Valkovuokko :: Thimbleweed (Anemone nemorosa)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hoi!

IMHO ("In My Humble Opinion") the English names for these beautiful flowers are absolutely horrid. First "Liverwort", and now Thimbleweed... Okay, "windflower" is a bit better but I do still prefer the Finnish name, "valkovuokko" as to me it sounds more beautiful.

These are the flowers our boys got for Vera:


Happy Mothers' Day!

Now I think I'm gonna phone my grandmother...

See you later guys! :)


[Previous post: One photo every day: Sunrise on Mothers' Day (322/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Valkovuokko is such a beautiful flower. Happy Mother's Day Mrs. Vera.

Names do not matter.
The important thing is that they are beautiful.
And do not forget your grandmother.

Mrs. Vera must be very happy, because her children bring her some beautiful flowers, that should be great for her. Please on behalf of many followers and my own wish to Mrs. Vera a Happy Mother's Day. As we say in Venezuela: "May God fill her with great health, bless her and protect her"

Horaay for the greatest dad of all time! Waiting for the fathers day, you should get some flowers too in my humble opinion :d

Happy Mothers' Day!
The Hungarian name of this flower is "Berki szellőrózsa", but I don't remember hearing it before even one time. Or maybe I heard it, but I don't remember. The meaning of the name is similar to the English "windflower" name. The "szellő" word means "breeze" in English (the "szél" word means "wind") and the "rózsa" word means "rose" in English, so based on it's name, I would expect something totally different from the above. I would obviously expect a rose, but this is not a rose.
The scientific name ("Anemone nemorosa") of the flower is also ending with "rosa", which is also means "rose" in English.
I wonder what does the Finnish "valkovuokko" name means?

By the way, it's good to know that "The plant contains poisonous chemicals that are toxic to animals including humans, but it has also been used as a medicine. All parts of the plant contain protoanemonin, which can cause severe skin and gastrointestinal irritation, bitter taste and burning in the mouth and throat, mouth ulcers, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, and hematemesis." - Information source: Anemone nemorosa - Wikipedia.

I hope that you know this and I also hope that you didn't touched the flower for it's poisonous nature.

I wonder what does the Finnish "valkovuokko" name means?

"Vuokko" refers to all the anemones, and "valko" (derived from "valkoinen") just means "white". :)

It's thus a descriptive name based on colour, similarly to "sinivuokko" (blue anemone). I notice that much in the same fashion, the English names like "liverwort", "thimbleweed" is actually based on the shape of the leaf or the flower. I like "thimbleweed" a bit better, but the "weed" in it breaks the spell. ;)

I hope that you know this and I also hope that you didn't touched the flower for it's poisonous nature.

It's alright, as it's not really that poisonous, we didn't eat it. ;) Touching it doesn't cause any harm.

Ah, okay. Good to know. Both the name (basically white anemone) (it's expressive and true, I like it) and the fact about the flower.
The Hungarian Wikipedia article (Berki szellőrózsa) also says "Enyhén mérgező növény", which means "Mildly poisonous plant" in English, but the English Wikipedia article sounds serious.

@gamer00 - Sir Thimbleweed is the name I prefer... It's like a fairy name Sir... Beautiful photography of Thimbleweed Sir...

+W+

It's the "weed" part that kind of spoils it for me really.

Happy Mothers' Day!
When all the world appears to be in a tumult, and nature itself is feeling the assault of climate change, the seasons retain their essential rhythm. Yes, fall gives us a premonition of winter, but then, winter, will be forced to relent, once again, to the new beginnings of soft greens, longer light, and the sweet air of spring.

These spring flowers are amazing and touché she to the heart. Cause I am also one who loves spring season the most. Spring is always lovable by every person and you made this post with love, the love shows towards flowers. Awesome
Happy Mothers' Day!

I love flower..... Thanks for sharing...
Happy Mothers' Day!

IMG_20180513_122907_1.jpg

Ur photo just inspired me to upload my tribute.....

This is my first comment on your post....hope u respond well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50