Show rather than tell

in #life6 years ago (edited)

focus-balance-force.jpg

Hey everyone,

Imagination rules the world?
I have been interested in "personal development" ever since one of my brothers "Roy" took me through a quick guided colour meditation when I was about 19. At the time, my young heart was broken yet again. Which girl, I can not even remember now.

He had just learned something called Alpha - which was a short chakra meditation followed by some visualisation work. The idea was to get the brain into alpha brain wave state, then introduce some beneficial expectations.

At the time I thought this was so powerful, surely all one needs in life is imagination and the ability to sit still.

Reality Cheques don't bounce
Well 28 years later, and I am still developing the ability to sit still and be with the full reality of the any situation before applying imagination. Imagination without the reality check is a whole different animal.

Perhaps, like many, I have had had exceptional moments of clarity followed by decisive action and a "positive attitude".

Mostly though, I have tried to control events, (control or totally avoid other people) rather than being more responsible for how I use my time and the quality of my "emotional footprint".

Luckily I am still young enough to keep learning.

Show rather than tell
The words - Show, rather than Tell, are ringing loudly in my head today. Though I have heard them many times, they have a different depth now.

All the insights in the world are worse than useless if my actions do not express my values.
"my values" are only that, a personal choice to guide my actions, this if very different from a set of opinions to inflict upon others who are trying to go about their own lives.

If I am clear about what I want, then my actions will demonstrate that louder than either small, or big talk.

What do I Really want, what am doing today towards those goals?
I use this question to check in with myself and see if I am fully appreciating the day.
Its ok to have un productive days, its also ok to not want anything, so long as that is how I genuinely feel.
Being "stuck", lacking confidence or energy, is not the same as not wanting anything.

Luckily, because I truly do not want for much, I have more time and energy to focus on what I do want.

for me, lately, that is health.

Sort:  

With the best and standard thinking,​ you have made the physical structure even better. This leads human to health. Very Nice.

Right on. I want to be out on that water :). Maybe a trip to the ocean tomorrow. Ty for sharing.

I'm in an introspective place this week as well. It is a shame it takes so long to master ourselves, although I guess that's the nature of life - we can't all be sages, or at least not until we are old.

I've been realizing how much control I have over my emotions lately. Besides anger, a lot of sadness can be controlled too. I suppose that precedes truly following my values.

I'm rambling, I'll close here :) Hope you stay focused on your health.

Not rambling at all. Makes total sense.
Putting it into action is sooo hard though :)

nice adventure....

@freemoceanisnow personal Development should be always our first choice. Very amazingly Written.

muy bueno tu post excelente trabajo

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Good post @freemoceanisnow you continue to surprise us with you articles,keep sterling we missed you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62149.46
ETH 2438.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68