Visiting my dad - day 1

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday, I arrived at my dad after a two hour drive. I should have waited till the end of the day to leave, just in case a client would call. But the weather was so nice that I took a chance.

The moment I left Rotterdam I felt free.

I should do this more often.


FullSizeRender 3.jpg
Send this to Bianca, she always wants to know what I'm up to. I'm happy, my dad, Trevor, beer, grill.


Road trip is nice

I always take the scenic road for the first part of the journey when I go up North. It takes 10 minutes longer but is 10x more beautiful than the freeway. I lowered down my window and put in a cd from Simon and Garfunkel.

Blasting Ms Robinson. Singing along. Having a good time.


me
Scenic road basically looks like this.


Phone Rings

40 minutes into my roadtrip my phone rings. It's a client. I pick up. If I could be so kind to open a port on a firewall. I told them I can't do it right now and I won't do it till Monday.

I can of course do it from my dad's place but I don't want to take the risk incase something goes wrong. They accept. Thank god!

Pit stop

I'm starving after 70 minutes driving. Forgot to have lunch. I stop at this place. It's called Haje. Have a tuna sandwich and a cheese bread.


FullSizeRender 12.jpg
It's delicious. I also call my dad I'm getting there earlier


Arrived

My dad and I have a coffee and we talk. But we have to go soon. I want to get to the Butcher to get some Steak. Near my dad's place they have one the best Butchers I know.

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

Butcher

Up north life is a bit slower. More countryside style. They find it a little strange when I ask to take pictures of the store. My dad says to the butcher I'm a writer. I say no. I make blogs. The butcher doesn't know what a Blog is. I say, that's ok. He lets me take some pictures.


FullSizeRender 15.jpg

FullSizeRender 11.jpg

FullSizeRender 10.jpg


Talking, Grilling and Chilling

We arrive back and my dad and I talk for hours. Of course I talk Blockchain and Crypto. My dad understand he's a programmer. He also used to sell Macintosh computer before they became mainstream. He knows what's it like to be part of something early. It's a great feel.

My dad also used to write for an American magazine called 'Call Apple'.


FullSizeRender 2.jpg

FullSizeRender 7.jpg

FullSizeRender 8.jpg

FullSizeRender 9.jpg

FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender 5.jpg


Wonderfull evening

We have a great evening with nice beers and great food. But my dad is getting a little bit older and ever since the cancer ordeal is more tired than he used to be. The evening has taken it's toll. It's 9pm.


FullSizeRender 14.jpg


After my dad wakes up from his chair. We have a small drink and he's off to bed. I grab my laptop and start browsing Steemit and finally have time to answer the nice comments I received.


FullSizeRender 6.jpg


When I look next to me I see this. Guess my dad is not the only one getting older.


FullSizeRender 13.jpg


Have a wonderful day!


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Glad you are having a great time with your dad. Man, you sure know how to grill a nice steak. I can never get them to turn out that good. Have fun and I hope the clients leave you alone for a bit.

Thank you! Grilling a steak is not that hard. Make sure it's room temp before grilling and let it rest for atleast 5 minutes after it comes off the grill. That last tip makes such a difference.

Thanks, I will heat up the grill this weekend and give it another try.

Isn't it wonderful to reconnect with your parents like that? Your father sounds like he has a pretty good grasp on technology so I'm sure there's always something to talk about. The landscape looks amazing too.

My dad is very intelligent and it's nice to be here. Although he might not completely understand blockchain yet he understands the underlying potential. We were discussion charities on the blockchain last night with full transparency. Makes for interesting conversation and ideas. The landscape here is very beautiful.

Great you are enjoying quality time with your dad! Life is truely for living

It's great fun here and you are a 100% right!

Oh man, that meat looks delicious! Nomnom!
What does your Dad think about blockchain and crypto?
By the way in Germany is father's day. Your post is a perfect father's day post! How is Bianca doing?

It was delicious! And I guess I can consider this a fathers day weekend! Bianca wants to come home already. Especially after she saw the photos!

She wants a good steak, too? I totally understand! 😀😂😉

My good friend!

Those are really heart-warming pictures, man. I can feel the closeness you have with your dad and it really is something to to be cherished. I'm also over the moon he "gets" blockchain and crypto. How awesome is that!

A great road trip with dad and then Bianca coming home not too long afterwards. Life is good, my bro!

All the best, @exyle. Catch you with you soon...

Thank you buddy! It's great here.Really having a wonderful and relaxing time. We are about to go on a boat trip, the sun is out and good company. Can't ask for more :)

That meat looks good, you must enjoy the time with your dad. (I had a good hotel breakfast this morning, thus the steak is not torturing me to much today!!)

HAHA, good for you man! Enjoy life and food when you can!

Thank you, I will!

Be careful, don't burn your feet this time while grilling steak... have fun!

I learned my lesson! BBQ = shoes on.

I know it feels good to see your dad again. I lost my dad in 2009, and I miss him everyday. I wish I could see him again. Nice post. Resteem!

Sorry about your loss. I would miss my dad a lot to if he were to pass. I do see my dad often he comes to Rotterdam every week. He still works there. I just rarely go up North and everytime I wonder why I don't go more, because it's stunning here.

Thank you. I advice you see him more, you will wish for times like this when he pass on to eternal glory. But please do enjoy every time you spend with him when he is still around. God bless you and your dad. My regards to him when you see him next.

I hope you will post more photos when you go see him next. I followed you for more posts.

Great to see you spend time with your Dad @exyle! ...Time Is the one thing that can't be replaced my friend-

You are so very right! Enjoy life at every moment. All the time. Whenever you can. Consciously. You cannot replace time indeed. Thanks man!

wow, I love your writings about life. you dad is so cool, so ahead of his time, even ahead of many of us... thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much. And my dad was ahead of his time with those Macintosh computers. And with writing for call-APPLE. I went and tried to find an article from back in the day and low and behold I found a whole magazine online! in PDF. I'm going to show him now! I'm over the moon.

http://www.callapple.org/Members/magazine/1982/Call%20APPLE%20magazine%201982-09.pdf

Wow, man, what a treasure! 1982, that's even before I met computers. Salute to your father! Oh btw, you and your dad reminds me of Dan and Stan Larimer ... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42