades, but I had some about 18 months ago while away with some friends. OMG, the pain and stiffness! So no more spuds for me even if my AMY1 count is good. If the issue was candida, I'd think all starches would create the same problem, not just potato. My ancestry is English and Jersey Islands, but I don't know if there's Scottish and Irish in there as well.
BTW, I saw you mention your fiction on someone else I'm following - @markrmorrisjr I think - so have opened up your latest post to read. Looks like just the sort of thing I like, so keen to read it soon.

The nightshade thing is also there... I notice my lower back doesn't hurt nearly as much now that I don't eat potatoes. I'm hoping there's a link there. Thank you, I hope you like the story - I'm really enjoying the serial fiction here on Steemit. @markmorrisjr, @jamielefay, @georgedonnelly, and @ericvancewalton all have my attention right now!

Have you tried cutting out the other nightshades - tomato, eggplant, bell peppers, chilli, goji?
I'm following 3 of them already but will check out @georgedonnelly too. Thanks for the suggestion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63