There Is No Better Way To Die Than This—RIP Dad!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The ambulance never made it and as I carried his body in my arms, he breathed his last. It is 3 years today since my father passed away, and yesterday his friend, our neighbour, and father to my childhood friends passed away due to the same reasons as my dad, prompting me to write this story.

June 18th 2014, I was home to see my father. He had been ailing for a long time and was in his final days. I was flying back to New Delhi that afternoon as I lived there at the time and had everything ready.

As we woke up that morning, he seemed weak and wasn't able to move around much. He could barely utter any words as I tried to converse with him. My mother and I felt it might just be a matter of days before he's no more. There wasn't much that could be done for him at this stage. His liver had failed and there wasn't anything the doctors could do for him anymore. This was it!

It was noon and suddenly it seemed like he wasn't able to breathe normally anymore. His body seemed limp, unresponsive and his breathing progressively slowing down. I called one of the best hospitals in town, located nearby (fortunately just 0.7 miles away), and requested for an ambulance.

For whatever reasons, there was some confusion and they had no ambulances available as all were out on an emergency and gave me a number for a private ambulance operator. But after a few minutes of waiting he confirmed he couldn't make it. We had an in-house male nurse at the time to attend to my dad. We decided not to waste any more time and decided to carry him ourselves to my car and take him to the hospital.

I held my dad and lifted him from under his shoulders and the nurse carried his feet and we slowly made it towards my car in the parking. Just as we crossed the main door to my house, I heard him take his final dying breath, and in that moment I knew he was gone. I was scared and felt the blood rush to my head.

I refused to believe that he was no more, not yet! We slowly placed him into the car, my mother sat behind us and the nurse supported his head, his eyes were shut and body starting to turn pale and we buckled him to the seat and rushed! My mother who had long endured, kept comforting me all the while asking me to be brave!

In under 3 minutes we were at the hospital and as we reached the entrance to the emergency, our family doctor also the hospital's head of general medicine just happened to be walking out. I called him to examine my dad and he did so immediately and confirmed that he was no more. We took him into the emergency room and further examined him under ECG which confirmed once and for all that he had passed away...

His sickness—cirrhosis of the liver had gotten to him and yesterday to his friend.

His last rites were performed on the same evening at our local crematorium. It rained hard on that evening, but not hard enough to quell my thoughts.

I lit the pyre and after a while I just couldn't stand there and watch it burn. I was in distress but this was inevitable. I was aware that one day my time would come too!

I walked down to the river nearby and sat down on the steps going down to it. One of my closest friends accompanied me in the pouring rain, she held my hand tightly and kept consoling me that everything is going to be fine. My relatives nowhere in sight!

It took me 3 weeks to wrap up all the paperwork that follows after the passing of a family member. We cleared the mortgage to the house and other liabilities left behind after his passing. I decided to bring my car back with me to Delhi and drove back the 1550 mile journey instead of taking the flight.

Few weeks later on a weekend, my friend and I sat down at the coffee shop outside the Taj Hotel and I narrated this incident to him. My biker friend is an incredibly talented, former Colonel as well as a decorated soldier in the Indian Army. He took the opportunity to narrate how his father passed away due to a heart attack as he climbed the stairs in their house. He was climbing behind his father and managed to catch him as he collapsed and died in his arms. He said and I quote, "There is no better way to die than in the arms of your children."

As an Army soldier he has seen it all. As a traveller I have stood witness to life where I've lost a few friends in the worst ways possible. One can die in so many tragic ways. I've cheated death a few times myself.

Wouldn't we prefer to rather die peacefully and in a recognisable physical condition? I certainly agreed to that and felt that despite whatever pain and suffering my father might've had to endure in his final days, dying in the arms of his son was probably the best way to go. A luxury not everyone in this world has anymore and something that we cannot choose for ourselves! Just as we didn't choose to be born, we cannot decide most of the time, when and how we wish to die!

Someone elderly told me once that, "parents must always go before their children and it is the correct order to come to this world and leave it one day." Looking back at these moments I feel that they were both right and I hope one day to leave in the same way or perhaps atleast doing something I truly love!

Happy Father's Day Dad and RIP wherever you may be!


Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Thank you. I'm off to see Dad now at the nursing home. He is 98 and has dementia. It's not easy. But like you said it is inevitable and one day my time will come.
Peaceful and drawn out or quick and possibly violent? Who can say? I am not afraid though. There is a light burning deep inside me that lights the way. My father is struggling though. He is not accustomed to being helpless. he has always been able to "figure" his way out of difficulties. But he can't figure his way out of this one. So he is not all peaceful. I wish I could help me. He's fighting a losing battle. You were so fortunate to be with your father like that at end of life.

Thank you for your words. You gut me at the point when you talked about dementia. My beloved grandmother died on the sunday of easter 2016. It was very hard to see her mind getting more and more destroyed. Leaving just a body... without her mind and all the things I loved about her.

In my heart she is still my loving grandmother.
And that´s how everybody should try to keep the loved ones in mind.
Sadly, the images of the last days are kinda burnt into my brain. And I have to concentrate to think about her, how she was years before.
THAT was my grandmother!

Not the "body" what dementia turned her into...

Thank you. Dad's gone now. But he became very peaceful towards the end. Just let go. He was always there for me. Even at the end with dementia taking its toll. Don't know what I might have done to get such a wonderful person as him for my father. But I am truly thankful.

Thank you for sharing this with me. It is hard indeed and I hope it gets easier for you somehow and for him with time... It's hard for people who've always figured things out for themselves to go through such situations... Wish you both the best!

I'm touched. Truly.

My condolences, to you, your family and friend. You're a strong person, I can tell. Your story has brought to light some thoughts I have been having lately. I've just wished my Dad a happy Father's Day and not being able to do so in person makes me feel horrible. Circumstances are complicated, but I'm thankful for having him around. I spent three weeks with him in April this year though, and so that's some kind of consolation for not being with him now.

After a freak attack he endured from a criminal last year, I've always been scared of losing him. He almost lost his life. When I heard of it I was disturbed, hurt, disappointed in myself for not being able to protect him, angry at how another human being could do this to him, consumed by fear of losing him, and a whole lot more complicated emotions.

I wished him a happy Father's Day today by phone, but deep inside I was thanking the powers that be for his life.

Thank you for sharing your story. It touched me.

Thank you so much for sharing this with me! I'm glad that your father is safe and sound now!

Feels like getting an ambulance took forever. I am sorry to hear about this - especially the fact that a friend of yours had to go through the same. I think losing a parent is one of the toughest things to go through. Not sure how I would handle that - hopefully they will stick around for plenty of time.

Deep post. Thank you for sharing - I didn't know about this.

yes losing parents especially at young age is very traumatic.because they are your closest
best friends, and when we are young we don't appreciate them us much. but only when we grow we start to appreciate them when its too late, made me cry writing this

You are right! Thank you for reading and commenting!

Thank you Shannon!

Sorry you had to go through this terrible ordeal, @firepower.

I've had my fair share of loved ones passing and it never seems to get easier to talk about. But you showed courage and resolve in the face of a very difficult and stressful situation. I have the utmost respect for you and hope that you received (and will continue to receive) nothing but the best in your life from that point on.

Bless you, sir and thank you for sharing this tragic, but courageous story with us.

Thank you @ezzy for your kind words and understanding and for stopping by to read my story! Appreciate it a lot!

Being a daddy's girl your words have touched me in a very special way. It is a brave step to share this moment and your feelings with us. I am absolutely convinced that he knew you were there and passed away in peace. That surely can't take away your pain, but probably it helps to deal with it. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Big hugs!

I think the same thing..

I am absolutely convinced that he knew you were there and passed away in peace.

Thank you Marly for taking the time to read this and respond! Appreciate it!

Such love, very good story.

Μay he rest in peace.

Thank you so much!

Your're welcome~

Honestly, amazing and beautiful, friend. Thank you for sharing this. It makes me more willing to share some of my story more at some point as well.

I think people often forget just how precious the last stretch of life really can be, and often how healing that time can be for family members who are estranged or in pain. It's a sacred thing. As painful as it was, there is something right and incredible about having been able to be there with him as he passed. May he rest in peace, and may you find the consolation you need to keep going with your father gone.

Thank you Kay! Appreciate you reading this and writing to me what you thought afterwards!

@firepower, My heartfelt condolences for your loss. your narration touched a chord in my heart somewhere deep down and pulled some memories of my own.. It is very painful... May his soul rest in eternal peace. and God bless you with strength to bear your loss.

Thank you for reading and commenting @topdog!

Such love!

Indeed!

Very touching, thanks for sharing. He lives on through your story.

Thank you for this comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86