My dog is so cute, he gets a free ride through life

in #life7 years ago

This is Balder, my two-year-old dog, a crossbreed between German Shepherd and Labrador Retriever. And being as cute as he is, he has earned himself a free-ride-card through life! In fact, he is so adorable that he gets fed twice a day and has his own little house he can stay in. Crazy, right?!

How did I ever agree to this!? No way I'm right in the head. It's such a bad deal. Not just anyone are let in on the cake eating for free. Doubtless, my dog has some enchanting super power, and I have fallen victim to his spell!

Balder is named after the kindest of the Norse gods, whose grace, wisdom and ability to spread joy to everyone around him had never been seen before, and would go unmatched for the rest of time. Thus, he became the most beloved among the deities. Truth is, the world thought so well of Balder that all things - living and inanimate - agreed to never bleed him in any way. And so his existence was without a single worry, for nothing could hurt him, and evil was unable to enter his mind.


I promise you, just like his namesake my furry friend refuses to let anything dishearten him. Is it meant to be feeding time, but his food has not yet thawed? No problem, give him ten seconds and a stick. It's already forgotten! Has he been all alone for hours when there was nobody home? Don't worry. Balder holds no grudges.

Sadly, his untroubled life would be a short one, for he would be deceived by Loki - the trickster - who found the one thing that had been left out of the world's agreement with Balder, namely the mistletoe. And from it he had an arrow made, which he then gave a blind man during a game of "throw stuff at Balder". And the world wept at the loss of it's most cherished being.

As is my dog's case. Innocence and naivety are a short lived states. In three years, four-legs will be dead due to medication for a disease he knows nothing about.

Balder the dog has a really dumb look on his face from time to time. But he doesn't have me fooled, that sly sleaze! He's is pulling off the best act in history, he is, and right in front of me. Give him an Oscar, already! Would he actually be this cunning, then his appeal would instantly vanish. Naaaa. When thinking about it, he most likely is kind of dumb.
I guess it's for his best.


My dog's carefree magic makes me believe there is hope for me as well; to someday attain unconditional happiness. That's why I keep him.

Nominated to the academy
Sort:  

what a cutie.. I have never own one, but would love to get one in the future. it's just a big responsibility.

For the first few months, it's perhaps like having a baby (not that I would know)? Well, a puppy may be somewhat more independent, but I think it's pretty close.

That's one lucky dog and brave too, he took on that hoover with such conviction.
Oh yeah big up to @scrooger for the markdown tips, my posts are looking almost half professional now :)
Nice post @fisch

Dogs are great companions. I had my dog for 16 years and we spent just about everyday together.. I love how each dog has his own personality and mood. But no matter what they are always ready to go for a walk
My dog died 12 months ago and i miss him :)

A dog is a man's friend!

Balder looks cute! Thank you for sharing his cuteness :)

He is cute indeed.

He looks hungry man, like me :))

Congratulations @fisch! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Now that's a cute dog you have there :D

Congratulations @fisch! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61911.99
ETH 2585.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56