Vlog 287: Steem Dev Portal Update #2 + Weiss rating + User Ben finishes 2 year Power down.

in #life6 years ago


The Steemit Team updated the Steem Dev portal with new coding tutorials and information about how to run your own testnet!

You can find the blogpost here.

from the post:

We believe Steem’s unique properties can make it the blockchain of opportunity for developers, and we understand that the key to doing this is world-class developer resources. Building out these materials is a project we have wanted to prioritize for a long time, which is why we are ecstatic to see the team behind the dev portal making steady improvements to documentation.

This is great for Steem developers new and old.

Weiss Rating this week


Bitshares, Bitcoin, Cardano, EOS, Ethereum, IOTA, Neo, Ripple = B's

(I forgot IOTA in my vlog).

They again name STEEM as the blockchain with he most transactions, after Bitshares.


User Ben finishes 2 year Power down.


There are some mysteries on the blockchain and a personal favourite of mine is user Ben.

He only made one blogpost ever claiming he put 90% of his net worth into STEEM.

Over 90% of my personal net worth is in Steem on this account. Any financial advisor with two neurons capable of firing simultaneously would advise me to sell down and diversify to limit my risk, no matter how bullish I am on Steem. I believe in Steem, I just don't want to bet more than 20% of my net worth on it.

He started the powerdown two years ago (back then a full powerdown would take 104 weeks) and has completed it.

As far as I know the only one who ever done so with he old rules.

I hope his investment worked out well for him :)



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@ben is doing good for himself.
he took a big leap of faith with steem and now look at his account.

I always look forward toy your morning vlog with my cup of tea :-)
Interesting news on @ben Just had a look over his account and his single post. Definitely a mystery on a 7 million dollar account. Thanks

It’s always great to hear there are new developments for steemit platform. Honestly, I was a bit concerned, it was so quiet in the past when it comes to steemit platform updates. This news is assuring us there is actually something happening. I bet Ben had a nice profit. Afterall he invested 90% of his fortune to steemit more than two years ago. As a matter of fact, I bet he made a fortune.

wow man 104 weekd to power down!! steemit was a wild place back in the day! what was the point of such long time tables? im sure he frofited from the growth of the platform but he likley missed out on alot of good chances to sell when steem was mooning. hope he dosent sell now especially with steem passing $4 again.

They reduced the time from 2 years to 3 months to power down. Ben could have canceled his power down and reset it the the new new rules of 3 months. Well he definitely did well. I believe April of 2016 the price when it first started trading was under 5 cents. I know Steem was something like a 2 million market cap then b/c I remember it going to 20 million market cap in a few months and everyone thought it was a big deal.

Nice video whit a lot of good informations. I do not own Iota and neo. I am most bullish on EOS, hope Steem will reach $10 by the end of the year. Regarding football, well their is no more players like Van Basten, Gullit, Rijaakard. Unfortunately my country Slovenia also did not qualified. It is still gonna be interesting to watch. Can not wait.

I truly value your work @exyle. much obliged to you for imparting this uplifting news to us about Steem Dev portal.I trust that the STEEM cost will increment as it keeps up its review.

That's a great statement from Weiss, comparing us to Facebook, I agree @exyle.

I wonder who Ben is. I bet there will be a load of people rushing over to look at his account now. It would be really interesting to know how much he made/lost of a single blog post!

Have fun in Rotterdam. Sorry there's no football. I didn't realise that Dutch had gone downhill now too. England have been crap for decades now! 😁

Seeing all the activity on the development side is so encouraging for sure. I'm like you man, not a programmer at all but if the programming types are happy...That's fantastic news for me LOL

Great update on the Weiss report too. Always nice to hear them speak highly of STEEM!

Have a great weekend sir, enjoy King's Day!

I am quite positive about EOS and IOTA making some good rating on weiss. Being a while Steem clocked the "B" rating.
Ben's completion of his power down is cool though but might portray a doubt on his trust on steem. What do you think?

Ben you have my respect, I really hope you haven't lost your key...
We thought 13 weeks was a lot of time :D

STEEM is stabilizing with the price much higher than I was expecting, it has been some crazy days with volatility everywhere!

Hello Exyle you are a box of infotmacion I think that your CPU is on fire the whole day thanks for all your info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86