You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There Is No Better Way To Die Than This—RIP Dad!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Thank you. I'm off to see Dad now at the nursing home. He is 98 and has dementia. It's not easy. But like you said it is inevitable and one day my time will come.
Peaceful and drawn out or quick and possibly violent? Who can say? I am not afraid though. There is a light burning deep inside me that lights the way. My father is struggling though. He is not accustomed to being helpless. he has always been able to "figure" his way out of difficulties. But he can't figure his way out of this one. So he is not all peaceful. I wish I could help me. He's fighting a losing battle. You were so fortunate to be with your father like that at end of life.

Sort:  

Thank you for your words. You gut me at the point when you talked about dementia. My beloved grandmother died on the sunday of easter 2016. It was very hard to see her mind getting more and more destroyed. Leaving just a body... without her mind and all the things I loved about her.

In my heart she is still my loving grandmother.
And that´s how everybody should try to keep the loved ones in mind.
Sadly, the images of the last days are kinda burnt into my brain. And I have to concentrate to think about her, how she was years before.
THAT was my grandmother!

Not the "body" what dementia turned her into...

Thank you. Dad's gone now. But he became very peaceful towards the end. Just let go. He was always there for me. Even at the end with dementia taking its toll. Don't know what I might have done to get such a wonderful person as him for my father. But I am truly thankful.

Thank you for sharing this with me. It is hard indeed and I hope it gets easier for you somehow and for him with time... It's hard for people who've always figured things out for themselves to go through such situations... Wish you both the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54