Change of Plans

in #life6 years ago

Or can I really call it a change when I had no plans to begin with?


Midsummer festivities are kind of a big thing in Finland. It’s a pagan tradition at it’s best, the nightless night, when the sun doesn’t set at all in the northern parts of Scandinavia. It’s a weekend of bonfires and sauna, love spells and magic.

Nowadays the celebration for many is going to a festival or to a summer cottage, and get completely wasted. Neither of those really excites me and I don’t have a cottage to go to, so I’ve been trying to think of what to do. I definitely didn’t want to stay in the city, or homehome like any other summer weekend. I wanted to do something more special.

As the midsummer was drawing closer, I still had no plans. I was thinking of going abroad somewhere, but the current money situation wouldn’t allow a long weekend in a hotel.


As we were having a date with the bff a couple days ago, we started talking about midsummer plans, which were all open at this point. @escapist had an invitation to Sweden, but she was a little on the fence about going alone. She had the idea that if her friend, who I know too but haven’t kept in touch since high school, would take me in too, we could go together. I was like fuck it, sounds awesome if he is willing to put us both up. Fast text, looking up trains, busses, ferrys and planes, and we had a plan in motion!

Me and @escapist are escaping to Stockholm, Sweden for a long midsummer weekend! We are so stoked for the trip and I can’t wait to see our old friend again! I already know we are going to have a lot of fun and it’s going to be so extra when the three of us fancy pants get together for the first time since high school. I almost feel sorry for the people who hear us together...

Ps. Did you know that Swedish is the second language of Finland, and I don’t speak more than two words of it, yikes!

Pps. That pictures is from my post last midsummer, could we acknowledge that my photography skills (and gear) have come a long way from that!

Sort:  

My first visit to Sweeden was during midsummer... great times! :) Have fun!

I believe they are big on the midsummer festivities just like us Finns :)

I don't know Finland yet... but I can assure it was one hell of a party in Stockholm! :))

That's really neat that you have a tradition of midsummer celebrations there. We don't really get much of that in the US... I guess July 4th (Independence Day) is about as close as we get.

You don't need to celebrate summer so much because it's not dark for the rest of the year for you :D

The nature is so beautiful , i would love to see some more photos of the nature. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Have a good time with your friends! Your photo is so beautiful. I like the nature like this.

Have a great weekend! Looking forward to seeing the photos!

Mietin itse asiassa itekin, että käviskö risteilyllä :D Noh, jos lähen, niin yritän pysyä pois tieltä x)

Katsos kun me ei risteillä Escapistin kanssa, se on saatanasta, me lennetään! 😝😁

Kaupungissa silti tulis oltua :P Eikä lentäminenkään poissuljettua oo xD

Great time of year. I was hoping to go to a stone circle but won't make it this year unfortunately. But there is a local solstice festival so looking at this 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54