3 rule to live by...

in #life7 years ago

It has taken me some time to work out how to live a happy life. I have found over the years it has come down to 3 simple rules that have helped me to always keep a smile on my face despite what the world throws at me.

1 "No one is smarter then you, no one is better then you."

This was once advice given to me by someone much older and wiser then me. He was one of those guys who had been there and done it all. Along his journey in life he had to deal with people who thought they were smarter/better them him but they would always make mistakes no different to anyone else. Often when questioned on the superior knowledge they had about topics they knew everything about, these individuals could quote text book answers but when a problem presented its self in a manner they were not accustom to they would always turn to him for the answers. I have found through my own experience that the more some one try's to defend their "superiority" the more mistakes you can find in the choices they have made along there journey.

  1. "Son all women have problems. just find one with problems you can live with"

This was the advice my father gave me before I got marred. Now before any feminist gets up set with me for posting that, this advice goes both ways. Everyone in this world has problems in one form or another. When it comes to selecting a life partner take the time to really look at who that person is. Look hard and remember the problems that you see will still be there in 10 years. Ask yourself do you still want to live with those problems in 10 years and many more after that? Asking this question could save you a lot of trouble in the future. Don't make the mistake of looking for someone who has no flaws. They only exist in stories and fantasy. Everyone has problems, you do, I do, just find the one person who makes you happy and has problems you can live with.

  1. Always check there is toilet paper before you sit down.

Pretty much explains it right there. If you need more of an explanation think of it more as look before you leap. Take the time to make sure you know what you are getting into. Preplanning never hurts. Make sure you have the tools you need to get the job done before you start. Open your eyes because never know what kind of shit you could find yourself in.

These are the rules I live by and I have found that I no longer worry about what others think. I have problems I can live with and I have never had to ask anyone on the other side of the door to pass me a roll. What are the rules that help you live you life?

Sort:  

I try so hard to live by this rule: Don't be a prick.
Some days, though... it's so difficult.
Humans and the space energies can be tough to deal with!

Congratulations @flycasual! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51