Have You Had Something Stolen From You?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So last night a mutual friend traveling in a train had her bag stolen which carried her laptop, backup drives, clothes etc. She woke up to find it missing.

She's also a Steemian so she's obviously lost access to her account. I'm not sure if she's had any other backup of passwords stored anywhere else. Importance of a secure cloud storage cannot be over stated eh? That's another post in itself.

burglary-2022162_1280.png

Source

Anyway, it can be very daunting to deal with such a situation as she was hundreds of kms from her destination and didn't even have a charger to charge up her phone. Fortunately she will reach home safe and sound.

Traveling can be a nightmare when bad things happen to you but theft can occur anywhere, anytime.

In 2016 I had this happen to me. I was robbed of my belongings in Goa. Laptop, clothes everything when someone broke into my hotel room and stole my things; never to be found again.

In my childhood my bicycle was stolen, and I was also pickpocketed once in a crowded Indian bus. I think I was in the 3rd or 4th grade at the time.

Nothing much in between these incidents and the laptop theft.

Cops here are pretty useless most of the time. Even if you can pressure them to doing their job it can turn out to be quite a futile experience. Atleast in my experience.

What about you? Have you ever experienced this in your life. What happened?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #58

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Felt pretty bad to hear about your friend. ...she must went through some horendous time . It is not easy to cope with sudden incident and that too when you have all important document within...Train traveller seems to be an easy target ...for these thief's

Anyway, never had any ...(finger crossed) except once in a DTC bus someone pickpocketes Rs.100 through the rush...
I had seen people doing those stealing....once my childhood, my dad went to train ticket booking counter queue ,I was outside the queue...and saw someone trying to insert his hand in my dads pocket....though I alerted my dad and that guy frisked away in the rush.
Secondly while boarding a train at night, I noticed an old guy in good cloth making some supicious movement in the platform. As the train arrives, and people started to board he also get inside and within few min get down with a laptop bag. Within few seconds a guy started shouting about his laptop . So I assumed he was the guy who stoled it....could not do much for these unscrupulous people who make away so easily. Also, they never operate alone....and keep their allies ready for any kind of danger. ....

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes. Twice I had my purse and bag stolen from me. The first time was during the Chinese New Year. My bag was snatched by a motorcyclist. Second time, I was working during an event in a mall and my bag was stolen. 😫😫😫

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah same story as Pakistan the cops are too lazy and people with devilish minds are too cunning. Had my mobile snatched a couple of years ago, that day I felt so helpless couldn't do anything for my own safety a horrible experience.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sir, actuly I am not faecing in the my life that type satution but this is unbalancing unaccepted condition.

Posted using Partiko Android

  1. Pickpocket incident in 2017 could not get back.
  2. I came down from train and left laptop bag in train and Some important documents was inside the bag also. After 2 hrs later I came to know that I left my bag in train but this time my one railway police helped to get it back.
    3.Waiting for next lol...

Posted using Partiko Android

Merry christmas! :) 🎄

Not experienced it before, but my friend has.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Yes, A mobile phone in my college days when I was walking through a empty lane. Still a harrowing experience. I was threatened and beaten by a group of people.

That is really bad to hear about your friend hope so see gets her belongings back...
#myexperience
When i guess in 5th class i started using wallet so i was going in a train journey and while entering the train due to rush my wallet got stolen and i was a bit sad and that was my only experience of my things geeting stolen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55