Not to be strange or anything, but you remind me of someone I know...

in #life7 years ago

We're all creatures of habit generally, I think so anyway. Most people tend to eat the same or similar foods, wear a similar style of clothing, shop at the same supermarket, prefer a certain brand of car and drink and the like. It feels comfortable I guess. I'm no different. Each morning I have a coffee and breakfast at the same cafe near my home. I can make my own eggs and coffee I suppose but for me it sets up my day. It's my time to review the day ahead, highlight any part of it that needs extra attention and allows me to set my goals for that particular day. It also helps me determine how soon I can get home and live my true life.

As you can imagine I'm considered a regular by my friend who owns the cafe, and other patrons because I'm there every day. Some of the other patrons and I chat from time to time and with a few of them I have quite lengthy conversations now and then. It's nice, familiar and non-invasive generally.

The other day however I received the message you see pictured (via Facebook Messenger) from one of the patrons I have never spoken to or acknowledged. It didn't freak me out but seemed a little odd that someone, a complete stranger, could reach into my life in this way, no matter where I was at the time. (I happened to be out in the country side culling feral pests). The sender had tracked me down from my Facebook page as the cafe owner and I are friends on Facebook and my friend and the sender are also. I don't use my real name on Facebook, just some initials but I have a photo of me so she's obviously made the connection that way.

I was with a mate when the message came through and held the phone over to him. He read the first couple of lines and and lost interest pretty quickly. "You're not replying are you?" he said with disdain. Now, I was not going to at first; Not because the strangeness of it but just due to me obviously not being George and that helping this lady clarify her thoughts isn't really on my radar. Partly also because I'm a little bit old-school in that if I was in her position I would simply have asked the question face-to-face. I believe effective communication and person-to-person interaction is being destroyed by social media platforms like Facetwit and Instasnap and I don't value that. That's my old-school thinking again. I am good at communication and therefore prefer doing so person to person, in person. I also don't mind meeting new people. Despite having a small friends group by choice I believe there's a lot to be learned, and understood, by interaction with other people.

Anyway, I'm not an unapproachable guy. I am well dressed, impeccably dressed in fact, for my work day and considering I am here at the cafe a lot (even as I write this post in fact), I would have thought this lady could have asked me the question face to face. To be honest, she could have quite easily asked the cafe owner what my name was and gotten the information she needed without messaging me.All of this went through my mind when the message came in and so I wondered if there was some other agenda and this was the persons way of reaching out, breaking the ice so to speak.

Because I am polite and well-mannered I responded to the message, and advised the person I was indeed not George and wished her luck in tracking her blast from the past down. Her reply apologised for the mistake, the message being full of little smiley emoji's and things. My last reply was "all good, it happens. No harm done"

So here's the thing...The next day I was at the cafe for breakfast. No surprise there. The person, walked in. Well, I was pretty sure it was her because in real life she doesn't look anything like the image on her message which is a snapgram filter or some such idiotic thing. She looked directly at me, walked over, said hello and started to apologise for the message. Ok, now we're communicating in a way I understand. We had a little chat about the George character she thought I was and it turns out she's not looking for him at all, she simply she saw me and thought I was him. She went to school with him some 20 years ago apparently. I'm 47 so that means she mistook me for someone over 20 years my junior. Damn! I must look good for my age! :)

Moving forward some two or so weeks we are now on speaking terms at the cafe. We say things like, "good morning" and "hey, how are you?" and the old faithful, "how was your weekend." There's a smile involved typically and a friendly "goodbye" at the end. It's all rather pleasant and communicative. No Zuckerberg-owned software involved.

My point? We'll, I'm not sure I have one. I suppose maybe, that whilst it might seem less awkward to communicate through a computer or phone humans are not designed to be isolated. We are social beings and have been since...well, since forever. Neanderthals communicated and in fact had a complex social structure despite the lack of Facebook. I believe that to isolate oneself by reaching out by text or messenger can only lead to the break-down of social skills. It's probably too late for most but I prefer interaction. That's even evident on steemit as well. If someone interacts with me through a valid comment I'll hit them back in kind but the cursory "nice post my steemit friend" will get treated accordingly.

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
@galenkp

Sort:  

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/01/10/warren-buffet-isnt-eager-to-trade-his-flip-phone-in-for-an-iphone.html

I pasted this recent article about Warren Buffet still using a flip phone. It made me feel less weird still using one myself in spite of the opprobrium attached to using a "dumb phone."
It's a global pox and the speed with which it spread is simply amazing. In 1994 I had cell phone for business that consisted of a large box on the seat of my work truck that plugged into the lighter. It had an antenna, and it worked, sometimes. It was only a phone. Not a camera or entertainment center. We got our first desk-top around 2000. I remember a woman going on about how fast email was and I was thinking, "what the hell is email?" What I'm getting at is these technologies are still relatively new, and the long term sociological and psychological effects they will have on humanity is an unknown. I often wonder how a handful of guys like Gates, Jobs, the Google guys, and others, can make billions of dollars from these inventions, profoundly transforming human existence in the process, without any reflection or debate on the wisdom of it all. Mankind has never been able to do this. Every young child I know is addicted to technology. Teenage boys play video games after school with other kids on the other side of the planet but won't get to know the kid who moved in next door. Then there's the narcissistic selfies. We're all lab rats.

100% upvote on this reply bro. Couldn’t have said it better myself @dissfordents! Go check out my other post today for a laugh about phone usage. It’s a bit sarcastic (a lot) but has a message too!

Yeah... She was totally hitting on you.

If only she was Monica Bellucci...

i had to google who that was - but i approve :)

is that your celebrity leave pass?

Haha, no leave passes required, desired or offered...But Monica Bellucci...Hmm, she got the goods!

I'm such a weird introverted hermit that the continued daily small talk might be enough to make me move diners if I was in your shoes. I'm so glad you are in them instead. :D

Yeah, I get you. Mostly I have my head in my computer though so I don't let the sheeple get in my way. I'm a Business Development Manager in my job so dealing with people is unavoidable.

I often feel the same way about communication; it's eroding slowly, and people are increasingly finding it more and more appropriate to carry out conversations better had face-to-face over social media platforms.

On the flipside, people are perhaps a bit more surprised when someone reaches out and talks to them, when electronic communication would be a valid option.

Either way, people are communicating less face-to-face, and I believe that is cause for concern.

This is why I think it's important to really "turn off" when we are in the presence of friends. Put away your damn phone, and have a real conversation. Those face-to-face interactions are something to be treasured, and we should be mindful of those interactions as they are happening.

Thanks for sharing! I am glad that I am not alone in my frustrations or opinions. :)

Hey Chris, you're right people these days may to react in a surprised manner to direct human-to-human contact. I held a door open for a lady (a stranger) not too long ago and she got mad at me telling me she could do it herself. It was just being courteous as she was walking directly behind me. I would have done it if she was a bloke also.

Turning off the phone, and putting it out of sight is a great idea when with friends or family. I do it when I am in a business meeting with clients or the Directors of my company so why not with friends.

Thanks for your comments. Greatly appreciated.

I'm kind of glad of text communication, I'm pretty rubbish at verbal and that didn't change with practice, it stresses me out too much 😆 maybe your new friend found it less stressful to initiate by text before actually talking to you. Some of us are odd like that ☺

"my new friend..." I've spoken to her 3 times. I've known people for 20 years I don't call friends yet. :)

There were quotes implied around new friend, I tend to be similar XD

goatsig

All good :)

Nice point bro, thanks for sharing. If I see you someday(it is very unlilely), I will ask to you directly, not on steem :) have a nice day!

Haha, one never knows when our paths may cross in this tiny world we live in. Thanks for your reply.

I cannot but to say that your write up is so interesting as it flows like water of a great river and filled my soul with great inspiration. Thanks so much for your skills and everything....... @galenkp

Thank you for your poetic reply. Water has the power to wash clean, to give life and to move mountains...I'm glad my post was inspiring to you. Have a great day.

Mutluluklar dilerim :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45