Where were you when...a perspective from inside an American classroom as the tragic events of September 11, 2001 unfolded Part Two.(featuring @hanshotfirst as author)

in #life8 years ago

This is a continuation of an earlier post. If you haven't read that one, you can find it here.



David Levithan

Something dawned on me during my break to collect myself. According to statistics another contributor posted, the average age of Steemit community members is 30. This means that many of you were the same age as my students on that dreadful day. I can only imagine seeing this through the lens of a teenager.

Fear

After the second plane plunged into the other tower, confusion was joined by utter terror. We still didn't know exactly what was happening. But now it was clear that whatever it was... was intentional. Some kids cried. Others swore. Most stood silently in shock. Bill and I did our best to keep ourselves and the students calm. Shortly after that impact, the news reports became more clear. There were at least four planes hijacked and they were being used as weapons.



CNN

As we stood as eyewitnesses to history unfolding in front of us, the voice of an assistant principal bellowed from our intercom, "Attention all teachers. Turn off all televisions and radios immediately! Please continue with your regular lessons."

Bill and I looked at each other. Almost in unison, each of slowly shook our head at the other. We were on the same page. We were history teachers and this was history. We also knew that hiding from the terror was not the answer. I know the assistant principal meant well. She wanted to shield our children from the event. But the horse was already out of the barn. there was no putting it back in. Students would have only sat and imagined the worst. Perhaps they would not have imagined anything that was quite as bad as the reality, but we strongly doubted it. So we continued to watch history.

I care about my students deeply. They were my number one priority. But I also had a wife. A wife who worked in one of the tallest buildings in downtown Chicago. What if these were just the first of a series of attacks on American cities.? What if Chicago were next?



image credit

After ensuring that Bill had a handle on the students, I picked up the classroom telephone and called my wife. The kids saw a calm adult. But internally, I was panicking. "Helen, did you hear? Can you leave and go home?". Her response was "No." Then my mind began to race. What if the attacks were a trick to get people onto public transportation and then the trains would be hit next? What if the next attack were snipers instead of planes? There were so many "what ifs". There were so few answers. My wife and I decided she would stay in the city but she would move to a lower floor. I could live with that. It was the best we could do. Now back to the kids.

We honestly couldn't do much for the kids. All we could do was simply be there for them and provide them with stability and a model of how to stay calm. We did our best to reassure them that they and their families would be ok. We also taught them how to watch history as it was happening. We stressed to them that these reporters did not have all the answers yet and that the story could change as more information was gathered. We explained that it may take a very long time for the true story to be known and that they should review many sources before they formed their own opinions. They were going to need to think critically about this. But for now, this was the best we could do.



Eagle Wings Press

We asked kids if they wanted to avoid the tv and go in the hall, another classroom or to see a counselor. None took us up on our offers. Like everyone else, they had to see it for themselves. So Bill and I did our best to console and support our students.

The bell rang. No-one left. More students entered and joined the circle around the television. More eyewitnesses to the most horrific event of their lives.

As we continued to watch, more details trickled out of the television speakers. There were two more planes. One hit the Pentagon. Another mysteriously crashed in a field. The scene cut to reporters interviewing people rushing out of the burning buildings. One after another, injured, debris-covered people told their terrifying stories. Fifty four of us were now encircling one 32 inch television.

Then I saw something I will never forget as long as live. Reporters were interviewing people who were rushing into the burning buildings.



National Geographic shows John Labriola and other firefighters walking up the stairs while everyone else rushes down

I need to take another break before I conclude this story. The final chapter will focus on the heroes from that day and how they make it possible for me to teach my current students about this terrible tragedy.

Sort:  

Thank you for posting this for me gavvet! Writing these was really emotional. The few people who saw my first one posted some amazing stories in the replies. I hope that others who did not see the first one will do the same here.

I'm very much glad you are a teacher @hanshotfirst and this is about teaching our youth American History. As someone that did not see, but rather experienced what happened first hand I feel many people exploit this day with their stories of "hey look at what happened to me" meanwhile they walked away unharmed without any loss of friends, family, colleagues.

I'm bless to have had that result 15 years ago which is why I generally don't share the story. I did just put up a post with a big thank you to all the first responders in case we have any on steemit. That is the only way I feel comfortable honoring our nation's people on this day.

Keep up the good work sharing our history with America's youth. That is the way this day should be remembered.

I take this as a very high compliment. Thank you. I am especially relieved to read that you recognize I am not trying to exploit the day. I had a HUGE fear of coming across like that. Last year was my first class ever who had no memory of the event at all. It was nearly the same as teaching about Pearl Harbor. I try to get my students to "feel" history as much as possible. I guess I was hoping to do the same here. I'll check out your thank you post.

"First class ever that had no memory of the event" - Wow that just hit me like a ton of bricks. And now I feel old too. ;)

Again, keep up the good work.

The day that changed the world is one of those things that everyone knows where they were when it happened. I will never forget how brave the first responders were.

Agreed 100%. The final piece of this will focus on the heroes.

I was in jail getting read to go to prison for 10 years.
I was awakened by a fellow inmate who told me about what was going on. I thought it was a tv show at first. Then the second plane crashed into the building, and I was like...um, this doesnt look like a tv show. And sure enough, two days later I got taken to the Idaho State Correctional Facility and the guards there were just on edge.
The inmates there told us they had drills going on all day and would last for two weeks...
I found myself looking at airplanes flying overhead for weeks after that.

Thanks for sharing. I hope life is going better for you now.

Thank you sharing. Such a big day that changed life for all of us.

The unity that people showed after was truly inspiring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53