Death: How prepared are you?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

He lay on the bed, eyes closed, chest rising ever so slightly with each shallow intake of breath. He looked peaceful, and indeed he was; Surrounded by family, his frail hand held in the small hand of his granddaughter. The hospital equipment continued to beep in the background however none was hooked up to the man in the bed, it came from outside the small room and the group paid it no heed. They were there at their patriarch's final moments and nothing else seemed to intrude on that intimate gathering. Tears glistened in the eyes of the group surrounding the bed, adults and children alike, and each person was lost in thoughts of what this man meant to them. And then...His chest stopped moving. It was over...

In life we can be assured of nothing much else except death. It happens often; About 105 people die per minute around the world, and it will happen to you and I eventually. My mum died in a palliative care unit in a hospital; She had cancer and when she died was almost unrecognisable to me, physically I mean. My family had spent the night at the palliative care unit sleeping on couches and chairs as my mum was quite close to death. In the morning we were told she was stable and to head home, grab breakfast and showers, and that they would call us if there was any change. We did so however received a phone call about an hour later advising she was heading down hill. We raced to the hospital with little regard for the speed limit and ran through the hospital to get to the palliative care ward however on arrival were advised she had passed only a couple of minutes prior to us arriving. It was a pretty heart wrenching moment. I was absolutely furious with myself for having left in the first place and felt pretty terrible that she had died in that room alone. This was back in 2004 and it still makes me tear up thinking about it. At the time I needed consoling not just for the fact she passed but I was just so angry with myself for not being there.

Of course from there I had to bring it together and take control of the arrangements one needs to make when someone dies and then, over the next several months, the wrapping up of my mums affairs.

I had a conversation with a couple of people at work this past week about changing my Will and was surprised to hear that neither of the people had one, which is simply crazy. Sure, we don't want to think about our own mortality however not having a Will is simply ludicrous.

A last Will and Testament is a legal document communicating a deceased person's final wishes in respect of possessions and dependents. The last will and testament outlines what to do with those possessions, whether he or she is leaving them to another person, a group of people, family or even donating them to a charity. It also relates to what happens to other things that the person is responsible for like the custody of any dependents, accounts and interests such as businesses and the like.

I have had one since the age of 20. I'm changing it though as I need to take into consideration new family members and my changing circumstances. My wife and I both have Wills stating that upon death all our worldly possessions go to the other and in the advent of us dying together, or the last remaining person dies, then our estate will be disposed of and the proceeds distributed in a certain way. To be honest we won't be around and so it hardly matters who gets our estate however as we are childless we would like the culmination of our entire lives to go towards assisting someone else and if that can make their life a little easier than so be it.

Here, not having a legal will means the government (Public Trustee) step in and dictate the eventual distribution of the estate and, of course, take a very hefty sum for their trouble. I don't know what it means in your part of the world but I assume not having a last will and testament will severely affect your next of kin and could even mean the people you would like to receive your possessions and estate may actually not. Is that how you'd like it to go?

My wife and I have been thinking about distribution of our estate and we think we have it worked out. We always write our Wills so that they are easy to execute and rather than assign specific items to specific people we simply state that our worldly possessions are to be disposed of and the proceeds divided in accordance with the splits and to the relevant people in our Wills. Simple. We also appoint our law firm as the executor of our Wills, they take a fee, but being the executor of a Will is probably one of the worst jobs you could imagine and I wouldn't want to impose that on anyone I know or like. The lawyers will do it and to be honest they are best placed to do so. It won't cost me a cent; I'll be dead.

So, we're off to the lawyer, never a cheap process, to get our Wills done in the next week or so and they should hopefully see us through for then next 20 years or so. We plan to ensure our Wills are up to date and relevant at all times whilst we have legal capacity to avoid having these decisions taken out of our hands.

Every time the topic comes up I always urge people to get it done, and not just with a legal will kit from the post office either; They are not worth the paper they're written on. If you haven't done it go ahead and make some enquiries at a lawyer in your local area; It's really not that expensive. Your family, loved ones, dependants and deserve it. (Or maybe not.)

[- Design and create your ideal life, don’t live it by default -]

graveyard image source
cemetery girl image source

Sort:  

That's a good encouragement. It's important to make sure that your stuff goes to the person(s) you wish. It's not about you at that point, but if you cared for them in life, why not help them in your death? You're right that it's not cheap, but it's worth it to make sure that your stuff goes to helping the people you love (or whomever you choose).

You weren't kidding when you said you were working on a more serious post, were you? :)

This is actually a cautionary tale for many; it's the kind of thing that people put off for a bunch of different reasons, but probably because they don't want to think of their mortality. Of course Brian and I have ours done, but we did it before he got sick because we both have past spouses and our wills needed to be changed. I know of a family where the parents died, leaving no will, and it was a mess for years. I figured when the time comes, my death (and yes, I'm assuming Brian will go first) will be difficult enough for my kids and family, and they should be able to focus on grieving and not paperwork and lawyers. It's the least we can do for our loved ones.

It’s a difficult time when someone passes on and anything that can be done prior to make it easier is preferable in my opinion. I am heading to the funeral home on Monday to discuss some options for my (still living) dad. He’s 82 and suffers with dementia and when he goes I don’t want to have the added burden of the funeral preparation to contend with. He has a Will fortunately.

It’s just a difficult time. I’ve lost grandparents and friends but prior to my mum dying I’d never had to deal with the legal aftermath of a death. I’m not looking forward to my dad going and shudder to think what it would be like if my wife went before me. It must be such a terrible time.

I meant to also say how sorry I was for you, that you weren't there when your mom passed. When Brian's father was in a home, and basically starving to death, all of the kids and their spouses visited him one day. He'd had numerous strokes and was unable to talk, and eat...he had been living on this horrible lemon protein pudding, which he let dribble out of his mouth when I tried to feed him. His favourite drink had been rum and coke, so Brian and I decided to make the visit a memorable one and "sneak" some in.) His sister, the rule follower was beside herself, but we said, what are they going to do? Kick him out? :) I proceeded to spoon feed him the drink, and not a drop was dribbled! He enjoyed it so much, laughing and smiling. When the siblings were all talking amongst themselves, I saw him watching them and smiling and I said, "Life is complete when you see your family so happy, isn't it?". He smiled again, gave me the thumbs up and wiped away some tears. We left that night with the plan to all return the next day, but he died that evening instead. I think that the right time for someone literally on their death bed, is just that...the right time for them, and not the right time for us. Don't be so hard on yourself about it all; I'm sure your mother knew you were all there and she also knew that it was her right time to go. As a mom, I also know that I would hate to see my child tormented by something completely out of their control.

I have went through the death of my stepfather. Although my mother thought she had everything prepared. When the day came she had all the legal parts taken care of, but what she was not prepared for was the physical and emotional toll that a death really takes on you.

Being the oldest, I stepped in and too control for my mother. It was a very difficult time for everyone in the family.

Being that I am at least half way done with my life , it made me realize that I need to start planning for that day for myself. It is not easy to think about, but ultimately the day will come. I completely agree that one has go through a lot of hoops just to leave this world.

Thank you for sharing. A hard subject to discuss, but you did a wonderful job, thank you.Keep on steemin!

Hi @stonedave, thanks for your valid and thoughtful reply.

Death is something I didn't think much about in my twenties. In my early thirties my mum passed and it brought it crashing home. Now in my late forties I think about it with more relevance to myself. I don't dwell on it but it gives me a good feeling to know that when I am gone certain people will benefit from what essentially will be the culmination of my life.

I have a father (almost 82) in a nursing home suffering dementia at the moment and so need to be realistic about the subject. The wheel turns huh?

Your mother was lucky to have your help.

All the best.

Unfortunately, here in Africa, there are people who just dread the thought of it simply because thinking about it would probably mean youre having a death wish for yourself. Lol
In reality, we all just scared...
The fear of the unknown....

Hmmmm... But Seriously now that you say it... It doesnt sound like a bad idea...

I hear you. I don’t fear death really; To be honest I fear my life without my wife in the advent of her dying before me. It might sound odd but it’s the truth. Of course I don’t have a terminal illness at the moment and so maybe my opinion would change if I did.

No one really wants to die or lose a dear one... The pain alone runs so deep into the hearts.. Its strong enough to kill in itself...

But then... Death cant be cheated.. Its an inevitable occurrence in the life of everyone

Everyone should contemplate their future death each morning when they get up. If you do, you will be less inclined to waste your day.

We have to be prepared for death

Such sage advice. Thank you, I never knew.

I'm hoping that someone could write an article on that. You know anyone?

Will the wrongdoer do not die?

A riddle for you in return to your perplexing reply:

I am alive without breath and cold as death. I am never thirsty but always drinking. What am I?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62706.80
ETH 2439.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66