You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not to be strange or anything, but you remind me of someone I know...

in #life7 years ago

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/01/10/warren-buffet-isnt-eager-to-trade-his-flip-phone-in-for-an-iphone.html

I pasted this recent article about Warren Buffet still using a flip phone. It made me feel less weird still using one myself in spite of the opprobrium attached to using a "dumb phone."
It's a global pox and the speed with which it spread is simply amazing. In 1994 I had cell phone for business that consisted of a large box on the seat of my work truck that plugged into the lighter. It had an antenna, and it worked, sometimes. It was only a phone. Not a camera or entertainment center. We got our first desk-top around 2000. I remember a woman going on about how fast email was and I was thinking, "what the hell is email?" What I'm getting at is these technologies are still relatively new, and the long term sociological and psychological effects they will have on humanity is an unknown. I often wonder how a handful of guys like Gates, Jobs, the Google guys, and others, can make billions of dollars from these inventions, profoundly transforming human existence in the process, without any reflection or debate on the wisdom of it all. Mankind has never been able to do this. Every young child I know is addicted to technology. Teenage boys play video games after school with other kids on the other side of the planet but won't get to know the kid who moved in next door. Then there's the narcissistic selfies. We're all lab rats.

Sort:  

100% upvote on this reply bro. Couldn’t have said it better myself @dissfordents! Go check out my other post today for a laugh about phone usage. It’s a bit sarcastic (a lot) but has a message too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42