If I Had A Million $

in #life8 years ago (edited)

With all the $ symbols on Steemit and the dreams and visions of prosperity, that many members express on here, I can't help asking myself:

.... and then what ?

The internet is a crazy place and anything could happen ...
It feels even more so for SteemIt.

Some people expect to make a lot of money here ...
It's not what I am mainly here for, but I don't mind a payout, either.

Anyways, it got me thinking

... what would I do ?

For simplicity, let's assume I had 1 Million $ Cash in a dark suitcase.

I would start backpacking arround the globe.

Not hopping from hub to hub by plane or train, but instead slowly, in small legs, walking or hitchhiking.
I would just go 'wherever the wind drives me'.

Eventually I would end up somewhere cool, or ... get lost somewhere in the wilderness. ( still cool )
New Zealand would be a good place to start with that.

So that I don't run out of money, I'd still pick up work, if something good popped up along the way.

What I would mainly look for though, would be people or visions to invest in.

As a traveler I sometimes feel like I could bring the 'pieces' together, like parts of a puzzle.

I met some people, who had the right vision, but not the necessary network.
Some others had a great spirit and working attitude, but no vision.
Most of them had not enough money or confidence.

I would actively search for micro investments

Ideally, I would leave a trail of small investments, like little seeds, arround the globe.

I could imagine, it could make some people really happy and maybe one day I could come back and get a return on my investments.

If anything, it sure would be a good time. 1 mio $ would probably keep me going like that for quite a while.

But maybe I come back to this one day:

Depending on how well I 'plant' my investments, I could keep going arround.
Maybe drop by annually. For harvest time.

Cherrypicking

I imagine that could be quite a rewarding enterprise.

Thank you for reading,
have a great day !

P.S.: What would you do, if you had 1 million $ in a suitcase ?

Sort:  

I would finally begin my rental property empire I've been dreaming of starting! Single-family, multi-family, possibly even apartment buildings so that I could live off of the future income. Then I might have time to write about it on Steemit or something ;)

#PayItForward nice read... I like the way you think. That would be a nice legacy to leave in this world.
Thanks for sharing and I'm very happy to know I inspired you to do this. :)

I didn't expect this exposure, otherwise I might have mentioned you :)

More cowbell !

https://steemit.com/steemit/@mrwang/the-legend-of-bruce-dickinson-inspiration-to-anybody-needing-more-cowbell

You can still update your post by clicking "EDIT" and if you want... add it in wherever you like

I will pay it back, don't worry about that ;)
I just don't want to touch it anymore ... It's good.

( spotted some typos, too ... nvm )

When I say "Pay it Forward" I mean... what you are trying to do is share your success by paying it forward to someone else who could use the information or blessing you were given.

hahaha funny post and a nice thought experiment that I'm sure many have pondered. Once you get into the 7 figures, even without investments, one could just live off the interest it would incur in a savings account. However, I already do this, so I would invest more money into stocks and crypto, perhaps get into realestate too. I would not have much use for it other than this. I would not make any big purchases (as I already have all I need) and I have no desire to travel anywhere in participial either. So I would invest it.

YES :)

Making money work for me rather than me working for money is the best way for sure.

Before I read your post:

  • If I had a million (euros) I will share some of this with my friends :)

My second reply will come later. Time to work now :)

OK, I am back.

My answer won't be as original and uplifting as is yours.

  1. I will buy a nice house with a lot of space around it, including meadows and forests and a little creek,
  2. I'll drink a beer, slowly
  3. I will settle a bit with my family
  4. after some time we'll go on a journey around the world with a camper (WoMo :) ), let's say 8 months away and 4 at home, not in one piece, of course
  5. during our travels the kids will be educated on the road and among the people that we meet
  6. I would be having an open eye for opportunities, why not

That's it for the first eight or something years. Nothing original, you see. Just a bit of family quality time.

I would fully pay off a cheap house and go travelling for a bit. Start a small business afterwards.

Well, it is something that I am actually doing, and without $1 mil. But since I don't have much extra money (sometimes not at all), I invest my time, effort & expertise.

If I had that much money, I would set up several communities in different parts of the world, the smart village as it were. High self sufficiency and low consumption footprint, with any income for buying things that can't be made localy comming from creative pursuits on the intenet, or perhaps selling something valuable that is made on site. One of such products that I was thinking of is the knowhow kits for local traditional technologies. Like maybe using plant based colorants for textile.

You can actually think of them as high-tech hippy communes. Not just back to nature, but isung tech that can improve the sustainable lifestyle. Permaculture farming, solar power, etc.

And stay in them for significant part of the year, with another part spent traveling. Somehow staying in one place is not something for me, at least not at the moment.
Good luck with your dream, and if you put your mind to it, you could start in maybe half a year or so, even without $1 mil in your Dark Suitcase. Walking the earth is a really cool thing to do!

Thank you for your answer !

I've been traveling for almost 3 years and have - no offence - seen as much as you have - probably more.
Just because I wrote this post in a 'naive' fashion, doesn't mean, I live under a rock. :)

Let me just say ... hippies don't impress me ... ;)

I am not talking about hippy stereotypical hippies. But there are quite a bit of people who like the ida about comunal living, sustainable farming and other cool things that have the hippy vibe around them. That is what and who I was talking about.
I am sure that you probably have! I only have most of the europe under my belt with some places in India and Russia.
Thing is for quite a bit of my latest adventures I am walking as much as possible. Did that on the Khabarovsk-Vladivostok hitch hike, and everywhere I can. I actually left Moscow, because I walked most of its streets and it was getting to cramped and old for me.

Still, I have all of South-East Asia, both Americas, Africa & Australia to visit yet, so there is much more in front of me, than behind. Oh, and since getting a job working in Antarctica didn't work out for me, it might be that I'll never visit it, but one can dream! :->

Oh, and since getting a job working in Antarctica didn't work out for me, it might be that I'll never visit it, but one can dream! :->

Here is what you could do:
Some Pokemon can only be caught in the antarctic.
Maybe try funding a pokemongo safari and become the first tourguide.

No, I applied to the position of the tech guy for the Russian Antarctic Expedition, but there were so many people who wanted to go that the position closed really fast, and I was a bit late.
Which is a pity, since I used to work with a prominent glacilogist. Ever heard of Lake Vostok in Antarctica? I've been on the team of the guy who made the discovery (Zotikov, not Kropotkin, obviously). :-)
So it was like wow, I could visit places that he did. Naturally, he told really cool stories about his work. So I was a bit disappointed, that I couldn't take part in it.
Still, I'll consider your Pokemon idea. :->

It's an interesting question. We had an assignment like this back in 5th grade I remember quite well. We were given $1 million imaginary dollars, and a week to spend it. The class went through classified ads, catalogs, sales papers, and more, looking for things to pretend to buy, writing down what we "bought," and how much it cost, and subtracted the total from our million. The purpose of the project was to show us just how much a million dollars is; none of us in the entire class were able to spend a million in a week. Of course, we were ten years old, and this was the 1980's, so it might be a bit easier to spend it that quickly now. :)

If I had a million dollars straight-up cash now, I would buy a nice house for cash, with enough room for a few children, and a suite for my mother, when she eventually moves in with me. I would pay off all my debts, contribute more to the charities I already support, and maybe support some new ones as well, invest in my brother's fledgling biotech business so it can become the next big thing more quickly, and I'd look for smart investments so I'd never have to work at something I didn't love again. I'd spend my time traveling, writing and marketing my novels, doing genealogy and historical research, engaging in philanthropic endeavors, and just basically spending more time with the people I love and more time doing the things I really enjoy doing. I believe one day, I will have this, and more. It's coming. I know it.

Sounds like a great plan to me... We would do a lot of traveling. There is so much to see in the little time we are here. :)

Great post. I love the graphics. A million $ at my age would give me a comfortable life. I'm almost 68 years old and I've come to a point in life where I don't want or need much. Money equals freedom. My wife and I would visit our kids and grand kids around the country, go to a couple of spiritual seminars a year and basically live the simple life we live now here on the North Coast of Oregon.

Just another 1000 posts with similar success and the dark suitcase can be yours :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57291.92
ETH 3066.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36