You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not to be strange or anything, but you remind me of someone I know...

in #life7 years ago

I often feel the same way about communication; it's eroding slowly, and people are increasingly finding it more and more appropriate to carry out conversations better had face-to-face over social media platforms.

On the flipside, people are perhaps a bit more surprised when someone reaches out and talks to them, when electronic communication would be a valid option.

Either way, people are communicating less face-to-face, and I believe that is cause for concern.

This is why I think it's important to really "turn off" when we are in the presence of friends. Put away your damn phone, and have a real conversation. Those face-to-face interactions are something to be treasured, and we should be mindful of those interactions as they are happening.

Thanks for sharing! I am glad that I am not alone in my frustrations or opinions. :)

Sort:  

Hey Chris, you're right people these days may to react in a surprised manner to direct human-to-human contact. I held a door open for a lady (a stranger) not too long ago and she got mad at me telling me she could do it herself. It was just being courteous as she was walking directly behind me. I would have done it if she was a bloke also.

Turning off the phone, and putting it out of sight is a great idea when with friends or family. I do it when I am in a business meeting with clients or the Directors of my company so why not with friends.

Thanks for your comments. Greatly appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43