The Faults of the "It's Not Fair" Argument

in #life6 years ago

I have said, or at least thought plenty of times certain situations are "not fair".
If you are being truthful to yourself, so have you.

thumb-440352_640.jpg
Source

Here are some examples where one might use it:

Where was the police to prevent the burglary at my store that left me broke? It's just not fair!

Where was you Regulation Authority to prevent that scammer from taking all my money? It's not fair!

Why did the other guy take the promotion I deserved? It's not fair!

Why wasn't I invited to that party? It's not fair!

How can I compete with that big company, since I'm so small? It's not fair!

Why did bitcoin's price crash right after I bought in? It's not fair.

How can I compete with a whale since I'm a tiny minnow? It's not fair!

How can I get to the Trending page, if it's full of posts upvoted by bots or whales? It's not fair!

...and we can go on.

I know it's difficult, but if we try to set aside the emotions which flood us when we think in terms of fair and unfair, there are three types of situations:

  1. irrecoverable losses, like loss of life or basic human rights (true unfairness)
  2. initial gaps
  3. setbacks

If we focus at the 2nd and 3rd points, what do they tell us?

In any endeavor we embark on, the starting point is not the same for everyone. Even in athletics, when runners start from the same line, they have previous hundreds or thousands of hours of practice that will most likely differentiate them.

In life, we find and join opportunities at different times and different levels, so we shouldn't expect an even field, after we start, considering many others were there ahead of us, or had invested much more than we did (time, expertise or money).

So, there's an initial gap. Complaining about the "fairness" of the game will unlikely change its rules, but will most likely increase the gap over time, if we don't work to reduce it instead.

Secondly, who doesn't have setbacks in life? Some are more serious than others, granted, but those who won't succumb to them and don't blame the whole thing on the lack of fairness, will exit these tough situations reinforced.

"It's not fair!" should be, in most cases, replaced with "thank you for the opportunity!", and maybe then, more will reach the higher-level rewards, and less will complain for not having access to them.



You might want to check out my small content contest!

Sort:  

"It's not fair!" should be, in most cases, replaced with "thank you for the opportunity!"

Bingo!

That's the real point to me....It's an opportunity to build something awesome and continue to grow. Be thankful most people think it's not fair and give up....Makes it easier for the people that stay the course :)

Yep, I know you've nailed this point many times! Yet how many listen?

That's a good point. And it's something I used to drive myself nuts over...WHY WON'T THEY LISTEN!!! lol

But seriously...That's the biggest 'opportunity' is that most will give up. I see it in online business and I see it in the crypto space....No one has yearly ambitions...They go day to day looking to strike it rich.

So true! Reminds me in a way of the Gold Rush period. They all wanted to strike it rich.

I think that it's not fair all the time, so I enjoyed this post. i will in the future turn it's not fair to thank you for the opp

That's the best approach, as much as we can! Thanks for your comment.

upvoted good luck sir! :)

Is that all you say on Steem?

He might want to make some point about... spam? :)

Yeah he's better than that. Not sure why he just repeats the same stuff on people's posts.

I know. Well, maybe he stopped focusing on Steem for a while. Still don't know what's with the comments though... Maybe he can shed some light, lol!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gadrian from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70