The Most Irrelevant Question in Regards to Steemit

in #life6 years ago

I remember when I first got into Steemit just over two years back. Singing it's praises and spilling the beans about how revolutionary it's gonna in the future "and all that jazz" to my direct peers. Well, a handful of them actually did bite the bullet and sign up but, surprise surprise, only got one or two blog posts out before calling it a day. That was then and this is now. Two of them approached me yesterday and asked, what I consider to be, "the" most annoying question when it comes to Steemit.

170324155743-facepalm-stock-exlarge-169.jpg

"I've decided to give Steemit another try, but don't know what to write about. What do you reckon I should do?"

Jeez!!! I mean what in the hell? When I initially joined the platform, where were my instructions on what I need do? Where was my "guardian angel" coaxing me in the right direction as to how thing work up in here? Man, now I understand why this blockchain is referred to as "proof of brain".

So, I replied in a kinda direct fashion. I calmly explained that things have moved on since the "writing" phase. Now, you can make videos, post music clips, stream stuff. Basically, any source of media they wish to manipulate in order to just knock one post out, for now. Little did I know, I birthed an avalanche. Of questions, that is. What is Dlive? What is Dtube? How do I post videos? What do I need to do my end? What do I stream?

In the end, I couldn't take it anymore. I told them everything they wanna know is on the website itself. I mean, I somehow managed to figured it out in a matter of minutes. Not because I'm the world's biggest brainbox or anything, but because over the years I've learned to search out specific information required for me to perform a certain task. It's not rocket science, by any stretch. I explained that if they've ever used Google before, then it shouldn't really be a problem. Just type in what they wanna know and go fetch. Simple, right?

I find this to be a growing problem with society. The age of the "hand-feds". To the point where even picking up a mouse and inputting a question via a keyboard is becoming too hard to deal with. It's weird but maybe some folks out there, whilst posing as adults, have never really discarded their nappies. I mean, the groans I heard when they "expected" me to be their knight in shining armour, but wasn't. It was flippin' pathetic.

So, let me get this straight. If they can't even be bothered to discover for themselves how the various Dapps of Steem works, they seriously think I believe they're capable of producing an original piece of content? I'll lay money on it, even with them, that it never happens.

Therefore, a message to all you Steemians out there who are posting , commenting and "imagining" your posts into reality. Count yourselves as part of an elite section of society who have the capacity to "think" using your very own power of actual cognitive thought! Seems common sense is less common than you'd expect, lol...

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Yes so true about the "hand feds". That's a great way to term it. It's kind of like a disease to be honest lol

Anyway, I love Steemit because it's not like niche blogging which I have done the last 10 years on WP. It's free flow blogging. Yeah, that's a good term to use. i.e. Macro blogging

Thanks for this insightful blog post @ezzy !

yep, same here. I get tired of holding everyones hands because they refuse to do the research.

Kids requiring guidance is understandable. But fully grown adults? Not so much... :)

So glad to hear that I'm not the only one who know people like this and gets questions like that! :-)
Thanks for sharing this post which made me laugh hard! 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, glad you saw the sense of humour in it too, which was also very much part of my intent! :)

I noticed ;-)

I used to think I was the only one who always got upset about questions like this 😂. I also joined Steemit without having anyone to hold my hands and guide me through. I try to tell people that there’s so much they can learn trying to figure things out by themselves rather than waiting for me because for obvious reasons, there are things I’d forget to mention or just assume aren’t needed at the moment. So at the end of the day, they might not even be getting the full gist from me as opposed to them going to search it out.

We need to stop being lazy and waiting to be spoon fed.

Well said, man. Maybe Steemit, being released as instruction-less, inadvertently provided society with the long overdue "kick up the backside" it needed.

I feel you on this one bro. It's not just my friends, it's people on the Internet itself nowadays. I constantly enter into a debate about something with someone, and suddenly find out they want me to explain the basis of the debate to them. I'm like wait... so you don't even know that? I used to do the explaining.. but now I'm like "dude, go away and do some research, educate yourself about the basics, and then return to the debate if you still feel like it" :)

Yeah, buddy. It's like a disease that's only getting worse as time goes by. "Human attention span" will soon be going the way of the dodo, lol.

whilst posing as adults, have never really discarded their nappies

THIS IS 🔥🔥🔥 and I can't help but chuckle! Perhaps it's true 😂

Acquiring information and creating content has become easier for all of us - thanks to the Internet. So I don't see why that question makes sense, because you can create ANY type of content you want, and you don't have to ask somebody to know what type of content you want to put out!

Lol, especially with something like Steemit. It actually "promotes" us to come out of our comfort zone and forward think. That can only be a good thing in my book. :)

Exactly @ezzy. I guess I should say this platform don't have so many rules; all you have to do is to use your body, your 💓 to never run out of ideas to write about, and your brain to transform those ideas into writing, photos, videos, or whatever visible form there is.

Very well said. :)

Not a lot of "thinkers" in the world these days. I get the same questions all the time in my life, "Can you just tell me", kinda nonsense lol ... I call these people the "average" which is around 80% of the population. 🤣

With the internet and a brain at hand, I don't see what more info we can provide. It's just pure laziness in most cases I'm referring to. :)

I think you're being overly harsh but it's important to discuss none the less.

I've decided to give Steemit another try, but don't know what to write about.

I think what people really mean is "I don't know what I can write that will get rewarded". So you're kind of missing the point. Of course anyone can write any old thing and post it up with or without a lot of thought. People want to know what will work, i.e. get rewarded, grow their audience etc.

The downside of having a platform that rewards people is that if you're not getting rewarded it is almost impossible to not see that as an indicator what you're doing isn't working, as it literally isn't valued. Even old hands succumb to this (see @alexbeyman).

Buddy, "anybody" who starts off in Steemit has to have realistic expectations. For newbies, the "reward" should be on you producing content which you love and, in turn, attracts an audience. I expressly explained this concept to them. Beginning your blog as a means to acquire money is "the" single most surefire way to fail here. As your blog grows with time, these variables will naturally fluctuate in priority.

As someone who also started from scratch in the beginning and failed more times than I care to mention, this is experience talking. If I had tried to please the masses with a view to get remuneration for my content, I'd have left a long time ago. The Steemit journey begins with you and you alone. Everything else should be allowed to fall into place organically.

Totally agree, I heard Elon Musk say the other day "Happiness equals reality minus expectations". Writing for reward as your primary objective is as you say toxic.

Buuuuut it would be foolish to say it doesn't play a factor. Like I said check out @alexbeyman. Validation here can really feel like what sits beside the dollar sign.

I support your message, I do, but it's good to be interested in the why as well as what to do about it. Then you can more about it better.

I hear ya, man. In fact, I believe that dollar value placed beside posts when we first start off here, is the biggest thorn in our side in terms of getting off the ground. But those emotions must be overcome in that I do feel we can control those expectations on our own. Like focusing on the long-term game but sadly, most seem to just "want it now" so to speak.

And yeah, @alexbeyman. I know him well enough from being here as long as I have but stake does plays a huge part in your overall success on this platform. I'm just being honest here. And he powered down a lot of what he had. That, I feel, affected his emotional affiliation to his blog and thus his perception of the platform as a whole. However, I may be wrong. This is just how I see it looking from the outside in.

Just bare in mind, we are all on our "own" personal journey and I'd like to believe our past actions contribute to our future success or failure. I do think my friends missed a huge opportunity in not either overlooking or not persevering enough at the time. However, now things are more established for Steem, they possibly do see the bigger picture but still want it handed to them on a plate. This, I have a problem with.

I'd go a step further in saying that it's my desire to see them to well that also causes me to get frustrated when they continue to keep such a narrowed'minded focus. Again, I too was only earning cents for months at the start. Had I lost sight of the endgame and only concentrated on my feeble rewards, I'd have chucked it a long time ago too.

Well said. I'm all for it, and posts like this encourage people to think twice. While the journey is personal, the road travelled is with others, though not always the same people for the whole journey. Shouting out to people and picking them up is important. Keep it up!

Hi @ezzy yes true these are very common questions for beginner in steem

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88